We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chiusarelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chiusarelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 hotels in Siena
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a good rate from Hotels.com, which made our stay extra special at this excellent hotel. Great location , 4 minutes walk to old town. 8-minute walk to the Piazza del Campo. Our room and bath were adequately large, clean with comfy linen. Our room faced the main street but noise not a problem. Good hot water with good water pressure. Free wi-fi in the room, free car parking if you manage to get a lot in the limited carparking area beside the hotel. Excellent breakfast. Staff friendly and speak English. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    225
    116
    35
    18
See reviews for
78
257
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Chiusarelli as part of a Rick Steves group tour. The hotel is located near the Basilica dell'Osservanza and approximately a 3-4 block walk from the Piazza del Campo. Our room was good size with two twin beds, nightstands a desk and a clothes wardrobe. We had 3 windows. At first the room seemed to be a bit warm and stuffy and we couldn't figure out how to control the air conditioner. I inquired at the front desk and was informed that the front desk controls the temperature of each room. They turned down the temperature and we were fine for the rest of our stay. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There were heavy, light-blocking drapes on the windows. Our room didn't face the main street, so the room was quiet. However, some in our group had rooms on the main street, which they said could be noisier.

Our room had a regular sized bath with a bathtub/shower combination. The water was hot with good water pressure. There is free wi-fi in the room, which requires a password from the front desk. Unfortunately, the password expires after a period of time and you have to keep getting new passwords, but the front desk was accommodating and friendly in this regard. Breakfast was good, with a wide assortment of items.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the main street if you want to be in a quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After a couple of days in Albergo Chiusarelli, my impressions were mixed. Nice and peaceful location, but only average breakfast. Clean room, but not especially clean bathroom. Much better look of my room than before (I've been in this hotel 2000/2001, and the interior was so grayish), but still pretty dark. Stuff very cordial (NB maybe not so warm if you cannot speak Italian language like me, which means: like an Italian), but service can be very slow, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights and I was not impressed at all. Booked the hotel due to its high rating on tripadvisor and was left dissapointed.
The service at the front desk was cold and not welcoming at all. The room, although spacious, was not 100% clean. The shower is very dirty with mold visible throughout. The toilet was also not in a good condition.
Breakfast also left a lot to be desired. The only positive is the location, very central, close to bus stops and all the big attractions. Hopefully the staff will correct these mistakes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had this hotel in mind to stay and my client also suggested since he is a local resident. Great hotel and fantastic location. The room was very nice and lots of space. The front desk was very nice and provide super service. The internet connection was even great. I could not find anything wrong. The hotel is so close to restaurants and places to visit. I love to walk and nice to reach everything. I wished that I could stay for Sunday since I love football and the stadium was right behind. I would go back tot he same hotel on my next trip to Siena and this was my first time.

Room Tip: Do not pay attention to negative comments. It is a great hotel to stay and great room for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

the right location if you come to the city by car.the hotel gave us free parking which is a plus.very close to the city center,in a very nice area and with view to Siena's football stadium.the decoration is remind the old Italy,we loved it!!!very big rooms with good furnitures.very good value for money.

Room Tip: -they charge the wi-fi in a high price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked this hotel because friends had already booked there. The hotel is near the bus station and close walking distance to all the interesting sights in Siena.
It's an attractive old building with helpful and friendly staff.
We were surprised that when we required some laundry to be done we were informed laundry was not done at the hotel. It could be sent out of the hotel and would take 2 days minimum.
Our room, at the back of the hotel overlooking a football field, had a balcony where we managed to dry washing in the afternoon sun!
The room was pleasant and roomy enough for our 3 night stay. The shower was over a small bath with a built in seat which I was able to use but my husband found annoying when showering.
We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night--10% discount. The meal was nothing exceptional but was satisfying and quite good value. We had better food at a comparable price outside the hotel.
Breakfast was self service with one machine that dispensed all hot drinks. No staff served at breakfast and only one person worked at replenishing the buffet table.
The queue to the machine was, at times, 15 people and a real time waster. A better alternative would have been to have tea and coffee served to the tables.
Breakfast was adequate on the first morning but there was no variety on the mornings we were there. The lack of variety in the buffet combined with the line up for a hot beverage made breakfast less than enjoyable.
Considering the tourist trade in Siena, I think this hotel is probably as good as you get for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a balcony, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chiusarelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.