We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for sightseeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$34*
and up
Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 59 Attractions in Siena
Type: Landmarks & points of interest, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Place for sightseeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great plaza in the heart of town for shopping and sightseeing. Be sure to take advantage of the closeby restrooms, and to stop for a quick rest if needed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,617
    590
    88
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coconutsun
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful open-air hangout for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We love hanging out at Piazza del Campo in the summers with gigantic gelatos and flip flops, it is such a beautiful place where you can spend the entire afternoon just do people-watching. It is full of restaurants and obviously most people know Siena for the Palio horse race and that is taken place here. A good time to come is also in the evening around 5,6pm so you can do 'aperitivo' Italian-style - buy a drink and eat the snacks for free.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Definitely see this; it's a major attraction in Siena and a really neat place. Beautiful view, interesting people-watching, pretty fountain, and tons of great restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
218 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“You can just imagine the horses...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I wanted to come here since I saw a documentary to the annual Palio horse race. It is an amazing area and I was not disappointed. The concave central area makes it perfect for viewing the race (or so I have heard). I also enjoyed the Font Gaia 'Fountain of Joy' which is beautiful. I'd love to be there for the race one day, but in the meanwhile a visit to the Piazza was well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Heart of Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited during a cold and rainy time, so we had the Campo (and most of Siena) to ourselves. It looks like a medieval town should look. We didn't eat at the restaurants, but did have drinks and cafe at a couple during the time we were in town--friendly folks, who seemed happy that a couple of tourists were there in the winter. Would love to go back for a summer evening sometime.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.