We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Hotel Il Palio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Piccolo Hotel Il Palio to your Saves list
Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Sale, 18, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

I booked online and paid just €36 including breakfast. So I was not expecting 5 star. The room was small but clean but for one night fine. Right at bus stop from station and 5 mins walk to the Campo main square. Great value budget hotel with friendly helpful service and free wi fi

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    27
    30
    68
See reviews for
22
56
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Through the advisory number of hotels in Siena, I was recommended to go to this hotel. Only 2 stars, a one person bedroom. The shower is only 60cm*60cm. The whole bathroom, which consists of a toilet and the shower is soo tiny that you can't turn around. The bed hangs in the middle. Never ever go there. I'm Cycling to Rome, but in 25 days this is the worst experience!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It is good located BUT:
1. the bathroom is not very clean
2. leaking sink does not work,
3. toilet hoop was not fixed.
4. window closes hard and you hear all the noises from the street.
5. Half of the double bed was like a trough - unconfortable
I do not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Location of the Hotel was fantastic, central and short (10-30 minutes) walk to most of the main attractions.

Nothing too flashy with the Hotel. Deco, room size, breakfast and cleanliness is alright.

The two main issues I had was:
1) The street that the Hotel is on, is very busy and traffic noise from the buses, motor bikes and trucks were really bad. The windows are not double glazed and noise just travel very easily through them. We stayed here two nights and I asked after the first night whether we could move to another room further away from the main street, but advised that since the 2nd day was Easter, the noise wouldn't be a issue. However while it wasn't as busy, still got woken up several times during the night due to noise outside.

2) On the 2nd night, there was either a family or group that checked in at 3am in the morning. They marched themselves up the stairs and them the father and girls were either playing some crazy tag game or something coz they very super loud & noisy. I am sure it would had woken up everyone in the hotel, they didn't end up shutting up till about 4am.

These two event made our stay very unenjoyable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff was kind & friendly. Location is second to none. If you are looking for an affordable and pleasant place to stay in central Siena, this is it! I would definitely return and I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccoloPalio, Direttore at Piccolo Hotel Il Palio, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Gary,
thank you for this advisor.
It was a pleasure for us to have a guest like you!
Best regards,
Staff Piccolo hotel il palio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a school trip, and the location is excellent- very central in Siena and within walking distance of the main sites. The bedroom was clean, even if the furniture was simple and quite dated. The major let-down was the bathroom. It was tiny, and the toilet was literally in the shower, with a useless bidet taking up valuable space. There was no fan or ventilation so all moisture stayed in the room, probably the cause of the mould on the ceiling and walls. I never dared touch the shower head and my room-mate found a slug that had crawled up through the loose drain whilst she showered.
Breakfast is not great, especially if you do not like Nutella, as that was most of what was on offer, but in this price range it is probably to be expected.
In short, great location, and renovation and cleaning to the bathrooms, and possibly new furniture, would fix the main problems

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel many times, and I haven't one single complaint about the staff. The rooms might not be the best, but this can always be improved upon. Good service cannot be improved upon, as it is worthy of a five star hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccolo Hotel Il Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Il Palio

Address: Piazza del Sale, 18, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Il Palio 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Convento de Tre Mori dating from the 1400s; set in the historic centre of town near the Piazza del Campo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Il Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Hotel Il Palio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.