We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Tuscan Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aia Mattonata Relais to your Saves list
Aia Mattonata Relais
Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Siena
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Tuscan Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this exquisite gem for our 3rd anniversary in October. It was the highlight of our two week Italy trip. Elisabetta & Mario were such gracious hosts (and Runa too!). Everything was perfect from the homemade breakfast to their fantastic dinner recommendations. The inn, guest room and amenities were lovely and made the stay quite comfortable. We enjoyed taking the bikes out on a tour of the rolling vineyards in the surrounding area and sipping on complimentary limoncello upon our return at night. Our favorite moments were sitting on the patio drinking wine with fellow guests and Elisabetta & Mario. It is definitely worth staying a few minutes outside of the city to enjoy the amazing view and to stay with such warm and inviting hosts. We highly recommend Aia Mattonata and can't wait to return during our next trip!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Anna M,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata and for you kind words. We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, enjoyed the view from the patio and that you followed our advices!! We take great pride in our little gem and we are thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us again when you visit Italy and Siena in the future!
Warm regards and best wishes.
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
341
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Aia Mattonata relais, a small inn nestled in the Tuscan hills about a ten minute drive from Siena is a fabulous place to stay. The view of the surrounding area is breathtakingly beautiful. My husband and I sat on the patio sipping wine while watching the sun go down over rolling vineyards and Siena in the distance and thought we were in Heaven. The delicious breakfasts were served with fresh fruit and homemade breads and cakes on the porch. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large. We would highly recommend this as a "must stay" in Tuscany even without our marvelous hosts. Elisabetta and Mario made our visit even better, though. We felt as though we were staying with family or close friends. They helped us plan driving trips around the area and and had great recommendations for us on our journey back to Rome. The restaurants they suggested were some of the best we have experienced. Thank you, Mario and Elisabetta! We hope to see you in Abu Dhabi or New Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Susan J
Thank you so much for your beautiful review on the site.
We are so glad to read your wonderful words about Aia Mattonata and that you will recommend our little gem as a must in Tuscany, thank you so much.
It was our great pleasure to meet you and to look after you with some simple advices.
We do hope to welcoming you once more in Siena in the future.
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Visiting Aia Mattonata Relais was a joy. The inn is beautiful and Elisabetta and Mario are extraordinary hosts.
The breakfast area was a lovely glassed in porch with a beautiful view of ancient Siena. Breakfast was marvelous with fresh fruit and veggies, wonderful cheeses, cakes and breads—and the best coffee ever! I traveled throughout Italy and this was by far the best breakfast and the most charming environment I encountered.
Elisabetta and Mario made my visit to Siena perfect. I arrived by train, and there was Mario waiting on the platform. I needed a sim card for my phone and Elisabetta drove me into Siena (I had no car) and spent an hour helping me. Another day, she took me to Siena on her motorcycle and helped me purchase artwork. Spending time with Elisabetta was a pleasure: laughter and talk, and grace. I felt that I was with a friend.
I love Siena and have beautiful memories of Aia Mattonata.
Elisabetta and Mario: Grazie mille! I will return (with a car).

Sonia B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Sonia B,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your stay. We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found our breakfast marvelous and our coffee the best! It was our great pleasure to look after you and we are thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us again, never mind if you are without a car, we are here and we will be glad to help you in any moment.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Aia Mattonata Relais is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, among the finest properties that I have ever experienced. This charming inn sits on a perfectly manicured landscape that frames a powerful view of Siena in the short distance. The view is punctuated by rolling Tuscan vineyards and rows of ancient olive trees.

The Inn itself is impeccably managed by Mario and Elisabetta Olivo, the owners and keepers of the Aia Mattonata Relais. Their gracious hospitality is genuine and heart-felt. The rooms are light and airy and comfortably arranged and appointed. My wife and I had the opportunity to experience the 2-room suite which was absolutely exquisite, offering the aforementioned imposing view of ancient Siena.

The staff is courteous and efficient. You may use English but I am glad to note that they are most receptive to those of us who want to use whatever Italian we might have. Upon request, a sumptuous breakfast, which is included in the cost, will be delivered to your room. The breakfast offerings range from wonderful pastries to fresh fruit to coddled eggs to breakfast meats. Of course, the Italian bread is incredible! Abbondanza!

I most heartily recommend this property to you . John De Mado

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear John and Jane,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found the staff courteous and efficient and enjoyed our decorated room and our breakfast. Thank you for recommending our little gem!
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in Siena.
Warm regards and best wishes,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in September with my daughter. Mario and Elizabetta could not have been better hosts. Felt like we were staying with friends. Other guests were great and we made some lasting connections. We had a special request over some boots my daughter wanted and Elizabeth went above and belying and ended up buying some herself.

I recommend with no hesitation. Breakfast was great and they even kent us a gps to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sharon,
thank you so much for your wonderful comment about your stay with us and for recommending Aia Mattonata. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. We had arrived late at night, hungry, rather lost, driving a stick, and very unnerved. Luckily we fell into the hands of Mario and Elizabetta, who drove us to an excellent restaurant and then asked the owner to drive us home! They gave us GREAT directions to get into town the next day - after offering to drive us there. But first, it was a wonderful, comfortable night's sleep in a beautiful room in their home/restored farm house. We woke to the most delicious home made breakfast ever! And then saw how helpful they continued to be to more guests - whose small dog had fallen out of bed and needed a vet. Mario and Elizabetta were on it! I can't say enough about our new found family and their warm and outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Jay G,
thank you for sharing your very positive comment on the site and thanks for your kind words about us. So nice to hear that our help and our advices have been so important to make your stay enjoyable and that you found the room beautiful and that you loved our breakfast.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

First time to Tuscany. Could not have found a better location or advise for what to see, eat, drink, where to park, etc.. Mario and Elisabetta helped us get the most of our four day stay. The premises were perfect in all aspects from location and views to the welcome home feel of the guest rooms and facilities. The breakfast was a treat each morning, everything fresh and not the usual American fare we are used to. We would highly recommend to anyone visiting the region, especially if not sure of what to see, do, etc.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Craig P,
thanks so much for your positive review and for your kind words about Elisabetta and me.
We are so pleased to read that Aia Mattonata came up to your expectations and that you appreciated all our advices. Thank you for recommending Aia Mattonata!
We do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in Siena.
Warm regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aia Mattonata Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.