We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little jewel of a hotel within walking distance of Siena old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arcobaleno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arcobaleno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arcobaleno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina 32/40, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant little jewel of a hotel within walking distance of Siena old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We literally put a pin in the page - laptop speaking - to happen on this little gem. Bright, shiny and neat. Lovely little place,. The reception staff were very welcoming and spoke excellent English. When I enquired about getting to Siena she produced a map - inidcated where we were - gave me the bus numbers and where they stopped to get into and out of Siena. If you do decide to walk it is a bit of a stretch - 20 minutes to the old town at a steady fast pace but flat and a pleasant walk if weather good. Rooms neat and tidy - lovely bathrooms. The only downside I think is that the beds in a twin room at 2ft 6in beds - not good for larger people!! The breakfast was absolutely lovely and a wide choice, Splendid stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    138
    42
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
130
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived by train and decided to walk to this hotel from the train station as our map indicated that it was only around 1km away...not a very good idea as our trip was all up hill. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was very good. If you have a car, I can see the location of this hotel being terrific, but since we did not have a car I found it to be too far away from the historic center of Siena. There was 1 restaurant close by. I like to be able to leave my hotel at night and walk around, but there really was nothing to see around this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose this hotel on looks alone as we drove past. Not that there weren't other hotels that appeared interesting but this seemed an attractive enough place with reasonably secure parking within reasonable distance of the town centre. The rooms and service were thankfully as we expected from the outside appearance.

The reception is clean and welcoming and our receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, roomy, had a typically Italian-hard-but-comfortable-enough bed and all conventional amenities. As a bonus we had a beautiful, slightly restricted view of Tuscan hills.

We asked about getting into the town centre and were advised that it is a longish walk or there is a reasonably frequent bus service with a stop not far from the hotel. We opted for the bus only to find after we'd been waiting for twenty or more minutes that a one-day strike had been called! We walked the rest of the way and were relieved to see the old town walls after about twenty minutes only to find that there was another twenty minute plus walk to where all the restaurants and main tourist attractions were! It was all very interesting once we got there and we had a great afternoon and evening but needless to say we took a taxi home.

Apart from that we had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The room is what can be expected for the price and the included breakfast was acceptable. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is at the new city, it is clean, the rooms are confortable (a small tv is the only minus), breakfast as usual at these hotels.
Price include breakfast & parking
The priceis lower than hotels near or at the old city
I recommendthe hotel.
You get your money value

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wye valley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here in July and wanted a good hotel on the outskirts of Siena where we would be able to walk into the city. This hotel was perfect for this. There is a small but adequate car park and a patio area to sit out in while having a cold drink studying maps etc. The rooms are large enough and very clean and pleasantly decorated. The staff are always on hand with a smile and anything you may need. The breakfast is good and plentiful. The on-site restaurant is also very good and thoroughly recommended but is closed mondays. However, just down the street about 200yards there is another very good local restaurant which we can also recommend. Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This Hotel is good value for money.

The positives are, rooms not large but adequate and are nicely decorated, A/C good, bathroom good, breakfast excellent, staff very helpful, overall decoration and presentation excellent, off-street parking very convenient if you are driving.

There are a few things travellers need to know. There are two upstairs floors with no lift, the walk to the village is just under 30 minutes (a bus can be caught), we found the attached restaurant to be a bit pricey though it is convenient, the Wi-Fi can be a bit of a problem as you have to log on using different passwords every few hours.

Overall this Hotel is good value as long as the distance from the town centre does not concern you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the fields and not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Initially, I selected the hotel because of its position (you need just 2 min to reach Novartis) but I immediately appreciated other unexpected benefits and for these reasons now I come regularly to this hotel when I have business in Siena. The rooms are clean and several of them have large shower cabins, they are pretty well isolated, there is always place for parking the car, breakfast choice is larger than in most Italian hotels and the personnel is extremely kind and effective in solving the small problems you can meet when traveling. After having spent a long day in meetings, I like walking to the old town for dinner and then back, away from the tourist mass to my calm room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arcobaleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcobaleno

Address: Via Fiorentina 32/40, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arcobaleno 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magic and charm of nineteenth-century Tuscany;the irresistible allure of Chianti's colours;the indispensable modern comforts.All of these can be found at Hotel Arcobaleno,which is situated in an enchanting country villa from the 1800s at the gates of Siena.The hotel has 19 rooms, each of the hotel's bedrooms has a private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, color cable television, direct dial digital telephone, WiiFi connection and individual air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arcobaleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcobaleno Hotel Siena
Siena Arcobaleno Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arcobaleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.