We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Wine School

Tuscan Wine School
Via Stalloreggi 26, 53034 Siena, Italy
(+39) 057 7221704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 Activities in Siena
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Become an Italian Wine Lover in less than 2 hrs! Join one of the daily wine tasting sessions with a professional sommelier and taste wines from all over Italy and Tuscany. Learn about the different denominations, grape varietals, how to taste, etc. The classes are fun and informative at the same time and will run with a minimum of 2 people! Challenge your wine knowledge be it little or lots.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I have zero knowledge of wine tasting and the Tuscan tasting session was perfect. Our really friendly teacher taught us about the history of wine in Italy, how to taste wine properly and what foods to drink it with. We were given really generous portions of 6 wines to try and the class was relaxed. Well worth a trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    42
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at the Tuscan Wine School in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good friends recently treated us to the Tuscan Wine School in Siena. We've previously attended a number of wine classes, but this class was one of the most informative (and generous!) courses we've ever taken. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we highly recommend it.

FYI - Jamie was our instructor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food tour in Siena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My sister and I joined a group lead by Joanna, for a learning tour about tastes of Tuscany. Joanna has a delightful personality, as well as expertise. We visited several shops that we never would have found ourselves, tried some things we might not have tried and learned a great deal. My only suggestion for improvement would be allowing more time at the end of the tour. We felt a bit "pushed out the door". All in all, a great addition to our experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winetraveller032, Owner at Tuscan Wine School, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for your positive opinion about our food walk. We’re sorry you felt rushed at the end, but as you could probably imagine it can’t linger on for longer than the 2 hrs as we have other classes to prepare for after the Savor Siena finishes at 1 pm. I’m glad you got all you paid for. One shouldn’t necessarily expect extra...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Learned a ton and had fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband loves wine and loves to learn so on a whim we booked this class while in siena. In 2 hours we felts we really got a handle on the wines and the rules and the region. Jamie is an American living in siena. She was fabulous!!!!! We tasted 6 wines and all were good quality. We paired a bit as well and it is definitely true that wine with the right food surely makes a difference. We laughed and enjoyed the others in the class's. You are given a great map and placemat with notes for the future and we even got an email with more information a few days after. It was a great class if you want to learn more. Siena is a fabulous town in this region so a day here was truly a gem. Jamie also took a few minutes at the end and gave us several key tips on olive oil. This was an added and unexpected treat. Jamie we loved your class!!!!! Thanks so much. Your front row students from Denver -- Sharyn and Craig!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great way to learn about some of the wines of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We actually did one tour and one class both with Joanna. She was fantastic and very knowledgeable about the topics. The Siena city tour was a great way to learn about some of the culinary customs of the region and it was great meeting some of the local shop keepers. The wine class provided us with some much sought after information on Italian wines. We would highly recommend both of these as we were able to do them both in one day while still having time on our own. Thank you again Tuscan Wine School and Joanna!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Wine School also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tuscan Wine School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Wine School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.