We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for sightseeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$34*
and up
Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 85 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place for sightseeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great plaza in the heart of town for shopping and sightseeing. Be sure to take advantage of the closeby restrooms, and to stop for a quick rest if needed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,104
    712
    104
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coconutsun
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful open-air hangout for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We love hanging out at Piazza del Campo in the summers with gigantic gelatos and flip flops, it is such a beautiful place where you can spend the entire afternoon just do people-watching. It is full of restaurants and obviously most people know Siena for the Palio horse race and that is taken place here. A good time to come is also in the evening around 5,6pm so you can do 'aperitivo' Italian-style - buy a drink and eat the snacks for free.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Definitely see this; it's a major attraction in Siena and a really neat place. Beautiful view, interesting people-watching, pretty fountain, and tons of great restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
656 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“You can just imagine the horses...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I wanted to come here since I saw a documentary to the annual Palio horse race. It is an amazing area and I was not disappointed. The concave central area makes it perfect for viewing the race (or so I have heard). I also enjoyed the Font Gaia 'Fountain of Joy' which is beautiful. I'd love to be there for the race one day, but in the meanwhile a visit to the Piazza was well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Heart of Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited during a cold and rainy time, so we had the Campo (and most of Siena) to ourselves. It looks like a medieval town should look. We didn't eat at the restaurants, but did have drinks and cafe at a couple during the time we were in town--friendly folks, who seemed happy that a couple of tourists were there in the winter. Would love to go back for a summer evening sometime.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.