We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Podere La Strega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Podere La Strega to your Saves list
Podere La Strega
Strada dell'Ascarello 6, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a short stay at Podere La Strega in late August and loved it! Not only were Letizia and Luca were very welcoming and helpful, but the views were amazing and the accommodations excellent.

We drove to Siena and had little trouble finding Podere La Strega. It is a bit far out of the main area of Siena (I would recommend having a car, it would be a LONG walk) but the views and tranquility make up for it!

Our room was beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and everything was high quality and clean with really nice finishing touches! The room is equipped with a tv and free wi-fi as well. There is a living room, dining room, and nice kitchen for the guest's use, all with great views overlooking Siena. Our room did not have a view over Siena, but with the amazing pool and so many other things to do in SIena we didn't care!

Breakfast was served in a beautiful outdoor dining area, overlooking the house, the pool, and of course Siena. Everything was fresh and delicious!

Letizia gave us a map of Siena and good directions, thankfully, because our Garmin broke and we were stuck with good old fashioned maps to navigate everywhere!

If you are looking for a nice peaceful place to kick back and relax with beautiful views and excellent accommodations, I would definitely recommend Podere La Strega!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    18
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Great place to stay to see Tuscany. We stayed 5 nights in late October and did day trips to towns around Siena. Letizia was very helpful with directions into Siena and restaurants nearby. The best capuccino I had in Italy!! Breakfast was very good. We even had one of her dinners with several other guests. The dinner was very, very delicious. It is a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of sight-seeing and relax. Has a beautiful view of the city of Siena. Would very much recommend to travelers touring Tuscany. I would recommend having a car as things are not extremely close. However, the beauty of the area makes up for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Tucked away in the hills of Siena, this one year old B&B really is a fantastic find. It is rustic Tuscan down to the bone, if this is what you are after you certainly won't be disappointed! Equipped with a large pool over-looking the beautiful city of Siena, after a long, hot day walking within the old city walls this is the perfect place to welcome you to cool down as the sun sets. So lovely.

We initially stayed in the room on the ground floor opposite the entrance which was a little
noisy but then we were able to move upstairs to a quieter room which made all the difference. The rooms are not overly large but big enough. You will spend most of your time outside
anyway admiring the view!

Luca (who I think was the manager) was fabulous, extremely hospitable and always greeted
us with a smile, ready to provide us with advice on what to do next. Letizia who is the owner
was very sweet (minimal english, but we still understood each other) and organised an
amazing Tuscan dinner one night where we dined outside with others who were staying at the
B&B - it has to have been on of my favorite memories on my stay here. The meal was
absolutely delicious and I often wish I could step back in time and eat it again!

We asked Letizia why she named this place after a witch (la Strega) and she explained that it was believed that a witch lived there 800 years ago. If you have a chance, check out the villa next door. It has been owned by her family since the 1600's. Amazing.

Will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Try to book an upstairs room if you can as it is a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Podere La Strega for one night in October of 2011, and overall our experience was very good. In our 12 day tour of Tuscany, we were mainly staying in hotels in city/town centers, so wanted to try something different in Siena. The B&B itself was lovely, and very much what we expected. The property is large and beautiful, and has a stunning view of the Siena skyline from the back. If you're visiting in the summer, you will certainly enjoy the two infinity pools, as well as the outdoor picnic area, where breakfast is served in the summer.

Our room was large, clean, and well-decorated, and the bathroom was a good size as well. We were somewhat disappointed to not be placed in one of the two rooms with a view--I had booked via Expedia (it was the fastest way to book a room directly, without a series of trans-Atlantic emails) and paid for the higher of the two room levels as well as specifically requesting a view, so had thought that we would have a room "con vista", but as it turns out, there are actually three levels. They may not ever offer those rooms on Expedia--definitely book directly with the hotel if that's important to you.

We were in the green room, and as another traveler has noted, there is a large crucifix over the bed. Didn't really bother us, but good to know it's there if it might bother you. Best I can tell, our room was the only one that had this.

As others have pointed out, GPS is spotty in the Siena area, especially in the area of the hotel. We also had awful problems getting from the hotel TO Siena--lots of traffic circles that can be very confusing. We also were not able to get the wifi to work at the hotel, which made things a little more difficult as well.

We very much enjoyed the full honor bar and stocked fridge--it was great to be able to grab a water or a drink at any point of the day or night, and breakfast was fantastic. There was a cake that we will not soon forget--we could smell it when we got home the night before and dreamed about it before we had even had a taste! The owners were friendly, helpful, kind, and even suggested a great restaurant for dinner.

