We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quaint place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alma Domus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camporegio, 37, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 hotels in Siena
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quaint place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're looking to stay in a unique place, this is it! Not to mention, the rate per night was excellent when we stayed (one of the cheapest out of several places we stayed in Europe). If you're looking for a traditional 5 star luxury place to stay, Alma Domus isn't for you. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights last summer (just got around to writing this review), and absolutely loved it.

Siena is fairly small, so the location worked out perfectly and we were able to walk to everything. The room is decently sized. We asked for a double room but actually had a single bed plus a double bed in our room (the double was just 2 singles combined, common in Europe). The place is old, but clean. We were completely satisfied with the room, but I would say the bathrooms need a bit of updating...water goes everywhere when you're showering. But honestly, not a big deal.

The breakfast is simple and straightforward, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view --- it's GORGEOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    183
    56
    13
    10
See reviews for
80
190
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel situated very close to the centre of Siena and the Il Campo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. While the room was very basic it was spotlessly clean; had a great view and it was good to have both indoor and outdoor 'lounge' areas. Breakfast was OK. The overall value for B&B was very good. The hotel was about to close for renovations over the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Conveniently located. We parked within a few feet of the entrance to unload our bags, then parked a few blocks away in a (very crowded) parking lot. Spectacular view from our room of the Duomo and the city. 5 minute walk to Il Campo - the main town square. (All uphill) Service was adequate and breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Alma Domus for only one night during our Italian trip. This hotel was very convenient cause it’s situated in the center of Siena (5 minutes from Piazza del Campo) and not far from the bus stop Piazza Gramsci (about 7 minutes by foot). I should say that location is the main advantage of Alma Domus! Every time when we went out from the hotel we felt like in fairy tale. Alma Domus is a part of a monastery, next to the hotel there is a big cathedral and fantastic viewpoint. Another important thing is a 24-hour reception, which allowed us to walk around the city also in the night. Our room was clean, a little bit ascetic (it was a the monastery!), but the windows were situated under the ceiling! That was the greatest disappointment at Alma Domus. I know in the hotel there are rooms with fantastic view of the medieval city, but we got a room almost without any view. Nobody from the reception didn’t tell me anything about different types of rooms when I made reservation. Another disadvantage was poor breakfast (too poor for such a hotel): only cakes and yogurt, without ham or cheese. And also I should say that Alma Domus isn't for aged or weak people: almost everywhere there are stairs even on the street and nobody will help you with heavy luggage( But anyway I liked this place and forever love Siena!

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with normal window and view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very pleasant and simple hotel perfectly located near the Centro Storico of Siena. No luxury but clean and pleasant. Breakfast was ok. Be prepared to wake up at 7 am by church bells. During our visit there were no noisy people in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in Hotel Alma Domus, first two nights in a room with a double bed and the last night with twin beds. We found the hotel is sufficient, nothing over the top, clean, small and comfortable. The breakfast was not inspiring but we ended up feed, good cappuccino however.

Amazing views from rooms on top floors make the stay worthwhile. WiFi is not free and the hotel provides a computer for those without their own devices to get on line, again a fee for on-line access.

Not much but does the job, OK stay at Alma Domus.

Room Tip: Get a view room or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night, it was a Friday, so busy with students. The hotel was noisy and basic, there were loud fights in the night and morning, and we could hear snoring from other rooms like it was in the hallway outside the door. Hotel needs carpeting; hallway noises echoed very loudly; otherwise, I would recommend it as a hostel, and not really suitable for family visits (on weekends anyways)

Room Tip: suitable for students; single travellers on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio, 37, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alma Domus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.