We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Save Saved
You added Aia Mattonata Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aia Mattonata Relais
Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Siena
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything so perfect, personal care from owners, nice pool with amazing view to Siena, designed rooms, free minibar, tasty breakfest with endless options. The details decided - it´s difficult describe how perfectly the Elisabetta and Mario think and seek for your satisfaction.Everything is solved befor you would even get idea to ask for it :-)
Forget the rudy staff in 5stars hotels, this is the best option how to calm down and enjoy the holiday.
Grazzie and ciao

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
299
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for only one night cause originally Siena was not one of the destinations on our list. But It was highly recommended by the travelers we met in Rome, so we decided to check it out. Now we regret that we couldn't stay longer. LOL I found Aia on Tripadvisor and contacted the owner the day before our arrival. The owners were so friendly and informative. Mario and Elizabetta are a beautiful couple and wonderful hosts. Their life stories are inspirational. This B&B is trendy and romantic. The location of Aia was like 15 mins driving from downtown and in the middle of the Tuscany valleys. So imagine yourself being a part of Tuscany, drinking wine under the sun and relaxing in the well-maintained garden with grape vines and flowers. We loved our stay and wish to come back again. Maybe next time we get to enjoy the hot tub and the gym. :) --Amber and Criss from Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely wonderful B&B in Tuscany, outside of Siena, wonderful views, amazing room and villa! All of the excellent reviews are 100% true! Mario and Elisibetta are amazing hosts and immediately make you feel like family. We were only able to stay for one night, but we tried to add a second night to our stay, unfortunately for us they were 100% booked up. Mario gave us an excellent recommendation for a restaurant in a nearby village which was also amazing! One of our best nights in spending over two weeks in Italy!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear nate p,
thank you for your review which means a lot to us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you so much for the beautiful words. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit in Siena, for a longer stay!
Warm regards
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a brilliant three night stay at Aia Mattonata. We had the pleasure of being able to stay in two different rooms and were just sad that it went so quickly! Elizabetta welcomed us in the car park and made us feel instantly at home and that was the theme of our stay.

Breakfasts were delicious; lovely selections of meats, cheeses, fruit and homemade cakes. We enjoyed these whilst taking in amazing views of Siena. We balanced our stay with time in Siena and time relaxing at Aia Mattonata and would definitely recommend doing the same.

Little extras like snacks in the kitchen (homemade cakes!), drinks in the fridge, basil from the garden for our caprese (thanks Stephano!) and even a lift into Siena one evening form Mario made our stay a highlight of the holiday and will mean that we definitely return....!!

Thanks Mario and Elizabetta!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Victoria S,
thank you so much for your positive review and for your kind words.
We are delighted that we have been able to let you feel like at home. It is very important for us.
So nice to hear that you enjoyed the two rooms, our breakfast, the view of Siena from the garden and that you will return, thank you again.
We will be very glad to welcome you once more at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying in this magnificent establishment for four blissful nights. We choose it simply because of all the stunning reviews on TripAdvisor - and they were 100% spot on. We had just spent 2 nights right in the heart of Siena (which we loved too) but to come out to this paradise was more than we could have hoped for. As a guest, you are left wanting for nothing! Every aspect of our stay was incredible. Mario and Elisabetta have thought of everything a guest could possibly want or need and has catered for that. Our favourite part of the day was lying around the pool with book in hand, gazing out to the unbelievable view of Siena in the distance. In the evening that would change to wine in hand! Mario would drop us into town for dinner and even one night ordered in us pizza when ourselves and another couple couldn't be bothered going into town. The pizza driver also delivered wine! After seeing our photos on Facebook, all our friends have been asking where was that amazing place that you stayed at? Do yourself a favour and book it. You will not be disappointed! Thank you Mario and Elisabetta for a truly amazing experience! We plan to visit again one day!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Bianca S,
thank you for your positive review on the site, so nice to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and that you recommend Aia Mattonata. Thank you for posting your pictures on Facebook, we will be very glad to welcome all your friends!!
Of course we hope we will have the pleasure of meeting you again in Siena in a future visit.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 3 night stay in this relais after reading so many positive reviews on TA. We were not disapointed! The place is spotless, our hosts Mario and Elizabetta are attentive,helpfull and made sure that everymorning as we were getting ready to explore the surroundings, we were equiped with maps, suggestion of restaurants, point of interests (beautiful little towns that we would have never thought of visiting). The breakfast buffet is excellent, home made bread, scrambled eggs made on request, fruits, cereals and the best expresso!

We had a lovely time in beautiful Sienna. Thank you Elizabetta and Mario, you made a difference!

Paul and Chantal

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Paul and Chantal,
thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were not disappointed and that you liked our breakfast. Nice to hear that our advices were useful and that we made the difference. Thank you again!
We hope we will meet you again in Siena.
Warmest regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All the rave reviews about this place are spot on - this is a beautifully done up villa ( a lot of love and meticulous thought has gone into this place) about 3 miles from the old town of Sienna. Being driven up to it in a taxi we saw the place and said, this has got to be the place!
One of our hosts, Mario, met us at the gate and escorted us to his reception office. Whilst going through the check-in, his assistant ( Stephan/Stefano?) struggled to take our suitcases up the stairs to our room ( deserves the valour award for managing the weight we had in them!).
The property itself only has a half dozen rooms, we had the upstairs suite which was huge and the views looking over the Tuscany hills with the old town in the distance are spectacular.We had a bedroom (very comfortable bed), and also a work desk and TV. A separate room was a large lounge ( you could use as 2nd bedroom) although this room had all the cupboard and drawer space for our clothes, as well we had lounge chairs, work desk and another TV. Also here was a bar fridge and coffee/tea making facilities and a safe for valuables.
The separate bathroom included wash basin, shower, toilet, bidet,towel racks, etc, and allthe necessary toiletries.
The work that has gone into the rooms is amazing - the Tuscan colours, hand painted cornices pictures on the walls, etc.
Downstairs is an old style kitchen where you can help yourself to drinks, snacks, etc, and then for breakfast it alternates between outside or around the corner in a covered alcove if the weather turns nasty. In the morning is when we caught up with Mario's partner and fellow host, Elisabetta, and also their loveable playful dog, Runa.
Both Mario and Elisabetta went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay ( we certainly did as it was the highlight of our lengthy travels),Mario was ever available to drive us into Sienna, we felt like we were imposing but he assured us it was part of what they offered, and Elisabetta, when my wife was unwell, arranged for a doctor they knew to come out to the villa to attend her, and we had some lovely chats with in the end my wife and Elisabetta declaring they were 'twins'' (a long story).
As I said this stay was our highlight due to the villa, the surroundings, the extras available ( did I mention a small gym as well even), and not least of which were our hosts, and this also includes Elisabetta's son, Victorio, - we had several discussions with him and have not met a more mature level headed lad at his age, and of course another brilliant lifetime moment was going to the Pallio Horse Race ( Mario organized a package that included seats in the grandstand and a meal afterwards - fantastic!).
We certainly hope to return in the future and hope to keep in contact - maybe we can get 'mates rates''!?

Room Tip: A rental car would help you see more of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Leigh C,
thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for your detailed account of your stay at Aia Mattonata.
All the information about your room and about our services are very important for the site’s users.
Our aim is always to exceed expectations of our guests and we are so happy when we hear that you were not disappointed.
It was our great pleasure to spend time together chatting and enjoying the garden.
We do hope you will return and of course you will get mates-rates!!!
Warmest regards,
Elisabetta & Mario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aia Mattonata Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.