We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chiusarelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chiusarelli to your Saves list
Hotel Chiusarelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel is perfectly situated directly across the street from St. Catherine Basilica, a short distance from Piazza il Campo and the lovely town of Siena. Rooms were large and clean, although the bathroom and tub/shower were a bit small.

It was hard for my wife and I to imagine a better location in all of Siena. The staff was extra nice and helped us a book a Brunello winery tour (which we highly recommend doing). Being a sports fan, our window opened up to an interesting view of the local soccer stadium where AC Siena plays their home games. We stayed 3 nights and would book here again without hesitation. Again, hard to imagine a more convenient location. If/when we return to Siena, we will book my trip around the availability of a room at The Chiusarelli.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    261
    132
    38
    18
See reviews for
91
298
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good location, close to the center of city and to the bus stop, renovated building, friendly staffs, wonderful breakfast, and etc. The only disadvantage of the hotel was the lack of elevator. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had to carry our luggage up and down 4 story hotel!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on lower floors, if you have heavy luggage. No elevator is there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

On the plus side I have to say this hotel has a good location and is not very expensive. Also, we found the restaurant (where it was very quite) surprisingly good (we were tired and did not want to look for food in the centre).
On the minus side, the hotel lies next to the football stadium where a lot of cars park. It is therefore noisy. With windows shut it is much better, but then it becomes to warm (in August). The airco is efficient, but makes to much noise to fall asleep ( I am a bad sleeper). In the morning the warm water was half an hour off. It was resolved fast, but to late for us. However, we got a 5 EURO reduction for this inconvenience.
The hotel is certainly not bad, but I would probably spend more money for a hotel the next time in Siena.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights to visit Siena and see the Palio, the location was fantastic being right next to the bus station and a short walk to major attractions.
The staff were helpful and friendly, especially Barbera on reception who helped us with information on Siena and the Palio - and can also carry three times her body weight in suitcases!
The room was small but clean and airconditioned which we were very grateful for. Overall a great hotel for seeing Siena and the Palio.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. It is located just outside the historic center os Siena and which is reachable on foot. Easy access to the main bus station which is down the road.

The hotel itself is good, the service is good.

The two advantages were the fact that we were given a room facing the road so we could not open the window and also the fact that the air condition of the room is centraaly located and since it was very cold we had to tell the reception everyday to turn it off

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very smart clean hotel. Staff very efficient & helpful. Lovely breakfast. Position of hotel good and pleasant outlook over the football stadium from the back of the hotel. We enjoyed using the very nice communal balcony with tables and chairs to relax on overlooking the stadium.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor room overlooking the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiusarelli, Direttore at Hotel Chiusarelli, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your good review about our Hotel, hoping to see you soon again at our Hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Francesca Rosi
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaisir, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were very happy with our choice of this hotel, which is conveniently located to the bus station from where we were catching a bus to Grossetto, and to the old town center. We arrived in Siena via train from Pisa, and from the train station we had to take a taxi to get to the hotel. The hotel is pleasant, clean, and unlike some of the other reviewers we found the staff friendly and helpful -- especially the young woman who was on duty when we arrived at 2 in the afternoon. The room was nicely furnished and clean, the bed very comfortable, there is a shaded garden in the front where you can sit at a table and read, and there is also a terrace balcony at the back of the hotel with lots of nice plants and flowers. It is true that there is no elevator, but the staff carried our suitcases up for us (we are 72 and 77 years old!) I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chiusarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiusarelli

Address: Viale Curtatone, 15, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiusarelli 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chiusarelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiusarelli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chiusarelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.