We decided to go this charming little B&B after having read all the nice reviews on TA. The problem was just that our experience didn't really reflect the nice reviews we saw. The attached pictures can only testify.
First the positives: Nice location, nice people ...
But this does not make for inconveniences as we had much better quality for less at Florence and Pisa. Here are couple of points explaining our disappointment:
- First surprise we had to bring up our suitcases 68 steps, not mentioned on the web site.
- We were met by a non-trained teenager who had to prepare breakfast for us the first day. Her mother took over the next two days.
- Kitchen hygiene was intolerably low as the first night piles of dirty dishes waited next day to be cleaned. The fridge was dirty and food was lying unprotected and uncovered (some of which we were supposed to have for breakfast the next day!). The whole was piled up in a disorganized way.
- The room and the equipment were less than minimalist. Too bad that we had the old fashion noisy fan instead of air conditioning (we had pretty hot days, 35 degrees and more!)
- Not enough hot water: You start your shower with warm and you end up with cold water. The next person has to wait 30 to 45 minutes before to shower. Very frustrating!!
To be honest, we didn't really know how to take the difference in service and quality to what we read in TA. We were deeply disappointed and this is honestly the first time we get it "wrong" when relying on TA.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
December 28, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
we are sorry to hear that your stay has not reflected the expectations you had after reading the good feedback we have on Trip Advisor.
The low satisfaction level you are expressing, though, we think might be caused by the fact that somebody else booked it on your behalf (in fact we only ever had contact with this person). What you are expressing makes us think that you were probably not aware of the choice you had made, or simply that you were not aware of what Paradiso n.4 actually is.
What we really try to avoid is giving the wrong impression or passing for something we are not: in fact we do make a point of communicating our ‘’peculiarity’’. It was probably your dissatisfaction that pushed you to secretly explore (who knows when) some spaces that are not accessible to guests and take photos for Trip Advisor. Usually our guests enter these areas but they ask for our permission first.
Your behavior, especially the publishing of photos of the fridge has put our B&B in the wrong light. At the time our cleaner was off sick, but we did serve you clean, fresh, genuine food, according to our B&B philosophy. Your photos are showing an image of it which is very far from truth : we usually ensure order, simplicity and cleanness.
Apart from your remarks, and also considering that many guests have posted photos of the décor of our place, finding it very pleasing (the same are also visible on the TripAdvisor website) we believe your choice of our B&B was the consequence of a wrong evaluation of its characteristics, and the furnishing we provide in our rooms is all visible on our profile.
We are referring to the lack of air conditioning: we never mention this service in our site, and it is good practice for potential guests to ask (before booking a room anywhere) and ensure it is provided. In our case, we do believe a floor fan can be considered a nice gesture towards the guests. We also refer to the quoted lack of hot water in the bedrooms (limited to the ones we have recently restored): all the rooms have hot water with a boiler containing enough water to satisfy our guests.
Our staff acted to welcome you without considering your delay. But reading your review , we think it should mention that you arrived over 3 hours later than the arrival time you had provided. We did not get any calls from you, so, when we had to go out because of engagements connected to the B&B, we arranged for somebody to be there in case you arrived.
Your behavior on arrival would be ok for a hotel with a receptionist but not for a B&B with limited check-in times: you did not provide any explanation or apologized, and never said ‘’thanks’’ for waiting for you. The next morning the young girl only provided the hot water for your tea. I personally take care of choosing and preparing breakfast every morning.
Of course we consider your comments, including the one of minimalism, which is a real philosophy for us, and for our décor. We’ll try improving it, also to avoid giving an impression of coldness some might feel, and to satisfy every need for guests spending time away from home.
Your negative remarks might have stopped at a negative criticism without recurring to images though, since these actually appear to have gone over the accepted limit of good taste and also of one’s legitimate right to negative criticism.
We’ll attempt to improve our rooms further, listening to your criticisms too, since these are of course helping to understand the level of satisfaction, comfort and well-being of our guests. These are all very important for us, that is why we always make sure to ask the guests their feedback directly , even before seeing their comments on Trip Advisor. Even if we asked, we did not receive any impression from you: it seems you have kept them all for TripAdvisor, with the apparent effect of damaging us instead of giving an opinion.
For the moment, we would find it appropriate and legitimate to ask for your permission to delete some images from your feedback comment, particularly the ones about the areas closed to guests .
Siena B&B Paradiso n.4
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.