We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to be there for the Palio.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$37*
and up
Skip the Line: Siena Duomo and City Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 54 Attractions in Siena
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Hedgesville, wv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would love to be there for the Palio.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

But I can imagine Siena would be so, so crowded. The end of September is a great time to sit (most unusual thing to do in most piazza's) with all the other people locals and tourist and just take in in.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,443
    544
    83
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
197 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
2,446 helpful votes 2,446 helpful votes
“Top tips for visiting Piazza del Campo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tip 1: There was really nothing much to do in the Piazza except taking a few pictures and having a cuppa at one of the cafes.

Tip 2: This is the filming location in James Bond film's Casino Royale. I am sure everyone came here to take pictures and leave within 30 minutes.

Tip 3: You have to pay to climb up the giotto. We didn't do it because we couldnt see a point of doing that.

Tip 4: I wouldnt visit this site again because there is nothing much around except people watching.
If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Action packed night and day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is the heart of the city and a great place to people watch either on the street or from one of the many outside restaurant tables.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Such a fun Piazza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ventured here twice during our one night visit to Siena. We came once during the day, and once at night for dinner. Yes, the restaurants in the Piazza are more expensive, but we figured why not. It was charming and I thought the shape of the Piazza was very unique. It was very clean, and everyone was content to sit on the ground and eat gelato or people-watch (we did both!). Definitely check out this Piazza during your trip to Siena.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Huge just huge!! Eat lunch at one of the many restaurants ringing the Campo. People watch. One of the largest piazzas - definitely the largest I have seen. You can just feel the centuries.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.