We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Cathedral

Siena Cathedral
Piazza del Duomo, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 286300
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 56 attractions in Siena
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The magnificent complex of the Cathedral of Siena, its Duomo, houses a series of some of the most important monuments of the European artistic panorama. With its more than one million visitors every year, the Cathedral without a doubt represents the fulcrum of the entire complex, while other significant elements include the Crypt, the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera, all part of the impressive mass formed by the "Duomo Vecchio" (Old Cathedral), and the "Duomo Nuovo" (New Cathedral). Visitors will travel along a memorable itinerary to the discovery of self and the truth of faith through culture and art, the result of more than a millennium of Western history.
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I lived in Siena for four months and studied Sienese and Italian history. This cathedral is a rich piece of history and architecture. Its a fully functioning cathedral with the grand walls of a newer cathedral built around it (the Sienese wanted it to be the biggest cathedral in Italy...before everyone died from the Black Plague and couldn't finish it) You do have to pay small fees for different parts of the building, but the main part of the cathedral is free to enter. Defintely a must see!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,851
    298
    37
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
2,145 helpful votes 2,145 helpful votes
“Top Tips for visiting Siena Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tip 1: Once again, i have to say...if you are in Italy, you have to work in an Italian way which is....follow what the Italians feel like doing on that day! We went there and realised that the cathedral is free to enter BUT you canno enter until you go to the nearby booth to get an entrance ticket (which cost zero euros, zero franc, zero pound, zero krone, if you get what i mean? Literally $0.00. Free!). We are not sure why we need to get a ticket even if the entrance is free. And most of off, when we were queueing up at the booth, the lady behind the counter was trying to sell us a 2 euros ticket to see the cathedral library in the cathedral! We didnt want to and she showed us a very unhappy face like as if we were some cheapskate uni students.

Tip 2: We entered the cathedral and was not dissapointed. It was magnificient. Even the tiles on the floor were depicted in a very medieval old age era.

Tip 3: We pastby the library and had a peek in there. It was just some library that filled with manuscripts and we couldnt even be bothered looking further.

Tip 4: One good thing about this cathedral? There is a rest area where you can get cheap hot yummy chocolate from the vending machines and then go for a toilet break. You might need to pay some sort of toilet fee like 50 euro cents but we walked in without paying. Teehee!

If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wow! After seeing St. Peters for the first time, I thought that any church after it would be just okay. This is a must. We only purchased tickets for the Duomo and Baptistery, and it was enough for me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easley, sc
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been to the Duomo's in Rome, Milan, and Florence, I agree with many that this one is the most grand. I is a sight to see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

You can't miss this one. In a 2 week trip to Europe this was probably one of the top things we saw. Get the pass - go through the cathedral and then go to the top of the museum across the way and go up and out to see the panoramic views of Siena. Absolutely spectacular. The cathedral itself is amazing - with the striped marble. Do not miss this one!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siena Cathedral also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Siena Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Siena Cathedral to your Saves list