We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big square!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$37*
and up
Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 54 Attractions in Siena
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice big square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful! I loved the fountain, with the great tasting drinking water. Easy to imagine what it would have looked like hundreds of years ago. Great atmosphere. We were there about a week after the Palio, and e winning contrade was parading around the square squirting everyone with water guns. Apparently they had been doing that every night since their victory. Great fun!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,445
    544
    83
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Huge Piazza; Just Imagine the Palio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Seeing scenes from the Palio did not prepare us for the configuration of the piazza and its surroundings – the piazza is a large open space surrounded by an ancient, very high, brick wall and stone or brick buildings consisting of many businesses and residences. Like the spokes of a wheel, there are many “narrow lanes” that emanate from the Piazza del Campo that are about 20 yards long and rise steeply (maybe a 30° angle) for 15 to 20 feet (vertical distance) to the circular road/walkway that surrounds the piazza. The outside edge of the piazza is actually at an elevation that is about 15 to 20 feet lower than that of the road/walkway that surrounds most of it, and the center of the piazza is even lower than that. It’s basically a very shallow bowl. You cannot help but imagine being in the piazza when it is crammed with thousands of screaming spectators while the horses and riders race around them. When we were there, however, it was peaceful and uncrowded. There are many restaurants and cafés right on the piazza, so it’s easy to grab a lunch or get an espresso or a glass of wine.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
223 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Piazza del Campo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Siena with family in April on a day trip from Florence. We took a walking tour of Siena that finished at the Piazza del Campo. Although busy, as the piazza is so big you did not feel crowded. We had lunch in a street off of the piazza and also bought gelato from a shop on the piazza itself. Unfortunately there was not much time to visit inside any of Siena's attractions, other than the cathedral as part of the walking tour, so I was not able to visit inside sights on the piazza such as the Palazzo Pubblico, Museo Civico or Torre del Mangia. If I return to Italy I would like to visit Siena and the Piazza del Campo again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely restaurants, cafes & quaint little shops selling delicious local delicacies. A few great shoe shops too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I remember coming here as a kid for a school trip, and then coming back recently and being overcome by the beauty of the place! Spacious, with magnificent and elegant buildings around it... One of the most beautiful squares in the world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.