We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Aia Mattonata Relais
Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Siena
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Aia Mattonata is the perfect place to stay! Mario and Elisabetta take wonderful care of their guests and make you feel at home. They also give excellent restaurant suggestions! The property is amazing and very well located, the view is spectacular, the room and bathroom were tastefully decorated and very spacious and the breakfast was simply delicious! And that´s not all: they have a beautiful and very friendly german shepherd, Runa. We will definitely come back someday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear lusdantas,
thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the rooms, the view, the location, our breakfast and our advices! And thanks for remembering our sweet Runa.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
255
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Genuine, warm, hospitable, elegantly simple, luxurious yet humble, and very comfortable.
If there is one special hotel that felt homey during our week stay in Italy, it would definitely be Aia Mattonata.
This centuries old Relais is owned and run by Mario and Elisabeth, a delightful couple, who makes you feel welcome in your own place. The Relais is conveniently situated on a hill in the heart of Tuscany, minutes from Sienna and a short drive from all major cities and villages in the area.
The exquisite rooms and bathrooms are spacious, full of natural light and designed to give you the vintage Tuscany feeling. The serenity of the hills and the earthly scents of the distant vineyards remain so vivid in our minds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear SamiM
thank you for your very positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you felt like at home, our goal is to let our guests feel welcome in every moment of their stay and “at home far from home”. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view and the rooms.
We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Aia Mattonata for a longer stay!
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We travelled with family and had an aggressive itinerary. My husband and I had been to Italy several times before and would probably had different travel goals had not family wanted to experience the most common destinations (Rome, Venice, etc...).

We loved this hotel. We want to spend time at this hotel in the future just to relax and enjoy the Chianti/Tuscany region. The rooms were wonderful, the hotel very lovely situated, and the proprietors very friendly. Bruno (their german shepherd) was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear AnnArborLory
thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room and the location and thanks for remembering our dog! We hope to meet you again in Siena and to welcome you at Aia Mattonata.
Warm regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Aia Mattonata for 4 nights in Oct 2013. The property and acccomodations are excellent. Mario and Elizabetta are very gracious hosts and were so helpful in providing directions to sites, restaurant reservations and anything else that we needed. Definitely THE place to stay in Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Jim S,
thank you for your positive review and thank so much for describing Aia Mattonata ' THE' place to stay in Tuscany!
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

First, If you are interested in exploring Tuscany, the location of Aia Mattonata Relais is ideal. All of our Tuscany destinations were within easy day trips driving. And, the driving was spectacular. Around every corner and over every hill the scenery was amazing. Second, the accommodations at Aia Mattonata were brilliant. An amazing combination of modern conveniences within a historic rural Tuscan environment. Yet, close enough to Sienna for anything from wonderful dinners to cleaning cloths. Third and most important, the Aia Mattonata is all about Mario and Elisabetta. They are the most genuine and sincere hosts you could ever imagine. Mario's advice for driving routes and destination points allowed us to experience Tuscany exactly as we wanted. Elisabetta's attention and concern of every detail of our stay was heart warming. It was difficult leaving, but left with wonderful memories.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite has unbelievable views of Tuscan Countryside and Sienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear gasa1956,
thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. So nice to read that you enjoyed Aia Mattonata. Thank so much for your kind words about Elisabetta and me. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in Siena.
Warm regards.
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having read the Tripadvisor reviews we were expecting something very special. We hadn't been able to book any of their rooms so booked the still available suite. At over $750 for 2 nights B&B (in our opinion, this is a B&B not an hotel) this was pretty much on a par with luxury boutique hotels rooms we had stayed in while in Florence and Milan. AMR is a 5-10 minute drive into Siena and from the recommended car park an easy ride up the escalator system into the historic centre. Arriving at AMR is a pleasant experience - auto gates into the car park and then through the garden past the pool into reception. We were expecting something with a little more charm from an ancient restored farm-house but it is renovated rather than restored. Up we went to our room with high expectations of the suite luxury that awaited us. The rooms on the website had looked enchanting. Into the suite we went and thought we had wandered into grandma's retreat. The bedroom was small with very little room for any luggage. The bathroom was a window-less "corridor" with a single basin and a tiny shower - no room for two in here. Bathroom products were what you would find in a 3 star motel and not befitting of the luxury moniker AMR had attached to itself. The sitting room of the "suite" was also in the small category and furnished for grandma. This was where we put our luggage. We were extremely disappointed by the size and decor of the suite and when we saw two of the other very nice upstairs rooms on the morning of our departure we couldn't believe that we were being asked to pay so much for so little. Breakfast is a pleasant affair and the hosts are a lovely couple. Siena may be an expensive place to stay but even taking this into account we still left feeling very strongly that value for money played no part in our two nights here in the AMR suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear yungkara,
thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We greatly appreciate your comments.
We are really sorry you didn't like the room viewing Siena.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3-day stay at Aia Mattonata. The place is beautifully decorated and comfortable. Mario and Elisabetta are delightful and helpful in every way.

Our first experience with Mario was when he rescued us from the train station. We had arrived by train and then walked to our rental car place nearby. We tried to drive to Aia Mattonata using Google maps, but it was a disaster - we were hopelessly caught in the labyrinth of Sienese streets and barely found our way to the train station, where we called Mario in desperation. He hopped on his motorcycle and then led us to the B&B. We felt stupid since Aia Mattonata is only 10 minutes away, but it is truly difficult to navigate some of the round-abouts if you don't know which destinations on the signs to follow.

You will need a car to get around, since it is located in the hills outside of Siena. The B&B serves only breakfast, but Mario recommended an Osteria about 6 miles up the road, where we had delicious local dishes, (including an incredible roasted chicken with sweet and sour cipolline - tiny onions - that we are now trying to replicate at home). He also recommended a more formal restaurant in Siena, Da Divo, where we had a superb meal with friends.

The morning breakfast buffet is generous, with fruit, home-baked tarts and bread, cheese, meats, and an egg frittata. There is a large kitchen where the hosts have put out snacks, fresh fruit, tea and coffee that you can access at any time during your stay.

The view of Siena from Aia Mattonata is lovely (see photo).

Room Tip: I read that the room on the ground floor near the kitchen is noisy. It was very quiet on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Amyitalophile,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the place, our breakfast, the view and that we were able to help you with our advices.
We all can imagine how it's stressful to drive in an unknown city, for this reason it's a great pleasure to help our guests when they are in trouble with the car.
We do hope to meet you again in Siena.
Kind regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aia Mattonata Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aia Mattonata Relais to your Saves list