We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Gabellieri

I Gabellieri
Via Vittorio Emanuele, 75, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 44683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not only pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate there twice. The first time we had pizzas, which were delicious, specially the bufalina.

But the second time we ordered antipasti and pasta, and wow! The pici were spectacular, and the mixed antipasto was the best I had in the whole 3 weeks of this trip to Italy. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    88
    34
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Spezia, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Locals are favored again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A restaurant which appears to have delicious crispy pizzas however if you are not a local, no welcoming smile for you. Also you are offered an inside table where there is no air conditioning. Locals walking in are offered a table outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

In principal i have to say the quality of food is not bad at all. Pizza one of the best in town indeed, pasta decent and lovely outside sitting.
If i have to find something to say not really positive is that service is not top and friendly. Clients are important and often dont forget the service even and when the food is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had to wait, but definitely worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Delicious. I had the pizza with buffalo mozzarella, and it was delicious. We ended up here, because it was so busy. Wherever has a wait, that means it is good, right? :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Better than average pizza, good selection, service, and prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Out of the five pizzas I've had in Tuscany this week, and the hundreds, if not thousands over the years, the pizza at Gabellieri is good but not great. Probably the only better pizza my wife and I found in our limited sampling in Siena was at il Pomodorino.

The thing about Gabellieri that helped even it out with Pomodorino for me was the service (even though others mentioned lack of quality service, our service was spot on) and the prices. The selection of Pizzas comprises more than half of the total menu (that also includes lots of pastas and other standard regional items) and runs the full spectrum of topping combinations.

On the drink end of things, it's not really a wine oriented place, really more of a place you're gonna probably opt for a beer with your food instead. I noticed housewine on the menu, but it wasn't clear to me that they had much else in the way of wine. So beer it was.

I would eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Gabellieri also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to I Gabellieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Gabellieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.