We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect view of Siena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alma Domus to your Saves list
Hotel Alma Domus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camporegio, 37, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect view of Siena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel probably has the best view of Siena. Set on tranquil part of the city, this place has simple and nicely decorated rooms. The building has antique spaces, that transport you briefly to Siena`s golden age. And of course, it has a certain mystic and connection to St Catherine. The location is great, close to the bus station (not to the train one) and to the city centre. Staying in Siena is a good option for daytrips to charming towns such as San Gimignano and Volterra.
Advice: Ask for a room with a view on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    199
    62
    14
    11
See reviews for
82
206
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castellina in Chianti
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a triple room on the top floor (this is actually the floor where you enter the hotel). This floor and the one below have been completely renovated recently, so our room was spacious, comfortable, spotless and modern. Excellent bathroom and a fabulous view over the valley to the Duomo. Were heard that the lower floors are going to be renovated and in the meantime they have put new doors on all of them. Friendly and helpful front desk, and a beautiful, well-supplied breakfast room (breakfast is included in the price). We breakfasted at 7.30 so the rolls were warm and moist, filled with chocolate, jam etc. Lots of fresh fruit etc etc. Good cappuccino. The location is excellent - just a short walk up via Paradiso to reach the main drag. The splendid church of San Domenico is almost next door and buses for the station leave from there. The intercity bus station is about 10 minutes away on foot.

Room Tip: At the moment, go for rooms on the two uppermost floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The view from our room of Siena was breathtaking. We loved the ringing of the bells and the beating of the drums in the early evening as the musicians practiced for the Palio. One morning of the two nights we stayed there, we looked up to see hot air balloons crossing the sky. Another night, the full moon rose over the city bell tower in perfect clarity. The room itself was comfortable and sparkling clean. The bathroom had everything we needed. The front desk staff was most helpful in finding us a good restaurant and providing directions. It was a short walk to the bus station, the cathedral of St. Caterina and the Palio, yet the monastery is away from the touristy part of town. Around the corner from the monastery, one can sit inside the most beautiful chapel and hear the nuns recite the rosary. It was a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. Our room was a good value, the view was worth the price of the stay. We did not find the room to be too bare and our bath facilities were quite adequate. I would recommend visiting the attached house of St Catherine. Interactive video screens tell the history of St Catherine and the house itself. A few of the house's rooms are open for touring (free).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this recently renovated hotel and loved it! We had a balcony which had french door opening on to it, overlooking the ancient city. It was in immaculate condition, and we felt like we were the first people using the room. Beautifully decorated (for a budget hotel). Location was great & we loved hearing the church bells. Too bad it wasn't warmer as we would have also loved to have sat on the patio by the entrance to enjoy a cappuccino. Only downfall are the stairs to lug your baggage down to reception.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 11 and highly recommend this room as it comes with a balcony & windows overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our stay in Siena. The room was comfortable, a good size and clean. The rate for the room was very good. The hotel was well situated near attractions and near some great restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only bad point is the proximity(right next to) to the bells of Santa Caterina church that start ringing early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose it for the price and location, and weren't disappointed. Just know what you're getting for the low price you will pay.

It's an old convent dormitory, and feels like it. Rooms are small, with twin beds. Bathrooms are a challenge: no tub, and shower is not enclosed - you close the door, and everything in there gets wet, so just prepare. The view: all rooms have a private balcony, and the UPPER floor rooms have a stunning view of ancient Siena (you're on one hill, looking at the city center on the next); this view alone makes it worth staying here, provided you ask for and get an upper-floor room. (ck-in is on this floor, and the other floors are below this main level).

Breakfast was just OK. Felt just like a hospital cafeteria, complete with trays. They allow you one capuccino/ person (I drank my wife's), but you may purchase more. This is a problem for those of us who require a minimum of two cups a morning to face the day (just pay). Food was so-so, enough to get you started.

Honestly, we don't regret staying here. We needed a budget option to compensate for some of the "splurge" rooms we had elsewhere. We were torn in this review between leaving a 3- or 4-star rating. How about 3-1/2? It just didn't rate 4 with us, even with the great value (we paid 75e) and view. Know and go: you get what you pay for, but in this case, you get a little more.

Room Tip: ask for the top (main) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_Domus, Direttore at Hotel Alma Domus, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, thanks for the review, your opinion gives me the opportunity to inform our customers that the hotel renovations have just been completed and we now have the most beautiful and comfortable rooms and we solved most of the problems you are set out.

Dr. Louis Locco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio, 37, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alma Domus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.