We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Due Archi

Due Archi
Pian dei Mantellini, 48, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577.42277
Improve this listing
Ranked #366 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Siena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“To be avoided...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Terrible experience at this restaurant. Yes, Siena was very busy as it was right after the August Palio race, but the restaurant itself was very quiet when we arrived. We were refused a place outside though, with no reason really given. Service was very unsmiling and poor, we ordered a litre of house wine (usually brought to the table in a carafe or jug) and the waiter brought us a bottle of quite expensive labelled wine off the menu. Luckily we caught the mistake before he opened it! No glasses were brought for a 1L bottle of water to be shared between 3.
This would have been ok if the food hadn't have been inexcusable. One of us ordered pasta (a prima piatta) and two ordered secondi piatti. The pasta was brought first and the waiter waited for that to be completely eaten before the meals of the other two came out. This is the first time we've ever encountered this in a 2week+ stay in Siena and it was pretty unpleasant to be made to eat in order. The pasta was a sausage and mushroom penne and was alright, but a lot of inedible gristle.
The other two girls has chicken which was totally inedible as it was raw in the centre. Not underdone or pink, but actually slimy and totally untouched by heat at all.
After all this, we were charged compulsory coperto (cover charge) and a service charge was added straight on the bill. Coperto is normal and we were happy(ish) to pay. Service was terrible but we had no option to leave it off.
We don't believe any of our problems with this place were due to a language barrier as we all speak passable italian!
Conclusion: manners terrible, food inedible, atmosphere very peculiar. We would never go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    26
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this place if you look for Italian friendliness and nicely presented food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to this pizzeria to get some nice pizza. The bad experience started with the unfriedly owner who is obviously annoyed by tourists or had a really bad day. After a cold greeting, he wanted to put us in a place with hardly any shade (it was 35 degrees celcius and have a two year old kid). When i wanted to take a shady free spot, he just said "no" with no explanation. Anyway, we wanted pizza, so we stayed and sat inside. The menu consists largely of pizzas which makes totally sense. So, when ordering pizzas, he said in a very non charming tone "no pizzas for lunch". Thats a joke, right? Anyway, we ordered some salads and risotto. Risotto was ok, the salads small and badly presented (I had caprese with just very unequalls cut mozzarella, tiny portion although i ordered a big one, and just looked thrown on the plate). The waiter that brought the food was very nice, nothing to complain. We just have our prejudice confirmed: avoid eating in main roads of touristy cities.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrific Trattoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We went to the Due Archi last night. We sat outside because it was a very pleasant temperature but the inside looked quite charming. My wife and I both had pastas that were delicious. I had a veal scallopini in wine sauce that was probably the most tender and moist veal I have ever enjoyed. Service was excellent - all well timed and we left feeling completely sated and not stuffed. The red house wine was perfectly good and a steal at 6 euros. The entire meal for 2 was 55 euros and was probably the best meal we have had in the past week and a half split between Florence and Siena.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pasta Vongele”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice little restaurant in Chiocciola nabourhood. Good food reasonable priced. Can recommend Pasta Vongele. And strawberry pizza as dessert... nice..

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“They served us frozen meat!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We should have heeded the Italian TripAdvisor reviews about this restaurant, which were very mixed. In fact, although my pizza was good - quite good, really - my husband's first and second courses were horrible.

His first course was served with meat sauce ("ragu") which was a runny tomato base with 3 lumps of meat fat in it. Terrible! He ate the pasta and pushed aside the meat, hoping for a good second course.

Unfortunately, his second course was even worse. He'd ordered the boar's meat and it WAS STILL FROZEN when he got it. They hadn't even cooked it long enough to thaw it.

They made no objections when we refused to pay the 2nd course, but we'll never go back to this restuarant. And we advise you to avoid it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Due Archi also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Due Archi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Due Archi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.