We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The top of the World: Piazza Del Campo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Campo

Piazza del Campo
Museo Civico, 53100 Siena, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 attractions in Siena
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Siena's main square is the site of the famous Palio horse races that take place in July and August.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The top of the World: Piazza Del Campo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited this place three times. First one in my first international trip, in 1987, second time with my wife in 1998, and third time in July 2012 with my family and friends. All three times I had the same impact when entered the Piazza and walked towards its center: my heartbeat got crazy, I got very close to crying, and finally, when sat down in the floor in the center of the Piazza, it was pure peace, like we are not in the middle of the crowd, but instead in the middle of a desert field. Impressive. And when the sun goes down behind the buildings, it is amazing and unforgettable.
Don't forget going upstairs to the top of the tower. It is messy, hard, but worthwhile.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,845
    403
    67
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piazza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The piazza was huge and it was a good time to visit as there weren't too many tourists. After a few hours touring the city, we were able to appreciate the piazza more while relaxing and sipping coffee at one of the many cafe's around the piazza. Nice place to just sit and relax while enjoying the view of the square and do some people watching.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“wow. cannot understan how beautiful it is till you are in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

a small pearl of italian architecture. seen several times on tv, pictures and cinema you cannot realize how beautiful it is till you walk down the streets and you enjoy the view of this beautiful square.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Peacefull square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited in winter and it was raining so the entire town was quiet with little people and tourist. The square was pretty much vacant so gave you the chance to look around without people getting in your way. Still few to many pigeons around though. I imagine the cafes and restaurants on the square would be expensive like most other European places. You can't miss seeing it if you are in town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Perfect place to rest and enjoy the wonderful Siena nights. I wouldn't recommend getting food at the Campo since it's mostly over priced and usually not very good or extremely busy. I would recommend eating outside the Campo and then coming back to enjoy a glass (or bottle) of wine and take in the sights.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Campo also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Piazza del Campo to your Saves list