We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duomo to your Saves list
Hotel Duomo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stalloreggi 38, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our trip to Siena. We had never been and were a bit disappointed that we didn't have more time to spend there. Hotel Duomo was a great experience as well. There were two guys in particular that really helped us out a lot and made our stay a very nice one. Alessandro was always smiling and extremely helpful. He gave us the names and locations of great restaurants and helped us with our excursion as well. There was one other person that I'm sorry to say we did not get the name of but Alessandro mentioned that it may have been Tony? Either way, the staff at Hotel Duomo are flat out wonderful and make your stay in Siena a great one.

Our room was very nice and had a great view of the Duomo. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very unique itself. On the way to our room was a mini sunroom that had a beautiful view of Siena and was a nice picture opportunity. There was a nice breakfast nook in the basement of the building that was very warm and inviting. The breakfast itself was very good as well. We had cold cuts and cheeses every morning, with pastries and coffee / cappuccino. Bottom line, when we go back to Siena, we will stay at Hotel Duomo again. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Trent B
first of all big thanks for taking your valuable time to review our hotel, your comment rewards our commitment to deliver on a hopefully excellent service to our guests.
We are very happy to know that your first time in Siena was a great experience, the next time we recommend a longer stay with the goal to enjoy the immense artistic heritage that Siena can offer. We hope to have you again in our hotel as guests and offer a genuine and good breakfast combined with the magnificent view and the silence that our rooms offer.
A loving hug from Alexander, Tony and the all staff.

Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    268
    76
    10
    4
See reviews for
131
240
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

hotel is well locates , rooms are average rated and in process of remodeling and redisigning
nut hotel duomo has an extra that we couldnt observe in the other italian cities we just visited : alessandro and sergio at the reception are very kind , and efficient and made our stayed more wonderful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your kind comments following your stay in Siena.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated both the hotel features and the staff services.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Hotel Duomo in the future.
With kind regards,

Alessandro, Sergio and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our stay in Hotel Duomo was wonderful. The rooms were clean and confortable, the view from the window was beautiful, the breakfast good and the staff were really nice and helpful, they offered us all kind of tips about Siena and one-day trips we could do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Amaral,
is always a great pleasure to receive reviews like yours, thank you for the time you have used to write on Tripadvisor. It’s very important to know if your expectations towards the Hotel Duomo have been answered, and in this case your words explains everything, still a huge thanks from Alessandro and all the staff.

Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This small traditional hotel is conveniently located near the Duomo. Our room had a terrific view of this old Cathedral and the surrounding hills. Room was clean and comfortable. Served a lovely breakfast. Staff is very friendly. Hotel is situated near traditional restaurants or if looking for pizza, near bye. Walking distance to the Piazza.

Room Tip: Old Siena has a lot of up and down narrow streets which you will enjoy exploring. We considered it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Lucyh26,

I would like to thank you for writing this wonderful review about the Hotel Duomo, we appreciate the definition that you used for our structure, "Traditional Hotel next to the Cathedral", in fact it is located in an ancient palace of 12th century in the historical center of the city, guests can relax and enjoy Siena reached within walking distance of the most important monuments like the Cathedral, the famous Piazza del Campo with its imposing Torre del Mangia, the Public Palace, the National Gallery where you can admire the immense Sienese treasure of the fourteenth century, the Opera Metropolitana Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Archaeological Museum, the Municipal Museum and much more. Thank you again for appreciating the cleanliness, the breakfast, the friendliness of our staff and I hope to recommend the various restaurants around us. I hope to see you soon in Siena.

Warm greetings from Alessandro and the all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My room was festooned with watercolors and poems from previous guests that had written to pay tribute to the view from fabled Room 51. It wasn't until I opened the windows that I realized how good they -- and I -- had it: you can wake up looking at the glittering Duomo façade from one window and the Torre del Mangia from the other, a view without match anywhere in the city (except perhaps from the tower itself). The staff was more than accommodating: they arranged meeting spaces for the class I was teaching, spoke English and Italian in the same breath, and were very flexible when our travel plans changed. Perfectly clean, spacious, professional, and a stone's throw from any site you'd want to see in Siena -- what more could you ask for? Oh, and the building is 800 years old. That might put the occasionally spotty internet -- my only gripe -- into some perspective. Don't stay anywhere else if you can help it. And ask for Room 51!

Room Tip: If a hotel is confident enough to put the watercolors that previous guests have made of their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for having devoted of your time to review our hotel.
We appreciate a lot your beautiful comments, and we are happy that from your room you have enjoyed some magnificent sight on the Cathedral and on the Torre del Mangia, as from you specified, our structure, finding itself close to the most fascinating monuments in the city, enjoys of a great artistic privilege. Besides it cheers us the fact that our personnel has been to the height of your expectations. We also hope to guest you again so that you can appreciate the wifi internet connection.
Warm regards

Alessandro and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

3 of us stayed for two nights in Hotel Duomo, we arrived late but were swiftly checked in. We struggled to find the hotel by car as google maps take you thru the town centre which you need to have a permit to drive in. However, when we got to the hotel, we were given directions so that we could drop the luggage off. Thought the €20 per night charge to securely park the car was a bit expensive. You either had to use the hotel parking or find free parking further away which wasn't secure as again, you require a permit to park in Siena.
The hotel is big and spread out and had seating areas like lounges you could use, although we never saw anyone use them. We had a triple room towards the back of the hotel. Our room was a bit dated and bathroom old and tired looking. Mould etc round the shower door and tiles. Our window looked out into what looked like someone's flat and roof tiles. However it was fine for what we needed after being out all day!
Breakfast was good, nice variety and choice and plenty of it. Coffee (of your choice) or tea made freshly for you and brought to the table.
Location of this hotel is excellent, a quick walk to the Duomo, Il Campo and other main attractions. The €8 all inclusive ticket that you can buy at the Duomo for all of the attractions is well worth it and the views from the top of the viewing platform are stunning. Siena isn't very big and is easy to get around to see everything.
There is a lovely little restaurant Due Archi located near the hotel is a must visit. Full of locals and great food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Customers AJ-BB,

I would like to thank you very much for your review of our hotel, knowing that our breakfast, the service, the property's location a few steps from the main monuments and the other attractions have been appreciated by you makes us happy. To all the customers who will join us by car, we inform that it is very simple, entering by the Porta San Marco, just follow the directions, arrived in front of the Hotel we will take care of your car passing on the license plate and parking it in the garage a few steps from the hotel. Alternatively you can choose the free public car park 500 meters away. I'm sorry to read that the classic room you selected was partially acceptable, if we had been advised we proceeded to assign a superior triple room with new bathroom and with a wonderful view on the Cathedral and the Torre del Mangia. I’m glad to inform you that soon are planned renovation of several rooms including the one in question. Thanks again and hope to see you soon at our Hotel.

Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel exceeded all my (very high) expectations. The architecture is fabulous, the staff attentive - but it is the serene atmosphere of this wonderful , wonderful hotel that made it so perfect for our weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
your fantastic review makes us happy, so we thank you so much, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our historic structure as well as the staff always attentive to the needs of the customer. Looking forward to having you again as guest at the Hotel Duomo, and wondering to offer another fantastic stay, greet you cordially.
Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Address: Via Stalloreggi 38, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.