We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Cathedral

Siena Cathedral
Piazza del Duomo, 53100, Siena, Italy
0577 286300
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Best Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking...
Ranked #1 of 81 things to do in Siena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magnificent complex of the Cathedral of Siena, its Duomo, houses a series of some of the most important monuments of the European artistic panorama. With its more than one million visitors every year, the Cathedral without a doubt represents the fulcrum of the entire complex, while other significant elements include the Crypt, the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera, all part of the impressive mass formed by the "Duomo Vecchio" (Old Cathedral), and the "Duomo Nuovo" (New Cathedral). Visitors will travel along a memorable itinerary to the discovery of self and the truth of faith through culture and art, the result of more than a millennium of Western history.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went to Siena today, snow and sleet showers greeted us on the Sita bus from florence !!!!But when we arrived in Siena the sun came out ..... We went into the Duomo it very good from outside but spectacular from inside , def worth seeing . Really enjoyed our day despite weather .

Visited February 2013
1 Thank IrelandDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of Italy's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I visited the Siena Duomo last July. This is a very unique cathedral in an exceptionally attractive town. Built in the 1200's, an impressive display of Italian Gothic architecture. From its exterior facade to its beautifully striped marble interior, this church shines as one of Italy's finest jewels. You'll find several floor mosaics as you walk throughout the building and works by famed artists such as Michaelangelo, Donatello and Giovanni Pisano. I really enjoyed snapping a few photos here. Take some time to walk throughout the church since there are several nooks and crannies that make it easy to miss some of its highlights.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

One of my favorite churches I visited while in Italy and we saw a lot during our two weeks. What stands out about this one is how unique it is. The black and white marble is beautiful and that dome?! Wowzas so breathtaking. We were luck enough to visit during a time when the floors were uncovered and I can see why they protect them normally such works of art. The Piccolomini Library is beautiful as well. My neck was quite sore from all the staring up between the ceiling in the library and the dome. The exterior is just as detailed and exquisite as the interior. I wished I had binocular so I could take in all the details.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Meaghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A must see in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was a little tricky to find among the narrow street of Siena. Don't be fooled, when locating the Duomo on the street, it might actually be the rear of the church. Go around to the open area. There you will find arguably the most beautiful church in all of Italy. Free entrance to the Duomo ticket must be obtained at the booth located on the right side of the Duomo.

Visited June 2012
1 Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gothic cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

You can take pictures, just don't use flash. Lovely to wander around and look at all of the wonderful inlaid marble scenes on the pavement. The central parts are covered so you can walk but 2 months every year they are uncovered so you can see that part as well. You can rent tablets with a special app so you can visit the cathedral and read about what you're seeing, very useful! I had visited Siena before and not having gone inside didn't know the treasures that were inside - must see if you're in Siena, regardless of the time you have there.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Florence_louboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siena Cathedral also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena

Been to Siena Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing