We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, but without good breakfast and view from the room((” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alma Domus to your Saves list
Hotel Alma Domus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Camporegio, 37, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, but without good breakfast and view from the room((”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Alma Domus for only one night during our Italian trip. This hotel was very convenient cause it’s situated in the center of Siena (5 minutes from Piazza del Campo) and not far from the bus stop Piazza Gramsci (about 7 minutes by foot). I should say that location is the main advantage of Alma Domus! Every time when we went out from the hotel we felt like in fairy tale. Alma Domus is a part of a monastery, next to the hotel there is a big cathedral and fantastic viewpoint. Another important thing is a 24-hour reception, which allowed us to walk around the city also in the night. Our room was clean, a little bit ascetic (it was a the monastery!), but the windows were situated under the ceiling! That was the greatest disappointment at Alma Domus. I know in the hotel there are rooms with fantastic view of the medieval city, but we got a room almost without any view. Nobody from the reception didn’t tell me anything about different types of rooms when I made reservation. Another disadvantage was poor breakfast (too poor for such a hotel): only cakes and yogurt, without ham or cheese. And also I should say that Alma Domus isn't for aged or weak people: almost everywhere there are stairs even on the street and nobody will help you with heavy luggage( But anyway I liked this place and forever love Siena!

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with normal window and view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    204
    65
    14
    11
See reviews for
82
217
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very pleasant and simple hotel perfectly located near the Centro Storico of Siena. No luxury but clean and pleasant. Breakfast was ok. Be prepared to wake up at 7 am by church bells. During our visit there were no noisy people in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in Hotel Alma Domus, first two nights in a room with a double bed and the last night with twin beds. We found the hotel is sufficient, nothing over the top, clean, small and comfortable. The breakfast was not inspiring but we ended up feed, good cappuccino however.

Amazing views from rooms on top floors make the stay worthwhile. WiFi is not free and the hotel provides a computer for those without their own devices to get on line, again a fee for on-line access.

Not much but does the job, OK stay at Alma Domus.

Room Tip: Get a view room or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night, it was a Friday, so busy with students. The hotel was noisy and basic, there were loud fights in the night and morning, and we could hear snoring from other rooms like it was in the hallway outside the door. Hotel needs carpeting; hallway noises echoed very loudly; otherwise, I would recommend it as a hostel, and not really suitable for family visits (on weekends anyways)

Room Tip: suitable for students; single travellers on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPCapeCod
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was very reasonably priced, but our double room did not have a view. I was not aware that I should request this when booking. The room was spacious, it had a double and twin bed. Bed was very firm. The bathroom was pretty small. The room definitely felt like a convent room, more clean and utilitarian than warm and cozy. We noticed several backpackers staying here. Pros: Very reasonable, clean, convenient walk to all sections of Siena. Cons: May not have view, hairdryer available at front desk only, breakfast only ok, you have to handle all luggage up and down some stairs and area is pedestrian only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights. Our room had a great view of the Duomo which is within walking distance. We could also see St. Catherine's courtyard - which is worth a visit. The staff was helpful. The accommodations were clean. Breakfast is OK. Several small restaurants are yards away. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great position - 5 mins walk to central square and Duomo, 5 mins walk from main bus station (buses to Florence etc)
Great view of Duomo and panorama of sepia buildings
Don't get the 10% of rooms that don't have the view! Otherwise this would be quite an unexciting hotel
Small Balcony - morning sun not evening
High enough to be quiet, but can hear church bells and parties at weekends
Not mega clean but OK (typical Italian hotel)
Two quite narrow single beds - not impressed by the beds
Hot water and electricity unlimited, charging of iphones etc all fine
Have to pay one euro per hour for wifi but there was a cafe we used where it was free
Staff on desk didn't smile, they seemed bored verging on unfriendly, but were efficient
Breakfast - unlimited buffet but unexciting, eg croissants, nutella, yoghurts, but no cheese or ham
Cheap - 80 euros a night for two people in a room

Room Tip: ideally rooms on the top floor, and with a view. We had room 10 and it was probably the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio, 37, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alma Domus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.