We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. Dirty Hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Dirty Hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel was recommended by my travel agent via American Express. I was really disappointed with this hotel. It's a beautiful hotel but it needs some house keeping! Glass divider in shower filthy, glasses in bathroom disgusting. Silverware at breakfast dirty. Really disappointing stay. The hotel was not at capacity so I can't imagine why more attention wasn't given to cleanliness. Out of all the hotels we've stayed at in Italy over the last 2.5 weeks--this was the most disappointing.

Room Tip: make sure it's clean before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBeaugonin, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guests,
We apologize that your recent stay at tha Grand Hotel Continental has not been up to your expectations, and that we have failed in anyway to deliver of the highest standards of service and hospitality that distinguishes our establiment. Ever more often we recieve possitive feedback on the attentive housekeeping and we are sorry that you have experienced an rare situation that has certainly met our attention and action.
We do hope that you appreciated the visit to Siena and the unique location of the hotel.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    111
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
62
246
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After many times visiting the most beautiful city in Tuscany we decided to stay at the heart of the city and we found this hotel as a great place wonderful room the staff is helpful and professional and the location is just perfect.
We reccomand this hotel with all our heart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a “positive” review on the property and on the level of service. It’s always very rewarding for all my team and myself, to receive kind words of appreciation from our guests.
We strive every day to extend the best possible level of service.
We are happy to know that you appreciated the central location of the Hotel and the easy accessibility to the major monuments in town.
We look forward to have back next time you come to the region.

Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of everything in downtown Siena. Rooms were spacious, and our room had a large window with a breathtaking view of the city and countryside. The concierge helped us to locate the perfect restaurant and booked us for an afternoon wine tour, which was very much appreciated because we seemed to have difficulty finding an available tour guide on our own with. short notice.
The breakfast was included in our reasonable rate, and was generous and delicious. Service was gracious all around! The staff were always ready with suggestions for our trip and our room was provided with all the amenities expected from a luxury hotel. We felt welcome, and highly recommend this hotel to our friends. If we return to Siena, it would definitely be our choice to stay at the Grand again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Siena and at the Grand Hotel Continental. We are delighted to have been able to express a high level of Italian culture and hospitality and that you went back home with such happy memories of your time with us.

Sincerely
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about this hotel was wonderful except the lack of air conditioning! The room was fine, the bath was fine, the service excellent, the rooftop views of an ancient city, the location, the Concierge, just everything but the mosquitos. We were told it was Fall and therefore we did not need A/C. Great Breakfasts and Decor. Fast Elevators. Parking handled well. Excellent communication before our visit. But, there was a heat wave from Rome northward toward Florence. Temperature does not always follow the seasons.

Room Tip: No 5 star hotel should be without air conditioning ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests

I thank you for your feedback and note of appreciation on the property, the staff and the level of service.
I do apologize per the temperature and for not having air conditioning when you stayed with us.
We did turn the AC off just a couple of weeks ago when it started to get cold.
Two days ago there was a major snow storm in New York and this morning road in northern Italy were shut down because of snow. Unfortunately we are not able to keep both systems working AC/Heat, so we try our best to guess and follow weather forecast.
I do apologize again for the inconvenience.
Sincerely

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel does fit clearly into the five-star luxury segment. The lobby is done to a high standard and looks suitably impressive, and the location is ideal. So far so good. Our minor criticisms are the following.

1. The room we had was smaller than would be expected and had slightly outdated decoration.

2. They will try to charge you for wifi - always a no no in my opinion, and just means I have to walk outside to a cafe.

3. Their checklist of restaurant recommendations, all of which are supposed to be of a high standard, is in fact a mixed (and somewhat biased) bag. In our case one was brilliant but with the other they really should have known better and we basically wasted an evening out.

All in all a good five star but could have been be a great one.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Continental.

As a company we greatly value the feedback we receive from our Guests as we constantly strive to maintain a consistently high standard of service.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed part of the hotel and its location.
As far as the rooms are concerned, being a Noble Palace dating back to the 16th century, we have a vast choice of room categories and sizes, going from (25 sq.m to 200 sq.m).
I am sorry we were not able to give you a choice of a larger room.
As for the choice of restaurants, we do not have any complaints normally about our suggestions. I do believe that seldom a Guest may have a bad experience and I apologize for the inconvenience.
We do hope to have the possibility to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Continental in a near future.


Yours Sincerely
G.Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We wanted to do a great hotel in Siena and we certainly did it by choosing this hotel. Yes it deserves a galaxy of stars for all they helped us with. The staff was one of the most excellent staff I have ever dealt with. They were helpful and knowledgable and very friendly. Everyone at the front desk. Including the bellman. Also the restaurant and the cleaning staff. So the staff gets A+ but so does the hotel. It is located in the heart of Siena . There are beautiful rooms and baths, wifi, breakfast, and stunning views. Here is the thing. Parking. My husband and I were crazy enough to drive into this medieval city and I nearly had a panic attack . We laugh now but it was nerves of steel. We valeted our car with them. If you have high blood pressure don't attempt it. We did and we think of it as an NFL highlight film. Our car and thousands of tourists on a medival street. But it all worked out and we had the most wonderful time here for 2 nights. Robes and slippers and toiletries . Maps for you at front desk. So central to everything you want to see and on the "main" drag. People , people and more people. And near to the bakeries to get the local specialties and my favorite gelato place Kopa kabana. Great hotel to stay at. Siena is so different at night too. It is worth staying to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel Continental.

It is always very rewarding to receive such wonderful compliments as the team endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves with great memories. The car and parking issue you may not want to repeat, but I am sure it will remain with you as a great experience. Next the in town or in a different medieval town I am sure you will feel more confident.

I am eager to share your review with my colleagues who will be thrilled to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words and for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Sincerely,

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A beautiful hotel. The room was large and comfortable with a private balcony. All the service was excellent, including the maid service and especially the front desk staff who were very friendly and helpful, no matter what our request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on the Grand Hotel Continental and its Staff.
We are delighted to have managed to offer you a perfect stay……
From everyone here at the Grand Hotel Continental a big THANK YOU for choosing us.

Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Family Hotel in Siena
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Continental, a Sienese palace steeped in history, is part of Niquesa Hotels & Residences. Niquesa's Grand Hotel Continental, the old town's only 5* hotel, has a privileged position a moment's stroll down cobbled medieval lanes to Siena's most important attractions, including the famous Piazza del Campo and the Romanesque-Gothic cathedral. Every one of our rooms and suites is a masterpiece, honed over centuries, designed for the tastes of the 17th century aristocracy and refined to meet the demands of the discerning modern traveller. From our beautiful classic rooms to the magnificence of our Royal Suite, our accommodation is unashamedly opulent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.