We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the Piazza il Campo but overpriced food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Alla Speranza

Ristorante Alla Speranza
Piazza del Campo 32/33/34/35/36, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 280190
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ristorante Alla Speranza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #224 of 443 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location on the Piazza il Campo but overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are looking to sit around Il Campo to admire the view, the history and watch the people, the tables at this restaurant are ideal. Food-wise, though, the pizza was just okay and overpriced and the service was slow and disjointed. While we were sitting there in the late afternoon (which was really quite beautiful), one waitress got into a yelling argument with her two managers. Although we couldn't understand the Italian, it had something to do with washing off the tables before she covered them with tablecloths for the more formal dinner setting. This argument went on for at least 15 minutes storming inside and back outside until the waitress finally stomped off still screaming. A definite diversion, but spoiled the ambiance of the Il Campo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    30
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely location. Reasonable food. But crazily overpriced and the service really wasn't great. The young lady who brought the food was hot and cold with us, and the waiter who took our order was more interested in a young lady standing elsewhere and only half listening to our order.

The locals at the table next to us received their drinks and food before we did, despite having ordered quite a bit later than we had (and we didn't order anything more complicated than them). The food tasted ok, but not as good as you would expect for the price and location. They seem to be relying on that to pull in the crowds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“A warm summer day,great views good food and good service................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The weather was unseasonably warm,the sky azure blue with not a cloud only the hot midday sun,all around the Siena Piazza Il Campo are restaurants and bistros with an abundant choice of menus.For the tourists seated there,choices were set lunches of exceptional value and lots of Pizza.The views of the old town square are famous for the flag waving and horse racing and it is worth a walk around before you choose your restaurant.

The Alla Speranza seemed more inviting than the rest and the staff were exceptionally welcoming,it appeared that most of the staff spoke numerous languages and English was not a problem,the menu was comprehensive with meats fish and pasta and of course the ever popular pizza.

Dining alone I had a plate of antipasti cold cut and cheeses followed by penne carbonara in a rich creamy sauce,the waiter suggested a regional wine that was delicious and cheap,this making the lunch very affordable.Even when I was finished I was not asked to move and sat enjoying the view with a couple of coffees and a local brandy.

Great food nicely presented,pleasant staff who are pleased to help and explain the menus and in many cases will be prepared to make anything you want.A place I would highly recommend and would certainly return not only for lunch but for dinner as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent location to have some pizza and wine while people watching out to the Piazza. Can be crowded and noisey with spotty service and a bit pricey, but you're there for the atmosphere anyway.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“They should have a sign that says "We hate tourists"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hands down the worst treatment/ service I've had since I've been in Italy. The servers are RUDE and AGGRESSIVE. They ignore you, they are condescending. It was unbelievable how terrible these people are. It really ruins your entire evening to be treated so poorly. It's the attitude of, We have a restaurant on the plaza, you are just a tourist, we don't give a damn whether you like your food or have a nice time, just eat and get the hell out. To top it off, the food is OVER PRICED and FROZEN. (They actually have a notice that they serve frozen food on the menu). Pasta portions are small, sauces are bland, and the pizzas are thick. They didn't bring us forks, never brought us bread, left us waiting for our food for hours, did not clear our plates, and then took forever to bring the check. Overall- TERRIBLE experience. I have been staying in Siena for a month and would not return to this hell hole. I would rather starve.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Alla Speranza also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Alla Speranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Alla Speranza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.