We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Chiusarelli to your Saves list
Hotel Chiusarelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice hotel. It's around 5-8 min walk from the Piazza del combo.
Although there are no elevators, the staff were very friendly and carried my bags.
It has a very homey feeling to it.
Enjoyed my stay there and in the bewitching Siena

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    249
    127
    36
    18
See reviews for
84
285
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I will stay there again. Staff, particlarly Barbara, were very friendly. Stayed in room 7 and peeked into room 8. Both are nice, spacious and well-maintained. Within walking distance of the city's major attractions. Experienced first earthquake I have ever experienced in Europe while staying there (epicenter 150 km north in Tuscany). Staff didn't know why the building shook slightly and confirmed my belief that it was an earthquake, not a large truck driving by (I live in California and know the feeling of earthquakes) the next day. Back side rooms overlook AS Sienna football stadium. Parking, which is accessible for reasonable rates for safe paid multi-day car parking (1.70 Euro per hour 7 am-8 pm, free from 8 pm-7am). If arrving by car, you can park briefly in the traffic lane on the opposite side of the street from the hotel while unloading your luggage- recommended if you have more than a single small suitcase to avoid lugging your suitcase up the stairs from parking in the stadium- "'Parcheggio 'Stadio"' which are about close to the hotel as you get on the corner as you turn from Via di Mille onto Via Curtatone).

Room Tip: I will stay there again. Staff, particlarly Barbara, were very friendly. Stayed in room 7 and peek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel Chiusarelli is housed in a beautiful old neoclassical villa built in the 1860’s. In addition to the lovely entrance with a charming garden, it is graced with high ceilings with frescos, lovely arched doorways, and has a nice breakfast room downstairs. The memory of the smell of home-made hot croissants served every morning still makes my mouth water. They had 3 different types, and it was impossible to resist the chocolate filled ones.

On the downside, the hotel has no elevator, so we were not pleased that our room was on the top floor and we had to haul our luggage up multiple flights of marble steps. However, once we reached the room, it was cozy with two beds, a refrigerator, a nice bathroom and a great view out the shuttered windows. Some of our group even got rooms with balconies.

After unpacking, we walked to the Palazzo de Campo, which took about 10 minutes from the hotel. Even though we didn’t get there until after 10pm on a Monday night, two of the restaurants/bars on the plaza were packed with locals. We decided to sit outside like everyone else, and settled into table under heaters with warm blankets. It was cozy to sit there, have a drink, and watch the world go by on the very famous Palazzo where the ancient Palio still runs every year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a good rate from Hotels.com, which made our stay extra special at this excellent hotel. Great location , 4 minutes walk to old town. 8-minute walk to the Piazza del Campo. Our room and bath were adequately large, clean with comfy linen. Our room faced the main street but noise not a problem. Good hot water with good water pressure. Free wi-fi in the room, free car parking if you manage to get a lot in the limited carparking area beside the hotel. Excellent breakfast. Staff friendly and speak English. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Chiusarelli as part of a Rick Steves group tour. The hotel is located near the Basilica dell'Osservanza and approximately a 3-4 block walk from the Piazza del Campo. Our room was good size with two twin beds, nightstands a desk and a clothes wardrobe. We had 3 windows. At first the room seemed to be a bit warm and stuffy and we couldn't figure out how to control the air conditioner. I inquired at the front desk and was informed that the front desk controls the temperature of each room. They turned down the temperature and we were fine for the rest of our stay. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There were heavy, light-blocking drapes on the windows. Our room didn't face the main street, so the room was quiet. However, some in our group had rooms on the main street, which they said could be noisier.

Our room had a regular sized bath with a bathtub/shower combination. The water was hot with good water pressure. There is free wi-fi in the room, which requires a password from the front desk. Unfortunately, the password expires after a period of time and you have to keep getting new passwords, but the front desk was accommodating and friendly in this regard. Breakfast was good, with a wide assortment of items.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the main street if you want to be in a quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After a couple of days in Albergo Chiusarelli, my impressions were mixed. Nice and peaceful location, but only average breakfast. Clean room, but not especially clean bathroom. Much better look of my room than before (I've been in this hotel 2000/2001, and the interior was so grayish), but still pretty dark. Stuff very cordial (NB maybe not so warm if you cannot speak Italian language like me, which means: like an Italian), but service can be very slow, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights and I was not impressed at all. Booked the hotel due to its high rating on tripadvisor and was left dissapointed.
The service at the front desk was cold and not welcoming at all. The room, although spacious, was not 100% clean. The shower is very dirty with mold visible throughout. The toilet was also not in a good condition.
Breakfast also left a lot to be desired. The only positive is the location, very central, close to bus stops and all the big attractions. Hopefully the staff will correct these mistakes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chiusarelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.