We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay-First time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chiusarelli to your Saves list
Hotel Chiusarelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay-First time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had this hotel in mind to stay and my client also suggested since he is a local resident. Great hotel and fantastic location. The room was very nice and lots of space. The front desk was very nice and provide super service. The internet connection was even great. I could not find anything wrong. The hotel is so close to restaurants and places to visit. I love to walk and nice to reach everything. I wished that I could stay for Sunday since I love football and the stadium was right behind. I would go back tot he same hotel on my next trip to Siena and this was my first time.

Room Tip: Do not pay attention to negative comments. It is a great hotel to stay and great room for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    261
    132
    38
    18
See reviews for
91
298
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

the right location if you come to the city by car.the hotel gave us free parking which is a plus.very close to the city center,in a very nice area and with view to Siena's football stadium.the decoration is remind the old Italy,we loved it!!!very big rooms with good furnitures.very good value for money.

Room Tip: -they charge the wi-fi in a high price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked this hotel because friends had already booked there. The hotel is near the bus station and close walking distance to all the interesting sights in Siena.
It's an attractive old building with helpful and friendly staff.
We were surprised that when we required some laundry to be done we were informed laundry was not done at the hotel. It could be sent out of the hotel and would take 2 days minimum.
Our room, at the back of the hotel overlooking a football field, had a balcony where we managed to dry washing in the afternoon sun!
The room was pleasant and roomy enough for our 3 night stay. The shower was over a small bath with a built in seat which I was able to use but my husband found annoying when showering.
We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night--10% discount. The meal was nothing exceptional but was satisfying and quite good value. We had better food at a comparable price outside the hotel.
Breakfast was self service with one machine that dispensed all hot drinks. No staff served at breakfast and only one person worked at replenishing the buffet table.
The queue to the machine was, at times, 15 people and a real time waster. A better alternative would have been to have tea and coffee served to the tables.
Breakfast was adequate on the first morning but there was no variety on the mornings we were there. The lack of variety in the buffet combined with the line up for a hot beverage made breakfast less than enjoyable.
Considering the tourist trade in Siena, I think this hotel is probably as good as you get for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a balcony, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was at this hotel for the first time, believe me, in 1960. The Chiusarelli was at that time as it is today, located in a quiet part of town, near a bus station and not far from the Duomo, the Piazza del Campo and the Palazzo del Comune, the overcrowded main atractions of Siena. Fifty two years later, Siena is allways splendid but no more a peaceful medieval enclave and for this reason my wife and myself have enjoyed for nine days the calm of our room at the Chiusarelli. Buffet-Breakfast, served at the dining room, was very good but diner was so-so. To be honest with the Chiusarelli dinner, it was the same everywhere in the city concerning the sienese cuisine despite a faithful follow-up of the recommendations of American and French travel guides. Maybe, a direct consequence of de crowds visiting the city. Nevertheless, the Chiusarelli remains a very good option as a base to enjoy Siena and sourrounding areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Siena football ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a surprisingly good experience than some reviews here. First, we can confirm it's in good location. 15 minutes walking to either IL Campo or Duomo. And San Domenico church is right across street. Church bells ring at 7 am, perfect for my wake up call. Also, main bus station is just 1-2 minute away.

Our room and bed are very clean. Bathroom is small but acceptable.

Staff are very helpful to give directions, restaurant recommendations and answer questions. Maybe previous reviews fixed their attitude.

However, their wifi Internet is absolutely RIP-OFF. $1 for 30 minutes and $2 for 1 hour. Not sure how others got $2 for 24 hr deal!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely room with a huge balcony overlooking the football ground, great to watch a match from there. The a good choice at self service breakfast. The hotel is located near to buses and the centre of Siena. Easy walk to everything. Evening meal in the restaurant, great food and good value. No free wifi, but only a couple of Euro for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this is a good hotel at a reasonable price. It is beautifully appointed and has lots of lovely features. Our room overlooked the football ground, we would have enjoyed watching a match from there. The self service breakfast was fine. The hotel is located near to buses and the centre of Siena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chiusarelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.