We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Continental Siena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental Siena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€264 (EUR)
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Siena
Melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Plenty of character in the palatial hotel in the historic centre, not far from the Campo. I booked this for a group and we all enjoyed our stay. We had no trouble finding it by car and the best thing was being able to dump it on the road, letting the staff valet park it for us. Service and rooms were good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the time dedicated to the comments and we appreciate that you have enjoyed the stay in our hotel. The location is most unique to visit all major attractions of the beautiful city of Siena.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    87
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
50
204
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

In a 17 century palace perfectly renewed this LHW is perfect to enjoy Siena. The rooms and the amenities are of high standard, even tough for a longer stay I'd advice the Deluxe that is slightly bigger.
Breackfast could be improved, but again also here the service is perfect.
Getting there by car is a challange, but the staff will take care of the parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for the comments which have met our best attention and assist us in continuosly improving our service for our guests putting much attention on every detail.
We do hope to welcome you in Siena again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We traveled to Europe from Sydney in June 2012, stayed in Siena only one night few days before the famous Palio :(
Vibrant city, full of young people. Beautiful Tuscan scenery. Hotel located in a great position in the heart of the old town.
Beautiful hotel and excellent hospitality, Italians really know what this word means opposite to Germans ( we stayed later in Frankfurter Hof where they take your money and let you know they are doing you a favour).Room beautifully decorated. Bed could have been more comfortable, but it might be a problem with me rather then with the hotel.
Hotel staff very very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay again.
Alex

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the kind words and we are pleased to know that you have appreciated you stay in our hotel and the visit to Siena! Our locations does offer the possibility to "live" the city and the best of the Italian lifestyle.
Hoping that you may again travel to Siena in the future and choose the Grand Hotel Continental for your stay.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Such a shame that this is the only 5-star hotel in Siena. Maybe if there was more competition, this hotel would do a better job at treating their guests well.

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon. We rented a car and, as most people know, Siena is a very difficult place to navigate an automobile. We parked in the square across the street, and I ran inside to ask the concierge where we should pull the car to have it valeted. There was another customer standing at the desk just reading his bill, and I waited patiently as the concierge completely ignored me, not even looking up to smile or tell me he'd be right with me, as most concierges would in ANY hotel, five star or not. After a few minutes, I began to get worried, knowing my husband was idling in the car outside in what may or may not be a legal place to park, so I VERY KINDLY said "Excuse me, may I ask you a quick question?" and the concierge VERY rudely snapped at me and said "Excuse me, I am working with him, MY GUEST, I will answer your question when he is done. You wait your turn."

I was completely appalled. I stood there quietly, fuming, until he decided to come back to me and ask how he could help me. I very firmly said, "I am ALSO your guest, and I need to know where to pull my car for valet."

He apologized profusely for his error in judgement and explained that people always come in off of the street asking for directions and so that is why he responded that way, but it was too late to quell my anger. I have NEVER been treated like that in any sort of hotel in my life, especially not a five star hotel, where the service is typically impeccable. He did apologize for the rest of the trip whenever he saw us, and I appreciate his efforts, but it was a terrible way to start the trip. I never said anything, and tried to assure him not to worry (although I was very upset), as it is not in my nature to make people feel bad once they admit fault. However, I found that most of the people at the concierge desk were short, rude, and unfriendly.

Additionally, the rooms are terribly in need of updating, the bathrooms look like they belong in a Holiday Inn, and the hotel does not even provide complimentary water, as, again, most five-star hotels in Italy do. There is absolutely nothing special about this hotel.

Also, the hotel advertises that they have a fitness center, however, the fitness center is a ten minute walk from the hotel AND you have to pay for it! I am sorry, but I can say I have a gym in my apartment, but the truth of the matter is the gym is 5 blocks from my apartment, so that means I DON'T have a gym in my apartment. It's really not that difficult.

I would recommend that people find a better, more impressive, and more welcoming hotel during their stay in Siena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
you comments had already been post last autumn and therefore this is a duplicate review.
As at that time, we have given our reply. The episode you report is certainly not anything near to the high level of service our establishment is known for. Please be assured that the matter has met our best attention.
Again, we do apologize for not having provided the most excellent service which we strive to achieve in our daily commitment to hospitality.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just a few small blocks off the main square, along a main shopping street, the hotel was a wonderful place to spend Christmas as we began our Italy trip. The staff was quick to help us deal with the car, and get settled. At that time of year, the streets are lit with holiday lights, and there's an enormous christmas tree just across the street.

The hotel lobby itself is filled with old-world charm, frescoes and architectural details. Our top-floor suite had a small terrace that opened to the rooftops. There's not much of a view, but it's nice to have the access. We liked opening to the door to hear the town's church bells ringing for the holiday. The room decor is clean and comfortable, but not particularly stylish. The large walk-in closet was a welcome surprise.

Because so many things were closed on Christmas itself, we had dinner in the hotel and I truly enjoyed the meal and the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dearest Guest,
we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us during the holiday season. Siena does offer a special atmosphere during this period. The top floor rooms are indeed more contemporary in style, while there are alternatives according to the guests preferences with more traditional furnishing and unique antique pieces. Mention worthy are certainly to the Junior Suites and Suites on the noble floor with origianl frescoed ceilings.
We will do are best to meet you preferences if indicated in advace and hope to welcome you again in Siena.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect location right within the fortifications of the old city. Previously a Palazzo, evidence of which is still apparent with the stunning frescoes, high ceilings and grandeur all round. Only 50 something bedrooms but public areas feel like you are in a much larger space. The bedrooms are a great size with large windows and a decent sized bathroom. The bar and restaurant are very good too and breakfast is extremely varied & fresh. Traditional style so not for you if you prefer minimalist and contemporary. Only negative is that there is no gym or any exercise equipment. However, Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The closest gym facilities are just a few minutes walk from the hotel or alternatively there are areas for jogging. The locals keep in shape by walking through the city streets where you may encounter a few steep uphill/downhill side alleys!!
Hoping to welcome you again in Siena, with kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent hotel; great location in the centre of the old town, wonderful building (and very effective conversion of old Palazzo) and very friendly and helpful team - take their advice! Top floor suites are wonderful, with terrace overlooking the streets and old roofs of Siena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your kind comments following your stay in Siena.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated both the hotel features and the staff services.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Continental in the future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Address: Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental Siena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-star luxury hotel within the old walls of the city of Siena is the Grand Hotel Continental, an architectural jewel of exclusive luxury in the medieval heart of this ancient city. History and art are an integral part of this magnificent 17th century building, also known as Palazzo Gori Pannilini, a wedding gift from Pope Alexander VII, a member of the powerful Chigi family, to his niece Olimpia. The frescoes are grandiose, the furniture priceless, the marble refined and the atmosphere is so romantic that throughout the centuries it has won over the hearts of a truly elite clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental Siena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.