We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Cathedral

Siena Cathedral
Piazza del Duomo, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 286300
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 56 attractions in Siena
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The magnificent complex of the Cathedral of Siena, its Duomo, houses a series of some of the most important monuments of the European artistic panorama. With its more than one million visitors every year, the Cathedral without a doubt represents the fulcrum of the entire complex, while other significant elements include the Crypt, the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera, all part of the impressive mass formed by the "Duomo Vecchio" (Old Cathedral), and the "Duomo Nuovo" (New Cathedral). Visitors will travel along a memorable itinerary to the discovery of self and the truth of faith through culture and art, the result of more than a millennium of Western history.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The cathedral is absolutely magnificent. The view from the rooftop is spectacular. Definitely a must see in Siena.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,910
    302
    38
    18
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, ME
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Seriously...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

You just have to go. There's no reason not to. This is a gorgeous cathedral, to put it lightly. It's a must see!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breath Taking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The duomo is a "must see" in Siena. It would be impossible to describe the beauty of the duomo, the sculptures, the black and white marble and the altars. Be certain to visit the crypt (entry is behind the duomo). It is breath taking and an experience I will never forget.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nothing In The World Quite Like It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are few cathedrals in the world like the Siena Cathedral (the church of Santa Maria Assunta). It's a world heritage site for good reason. The duochrome stone walls and pillars, the sculpture throughout by Bernini and Michelangelo (among a dozen other great Italians sculptors), the grand pulpit by Pisano, and art by a dozen of the finest painters in history are certainly the highlights. Take time (early in the day is the best start time in order to get good interior photos of the stunning stained glass) to slowly stroll the place. I highly recommend renting the audio guide and taking a slow loop through the place. Don't miss the library room with its ancient, illustrated books open (behind sealed glass of course) so that you can see and read the ancient Latin inscriptions.

What a place. If you really love this kind of thing, prepare to spend at least two hours, but remember too that one could spend years studying the art and the history of the cathedral.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Better than Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Can I give it ten stars instead of five pleeeeeez? Hubby and I are still speechless after visiting today. We've seen a lot of cathedrals over the years, but this one is really special. Give yourself plenty of time as there is so much to see inside and out - all of it truly magnificent. We usually buy 2-4 postcards at each cathedral to remember it by, but we bought the whole book this time as we want to remember every itty bitty inch of it. The floor alone will astound you, and now THAT'S a pulpit! The black and white marble throughout is sooooooo dramatic and lovely. I could go on and on and on - just go and see for yourself. You will not be sorry. See the crypt, baptistery, and museum too! If you climb to the top in the museum, you'll have spectacular views of Siena and Tuscany. You go up and up and up a narrow, spiral staircase with tiny steps, and your whole flashes before you several times. Not recommended if you are older and stairs are a problem; however, we ARE older and stairs are NOT our friends anymore, yet we made it and lived to tell the tale. Was it worth it? Yes, but my knees aren't speaking to me tonight.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siena Cathedral also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Siena Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Siena Cathedral to your Saves list