We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty nice B&B...all good except the not-so-polite owner lady” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Alfredo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa di Alfredo to your Saves list
Casa di Alfredo
Lelio e Fausto Socino 4, Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€15 (EUR)
Ranked #50 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A pretty nice B&B...all good except the not-so-polite owner lady”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I would have given this place a very good review. It has nice rooms at decent prices, a very good breakfast, free internet, etc. Everything was good. It was only that I found the owner lady not to be so polite. May be others would differ. I had to catch a train around 2pm and hence had to pick my luggage (I had checked out in the norning) at about 1.30pm. But when asked for, I was quitely bluntly said noting can be done between 12-2 (probably because it was siesta time). I know siesta is quite a serious thing in many parts of Italy, but the way of communicating that could have been better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
18
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights with my wife and found this place highly convenient. Set in two former flats of a nice villa with a spacious staircase, this B&B convinces through its clean rooms, its ready-to-use guest kitchen (which cost us an extra €2 per day, though - we would have liked to know that before!), the nice and helpful sisters owning this place (who only speak basic English but do everything in their power to solve your problems), AND THE AWESOME BREAKFAST. There isn't much missing on the table, and they keep on refilling fried sliced sausages, fried eggs, bread, cake, prosciutto, cheese... until you are satisfied or until the end of breakfast time, i.e. 9am - whatever comes first.

From the B&B it is a 15 minutes walk to the city center with the main tourist attractions during which you can get a nice impression of what makes Siena so beautiful: the narrow alleys and the little squares with historical churches or buildings.

WiFi was stable once I got the password right, and was free of charge.

The bathroom, however, was a bit narrow and in case you do not understand how to use the folding shower cabin, you wet the whole room. Also, we stayed there during some rainy days, and the room got quite cold in the evenings.

Considering that this is "only" a B&B, we found the price not too cheap, especially due to the extra fee for the use of the kitchen. In the hotel at which we stayed the night after that, we paid only slightly more and enjoyed the full convenience of a hotel.

But in the end, it was still somewhat okay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed one night is June 2012. There are no attached bathrooms but that was not a problem on my floor as there were two and a separate loo!! It is located in a beautiful yellow Italian villa, and the hostel is on the first 2 floors. It is extremely quiet as it residential. The place is spotless and a breakfast to die for!! I came out at 7.30 and the table was full of a typical Italian breakfast. You don't usually get that in places like this. The owner is very nice and very helpful. Remember it is very easy to get to from the train station. Go up to the TOP of the escalators, through a shopping centre, and exit at Porto Camollia.Turn left. Take the 1st or 3rd street on the left and at the end is the street (via L e Fausto Socino) the hostel is in. It is almost at the end of the street no 4.. Very good value for money. It is only 20 mins max walking to the centre, and down a very interesting street.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

the room was nice, great location, bathroom was ridiculously, non-functionally small... the owner was kinda rude and wouldn't let us keep our luggage there during the day... irritating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed in Casa di Alfredo for one night. The owner Mrs. Antonella is lovely and the B&B is very well located in Siena, close both to the old town and to the train station at 10 min on foot each. Given the fact that there is no real hostel in Siena, this can be a good choice for your stay.

The prices are good, the breakfast is nice and it is a clean B&B offering basic services. There is free wifi (i didn't use it to know if it was good) and the only negative thing i noticed is that it can be a little bit noisy during the morning as people are checking out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very cute. Great location near Porta Camollia. Very clean. Kitchen small but adequate. Hot breakfast was lovely. Very quiet. Great views of the city. We could come and go as we pleased. Wifi slow and not dependable; it worked better if you sit with your laptop in the hostel office.

Room Tip: Tip for wifi - works the best near/in the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa di Alfredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Alfredo

Address: Lelio e Fausto Socino 4, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Budget Places, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Casa di Alfredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Alfredo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.