We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siena treasure cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Siena treasure cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of everything in downtown Siena. Rooms were spacious, and our room had a large window with a breathtaking view of the city and countryside. The concierge helped us to locate the perfect restaurant and booked us for an afternoon wine tour, which was very much appreciated because we seemed to have difficulty finding an available tour guide on our own with. short notice.
The breakfast was included in our reasonable rate, and was generous and delicious. Service was gracious all around! The staff were always ready with suggestions for our trip and our room was provided with all the amenities expected from a luxury hotel. We felt welcome, and highly recommend this hotel to our friends. If we return to Siena, it would definitely be our choice to stay at the Grand again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Siena and at the Grand Hotel Continental. We are delighted to have been able to express a high level of Italian culture and hospitality and that you went back home with such happy memories of your time with us.

Sincerely
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    118
    38
    20
    8
See reviews for
65
259
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about this hotel was wonderful except the lack of air conditioning! The room was fine, the bath was fine, the service excellent, the rooftop views of an ancient city, the location, the Concierge, just everything but the mosquitos. We were told it was Fall and therefore we did not need A/C. Great Breakfasts and Decor. Fast Elevators. Parking handled well. Excellent communication before our visit. But, there was a heat wave from Rome northward toward Florence. Temperature does not always follow the seasons.

Room Tip: No 5 star hotel should be without air conditioning ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests

I thank you for your feedback and note of appreciation on the property, the staff and the level of service.
I do apologize per the temperature and for not having air conditioning when you stayed with us.
We did turn the AC off just a couple of weeks ago when it started to get cold.
Two days ago there was a major snow storm in New York and this morning road in northern Italy were shut down because of snow. Unfortunately we are not able to keep both systems working AC/Heat, so we try our best to guess and follow weather forecast.
I do apologize again for the inconvenience.
Sincerely

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel does fit clearly into the five-star luxury segment. The lobby is done to a high standard and looks suitably impressive, and the location is ideal. So far so good. Our minor criticisms are the following.

1. The room we had was smaller than would be expected and had slightly outdated decoration.

2. They will try to charge you for wifi - always a no no in my opinion, and just means I have to walk outside to a cafe.

3. Their checklist of restaurant recommendations, all of which are supposed to be of a high standard, is in fact a mixed (and somewhat biased) bag. In our case one was brilliant but with the other they really should have known better and we basically wasted an evening out.

All in all a good five star but could have been be a great one.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Continental.

As a company we greatly value the feedback we receive from our Guests as we constantly strive to maintain a consistently high standard of service.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed part of the hotel and its location.
As far as the rooms are concerned, being a Noble Palace dating back to the 16th century, we have a vast choice of room categories and sizes, going from (25 sq.m to 200 sq.m).
I am sorry we were not able to give you a choice of a larger room.
As for the choice of restaurants, we do not have any complaints normally about our suggestions. I do believe that seldom a Guest may have a bad experience and I apologize for the inconvenience.
We do hope to have the possibility to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Continental in a near future.


Yours Sincerely
G.Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We wanted to do a great hotel in Siena and we certainly did it by choosing this hotel. Yes it deserves a galaxy of stars for all they helped us with. The staff was one of the most excellent staff I have ever dealt with. They were helpful and knowledgable and very friendly. Everyone at the front desk. Including the bellman. Also the restaurant and the cleaning staff. So the staff gets A+ but so does the hotel. It is located in the heart of Siena . There are beautiful rooms and baths, wifi, breakfast, and stunning views. Here is the thing. Parking. My husband and I were crazy enough to drive into this medieval city and I nearly had a panic attack . We laugh now but it was nerves of steel. We valeted our car with them. If you have high blood pressure don't attempt it. We did and we think of it as an NFL highlight film. Our car and thousands of tourists on a medival street. But it all worked out and we had the most wonderful time here for 2 nights. Robes and slippers and toiletries . Maps for you at front desk. So central to everything you want to see and on the "main" drag. People , people and more people. And near to the bakeries to get the local specialties and my favorite gelato place Kopa kabana. Great hotel to stay at. Siena is so different at night too. It is worth staying to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel Continental.

It is always very rewarding to receive such wonderful compliments as the team endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves with great memories. The car and parking issue you may not want to repeat, but I am sure it will remain with you as a great experience. Next the in town or in a different medieval town I am sure you will feel more confident.

