We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but no personality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chiusarelli to your Saves list
Hotel Chiusarelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Siena
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice property but no personality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Some pros and cons. The location was good; easy walking distance to sites. The hotel was attractive although rooms were basic. The bathrooms were slightly more roomy than most of those during my trip through northern Italy. The breakfast room was cheerful and large and opened onto a patio that overlooked the stadium. We had a room on a level with an outdoor terrace (although we had no access to it other than our only window) so I imagine in the summer there would be no privacy in the room. There were large open areas on each floor where it was inviting to sit with friends.

But no one ever greeted us upon coming or going. In all my other stays I was impressed by the staff. At this hotel the staff completely avoided us preferring to chat among themselves in their back room.

We knew in advance there was no elevator but once we saw that it was a fairly modern hotel, it seemed unusual not to have one. The stairs, however, were wide so not as big a problem as it could have been when we took our own luggage up and down. And lastly they charged for internet use. Really? When most hotels worldwide have gone to free internet!

This property has a lot of promise if someone wants to give it some personality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    297
    151
    41
    20
See reviews for
113
324
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have to agree the hotel is located in a good area close to the main area and near enough to the station to be able to walk, a tip, it's right behind the football stadium,
The room is good, clean and spacious,
However,,, here is a clue to those staff who obviously have better things to do than worry about doing here job, you may find it hard hat all these foreign tourists are here interrupting your day, but understand if you are relying on your countryman to fill your rooms, it may be a bleak summer.
Wake up and treat guest as someone you want there, the staff were no help and myself and others made comments on how they felt they were an intrusion.
Your choice, there are many more hotels and places to visit

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the footy ground are quieter but either way it's not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Siena at the Hotel Chiusarelli. It is a lovely, smaller hotel in a great location, halfway between the Cathedral of San Domenico and the Piazza Gramsci, the main bus terminus. Great for exploring the city, and to catch the bus to Florence, Rome, etc.

We were promptly greeted and shown our rooms. Staff helped us carry our bags to our 3rd floor rooms. (Note: there is no elevator, and anyone who has trouble with stairs might have difficulty. However, if you can't climb stairs, you might want to reconsider visiting Siena, a hill town with many steep streets.) Our room faced the back of the hotel overlooking the soccer stadium with a small outdoor patio. The room and large bathroom were well-maintained and meticulously clean throughout our visit. There was a large armoire was for our clothes, and a small desk with a fridge. We slept with the windows open, and were awakened by the 7 AM bells tolling from San Domenico - not a problem for us, close the windows if it will bother you.

A nice buffet breakfast was included: self-serve espresso/cappuccino/coffee machine as well as a choice of teas, cornetti, cold cereal, bread with choice of cheeses and meet, fresh fruit and juices. Wi-Fi was not included, but available for purchase: 1 hour/2 euro, 3 hours/3 euro. (You sign in and out, so time does not have to be used in one sitting.) Dinner is available in their restaurant,

Other reviewers comment on front desk staff. They were not warm and fuzzy, but always friendly and responsive to any of our needs.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the back away from the street. If stair climbing is a problem, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very comfortable hotel and pretty interior; painted (trompe l'oeil) walls, back terrace facing towards the soccer field. Very comfortable room and good value for the quality. Pretty breakfast room and very nice breakfast. Well situated very close to the main bus station (Piazza Gramschi) and other areas. I found Siena to be a little confusing at first to figure out as the streets curved a lot. But enjoyed visiting the town and day trip to San Gimignano.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Tophotel, centrally located, superclean rooms...nice breakfast, friendly staff and the hidden treasure is the restaurant what a meal we had...I had the suprise du chef and ribolitta my girlfriend a pasta and stuffed aubergines!!
Every year i go to Siena, this was a first time...but Im sure to go back!
I you want a tophotel at a cheap price, this is the one

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location, good value, good breakfast butbetter if all front desk staff were friendly. two were friendly but one was grumpy.
Great location, good value, good breakfast butbetter if all front desk staff were friendly. two were friendly but one was grumpy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First we were convinced that we could walk from the train station to the hotel. It was pouring rain so we got a cab. A note about cabs...if you get them from the train station the price is lower than if you call them from the hotel. Once in the cab we realized that we probably wouldn't have been able to figure out how to get to the hotel. As most of the way was uphill it would have been a challenge toting the luggage we had.

This hotel was small and quaint. Pluses were that it was close to most everything and the price was excellent. Room was adequate. I like good reading lights and a clock; clock missing and lights dim. Bed was good, temperature comfortable.

Easy walking distance to many of the attractions. Gates to the old city are very close. Duomo an absolute must see!!

Breakfast which was included was quite good. Lots of choices. We had one dinner at the restaurant. No one raved about their choice; my sirloin was raw. Evidently that is how meat is served in that part of Italy. After sending it back, it returned medium rare. All in all dinner was pricey and only okay. Breakfast was so much better.

Front desk people were helpful but not overly so. Twice they had a longish conversation with one of the other people who worked there ignoring us. We thought that was curious.

Would we return? Depends on if we wanted to spend more money or if we were okay with the negatives to make up for the lower price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#14 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#12 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chiusarelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.