Overall, we had a very good experience at Podere La Strega. I would suggest staying for at least a couple of days if you can--this is really a perfect place to relax and take some time to enjoy country living--with easy access to the city (once you figure out those traffic circles)!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This lovely looking home is located in the end of a narrow road in what seems to be the middle of nowhere. Our GPS didn't even recognize the area. It was very difficult to find the place at first, and there aren't any prominent signs. You just have to reach the end of the road and it's the last house before the sign that says "careful, blind alley ahead".
We parked our car in the open parking space right in front of the house.
We were greeted by the owner, who is very nice, but knows very little English. The rest of her family, however, knows English perfectly (I think they are British..?) and are very kind, helpful and sweet.
The rooms are located on the second floor, no elevator. We had to do a lot of lifting, since we were in Italy for quite some time and had four suitcases (two big, tow small).
The place is perfectly decorated. It's exactly what you would imagine B&Bs should like in Tuscany or Provence. Classic country design, warm colors, authentic furniture.
We got the 4'rth room. The first thing you see is a huge crucifix hanging over the bed. Awkward if you are not Christian, but – we figured it's a part of the design.
The room is very beautiful. Again, it's apparent that a lot of love and money were invested in the design.
However, design is also meant to serve the people using the rooms – and I felt this part wasn't well thought out.
First of all, there is a lot of furniture, but no room for luggage. Even if you hang all your clothes, there still isn't any room to put the actual bags. There is no room to put your shower bag next to the sink either. Even adding a few simple hangers would have solved some problems.
The shower had a drape. I understand bathtubs with drapes but showers with drapes? That just doesn't go well together. When you put the drape inside the shower, it clogs it, when you put the drape outside the shower – you flood the whole room.
We also had a problem with the air-conditioning. It's right above the bed so, inevitably, it blows directly on you when you sleep. Even when we put it on ventilation mode it was too cold. You couldn't open a window either, because there are a lot[!] of mosquitoes and no nets.
The view from the house is fabulous, but the only window in our room faced a brick wall, which was a little disappointing. The room was also constantly dark.
The room was very clean, but I would have preferred to have the towels changed at least once during our three day stay.
There is free Wi-Fi but the connection if very poor in the rooms, so you have to seat in the lobby.
Breakfast it really lovely. During the warm seasons it takes place outside, and everyone eats around a large dining table in the yard. Great way to meet fellow travelers from all over the world.
There is an infinity pool in the yard, which faces the amazing view to the town of Siena.
Bottom line – This was the most beautiful and expensive place we stayed in during our trip to Italy, but not at all the most comfortable. It could be perfect, just needs more attentions to details.
Note: Take into consideration that there are no restaurants nearby – you have to drive for at least 20 minutes to get to the closest place and most restaurants close early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Some rooms face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

After a six hour drive from the Amalfi coast, arrived to a note on the gate with a telephone number to call. That number wouldn't connect so we called Booking.Com to get them to check it out. They - initially - couldn't help but eventually two hours later the owner was located. We were shown an upstairs room that had no electricity. We were moved to another room that had no hot water. This was a bit hard to take after a long and delayed drive. Hoping for a peaceful relax, it didn't happen. The swimming pool was very nice - especially the view to the old Siena - but breakfast was too simple and was not buffet and certainly was not typical Italian fare. The hostess was helpful with restaurants and sightseeing ideas and this was appreciated. The accommodation is neat and with good communal areas, though the bedrooms and ensuites are small. Despite some problems with the electricity and hot water and my wife being covered in mosquito bites, there was no offer of a refund or discount for any inconvenience. While the concept and the location of this establishment is appealing, it needs a lot of fine tuning - given the cost - in areas such as facilities that work. It is a suitable base but overall doesn't rate well because it is expensive in comparison with other B&Bs we have stayed in and the services provided are basic. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I had a great experience. The accommodation is well maintained, and clean. We stayed in the Rosa room, which overlooks the swimming pool, with a great view of the Siena city centre. Originally a house more than 500 years, owned by the family, was renovated to provide the accomodation service.

The host, Letizia, was very friendly and helpful even though we do not speak Italiano, and she speaks little Inglese. She even serves breakfast w/ a personal touch.
Nice place to base yourself for a few days if you plan to visit Siena city and surrounding vineyards. The Duomo area is only 5min drive to a public carpark, thereafter a 15min walk to the Duomo.

*You must drive to enjoy the place.

*Regret: Stayed only 1 night due to pre-planned schedule.

Room Tip: Great View with room Rosa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere La Strega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere La Strega

Address: Strada dell'Ascarello 6, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere la Strega is a beautifully restored farmhouse ideally positioned on top of a hill overlooking the historic city of Siena. Our guests are able to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Tuscan countryside whilst being located only 3 kms away from the centre of Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Podere La Strega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere La Strega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.