We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$34*
and up
Best Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking...
Ranked #2 of 78 things to do in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Chislehurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The fabulous atmosphere and sense of history . The extraordinary cross section of visitors from all over the world

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,611
    827
    119
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
417 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Piazza is nice but I have seen a lot better. There are lots of restaurants and street vendors. The buildings are the color of siena. didnt spend too much time here. Had lunch took some pictures, bought a few trinkets and left. One should check it out if you are in siena. I found more interesting things on my way to the Piazza so it is nice to walk around outside on the back streets.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, wv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would love to be there for the Palio.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

But I can imagine Siena would be so, so crowded. The end of September is a great time to sit (most unusual thing to do in most piazza's) with all the other people locals and tourist and just take in in.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,892 helpful votes
“Top tips for visiting Piazza del Campo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tip 1: There was really nothing much to do in the Piazza except taking a few pictures and having a cuppa at one of the cafes.

Tip 2: This is the filming location in James Bond film's Casino Royale. I am sure everyone came here to take pictures and leave within 30 minutes.

Tip 3: You have to pay to climb up the giotto. We didn't do it because we couldnt see a point of doing that.

Tip 4: I wouldnt visit this site again because there is nothing much around except people watching.
If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Action packed night and day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is the heart of the city and a great place to people watch either on the street or from one of the many outside restaurant tables.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.