I am eager to share your review with my colleagues who will be thrilled to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words and for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Sincerely,

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A beautiful hotel. The room was large and comfortable with a private balcony. All the service was excellent, including the maid service and especially the front desk staff who were very friendly and helpful, no matter what our request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on the Grand Hotel Continental and its Staff.
We are delighted to have managed to offer you a perfect stay……
From everyone here at the Grand Hotel Continental a big THANK YOU for choosing us.

Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Continental in Siena, mid September 2012. After getting well and truly lost and confused in the hire car in Siena, (GPS do not work well in the city centre due to the narrow streets and taller buildings, we were later told!) a wonderful staff member, Eugenio, kindly came and directed us how to get to the hotel. His courtesy and help was most appreciated!
The room was smaller than others we have stayed in, but it was very well appointed with an excellent king size bed. The window looked down onto the busy street below but street noise was never a problem.
The hotel has a wonderful sitting room in a grand style as well as other works of art to admire.
It is in a perfect location, a minutes walk to the Piazza del Campo, etc.
Laura, behind the desk was always cheerful and gave us excellent restaurant suggestions each night. Francesco also was always happy to help with a smile and good tourist advice.
Dinner and breakfast in the hotel was excellent.
The location, ambience and staff make this Hotel a 5* experience.
(Thanks again Eugenio!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on our property and on the level of service.
It’s always very rewarding for all my team and myself, to receive kind words of appreciation from our guests.
We are very lucky to have very motivated people at the Front Desk who manage to make Guests feel very welcome and very comfortable during their stay. The rest of the team acts behind the scene, every day, to try to achieve a perfect performance.
We are all very happy to know that we did succeed with you during your stay with us.

Warmest regards

G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After my unppleasant trip to Bellagio I had two choices: cut my trip short and fly home or go to Grand Hotel Continental in Siena where I had the most amazing and memorable time on my two previous trips, last year and in 2006. I chose to go back to GHC eventhough I had to drive from Milano, and took my friend along who was not hundred percent committed. As always, the check in was smooth, pleasent and warm. We were greeted by smiling faces and once I stepped inside the lobby I felt great, leaving behind stress, bad memories of Bellagio and outside heat. This hotel is very special, historic charm and beauty, in perfect city center location. We had a beautiful, spacious, cool and quiet room with a view of a Duomo and we very much enjoyed our breakfast buffet in their restaurant. I must say the people who worked there made it very special for us too. Extremely friendly staff from the cleaning lady to the waiter and reception desk...but most important, our concierge Nabil was top notch, charming and fantastic! He booked our dinner reservations and wine tasting appointments, we had amazing time driving through tuscan picturesque land to wineries. He was very helpful with directions to outlets and other places, assistance and advice. He even brought to our car water and sparkling water upon our departure. Little things sometimes can mean a lot, specially in hot weather. His caring, pleasant and great attitude spoke clearly of people of Siena. We loved the hotel and the city which is very festive and beautiful with breath taking view of the square and awesome tuscan cuisine. My friend couldn't thank me enough for such wonderful experience, she was happy she didn't fly home instead. Thank you for turning our trip around and making this a special and positive experience for us. Next time for sure I will skip places and cities in Italy to spend more time in Siena and Tuscany. I will be back with my family as GHC Siena is my husband's and daughter's favorite place in Italy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartolli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel Continental.
It is always very rewarding to receive such wonderful compliments as the team endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves with great memories.
Your stay with us sounds more like a fairy tale rather than a hotel stay..........thank you very much for sharing that with the world out there
Warmest regards
G. Artolli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 41 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 41 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#11 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Via Banchi Di Sopra 85, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Family Hotel in Siena
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Continental, a Sienese palace steeped in history, is part of Niquesa Hotels & Residences. Niquesa's Grand Hotel Continental, the old town's only 5* hotel, has a privileged position a moment's stroll down cobbled medieval lanes to Siena's most important attractions, including the famous Piazza del Campo and the Romanesque-Gothic cathedral. Every one of our rooms and suites is a masterpiece, honed over centuries, designed for the tastes of the 17th century aristocracy and refined to meet the demands of the discerning modern traveller. From our beautiful classic rooms to the magnificence of our Royal Suite, our accommodation is unashamedly opulent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Continental Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.