We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should see this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 attractions in Siena
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Everyone should see this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We first visited Siena on a day trip while camping in Tuscany with our then young daughters 10 years ago. I'll never forget walking through the dark alleyway into the beautiful sunlit Piazza del Campo for very first time, the scene took my breath away, I found it very moving. During the visit that day we visited the Palio museum where I learned about the history of the race. My husband stated then that one day we would return and see the Palio. Sure enough some years later we were privileged enough to do that for my husband's 50th birthday. Our daughters accompanied us and we had four seats at the start and finish line. What an amazing experience, the pomp and pageantry was a real spectacle, I would not have missed it for the world. It is not a cheap thing to do but we felt it was money well spent as we enjoyed it so much. I highly recommend Siena if you are in Tuscany, we much prefer this city to Florence and Pisa which we found very touristy. Siena is a real living place with a heart.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,841
    403
    67
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great People Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Loved being here. Another place on my 'bucket list.' Just loved drinking cappuccino, eating pastries, and watching people. Can't imagine what it is like when they run the horses! I'll need to go back!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Great shop for ceramics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The square seemed to be lined with restaurants but our eyes went right for the Antica Siena ceramic shop. It was hard to choose between so many different beautiful pieces of ceramic. This is family owned and has been in business since 1979. The staff speak perfect English. There are pieces from under 10 euros to well over 100 euros. I would highly recommend walking into this shop. We didn't see another ceramic shop in Siena with their quality.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful piazza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is the obvious, can't miss, piazza in Siena. It is beautiful and the size and reddish Siena color make it unique. Even if you can't see it for the race, it's exciting to imagine the Palio happening here. Also, there are a few fantastic gelaterias in the piazza and nearby. The piazza is worth a repeat visit during your stay in Siena.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Cool square to chillax in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went here after going to the cathedral. Lots of people just sitting around hanging out , eating snacks, kids running around, birds running around. Great place to stop and have a seat take in everything around you.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Piazza del Campo to your Saves list