We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“5 Star all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I do NOT mind paying top dollar when the product is so wonderful. Spent 3 nights here and loved this hotel. Service was top notch. Our room was amazing, with soaring ceilings with frescoes. Stunning. First class all the way.
Be forewarned: do not simply plug the hotel address into your GPS and expect to get there. The GPS throws in the towel and keeps telling you to stop the car and walk. Get on the phone with the hotel, and they will tell you the address to punch in, and then they send a bellman to literally walk ahead of your car, and lead you through the old town, to the hotel.
Tasteful, professional and a wonderful oasis to come home to after the insanity of crowded but wonderful Siena.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for the kind words dedicated to our hotel following your recent stay in Siena. The management and staff are continously committed to assure the highest standards of hospitality to our valued guests.
Hoping to welcome you again in Siena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    98
    37
    17
    8
See reviews for
57
228
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is a gem. A grand style hotel built from a palazzo from the 17th c.; fabulous location and great service. The rooms are beautiful, mine had frescoed ceiling and beautiful decor. I loved the whimsical art throughout the hotel which contrasted so nicely with the heavy antiques and palazzo style of construction. The staff were lovely and all seemed to know us. If you have a chance, ask to see the wine cellar - it is a must see! I also love the ballroom. Excellent amenities in the room, good wifi service and very clean everywhere. We had dinner there and it was excellent, but i would say the setting is not as nice as the rest of the property. This is a property i will be happy to return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate the atmosphere of our hotel and the dedicated service.
Indeed the orignial frescoes in a selection of our rooms in the higher category are something very unique.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenafly, new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Old world with tasteful styling, very professional service and strategic location best describes this hotel. Rooms vary in size with classical and antique decor. Bathrooms are all modern and tasteful. Breakfast buffet unmemorable, especially the coffee. Valet parking a definite plus, since driving through this ancient city was an adventure.

Room Tip: if you would like a larger room, upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are delighted to know that you have apreciated the hotel, the service and the location in Siena. Our historical palace offers indeed a unique atmosphere combined with modern comforts.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future in Siena.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have decided we like small to mid-sized Italian towns. This is our first visit to Siena and the Grand Hotel Continental. The hotel tans ports you back to the days of the grand tour of the continent. Old world beauty and service with all modern conveniences. Great location first rate staff.

Room Tip: All 51 rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you have had the opportunity of discovering Siena and our hotel.
Hope to welcome you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Plenty of character in the palatial hotel in the historic centre, not far from the Campo. I booked this for a group and we all enjoyed our stay. We had no trouble finding it by car and the best thing was being able to dump it on the road, letting the staff valet park it for us. Service and rooms were good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the time dedicated to the comments and we appreciate that you have enjoyed the stay in our hotel. The location is most unique to visit all major attractions of the beautiful city of Siena.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In a 17 century palace perfectly renewed this LHW is perfect to enjoy Siena. The rooms and the amenities are of high standard, even tough for a longer stay I'd advice the Deluxe that is slightly bigger.
Breackfast could be improved, but again also here the service is perfect.
Getting there by car is a challange, but the staff will take care of the parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for the comments which have met our best attention and assist us in continuosly improving our service for our guests putting much attention on every detail.
We do hope to welcome you in Siena again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We traveled to Europe from Sydney in June 2012, stayed in Siena only one night few days before the famous Palio :(
Vibrant city, full of young people. Beautiful Tuscan scenery. Hotel located in a great position in the heart of the old town.
Beautiful hotel and excellent hospitality, Italians really know what this word means opposite to Germans ( we stayed later in Frankfurter Hof where they take your money and let you know they are doing you a favour).Room beautifully decorated. Bed could have been more comfortable, but it might be a problem with me rather then with the hotel.
Hotel staff very very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay again.
Alex

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the kind words and we are pleased to know that you have appreciated you stay in our hotel and the visit to Siena! Our locations does offer the possibility to "live" the city and the best of the Italian lifestyle.
Hoping that you may again travel to Siena in the future and choose the Grand Hotel Continental for your stay.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Family Hotel in Siena
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Continental, a Sienese palace steeped in history, is part of Niquesa Hotels & Residences. Niquesa's Grand Hotel Continental, the old town's only 5* hotel, has a privileged position a moment's stroll down cobbled medieval lanes to Siena's most important attractions, including the famous Piazza del Campo and the Romanesque-Gothic cathedral. Every one of our rooms and suites is a masterpiece, honed over centuries, designed for the tastes of the 17th century aristocracy and refined to meet the demands of the discerning modern traveller. From our beautiful classic rooms to the magnificence of our Royal Suite, our accommodation is unashamedly opulent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.