We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aia Mattonata Relais to your Saves list
Aia Mattonata Relais
Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I chose Aia Mattonata for our recent 3 night stay based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Everything about Aia Mattonata is perfect, from the location, the beautifully restored homestead, the comfy rooms, the delicious breakfast, the views to Siena town, Runa the resident dog and, of course, the 2 people who make it all perfect - Mario and Elizabetta. They could not have been more helpful with suggestions for touring and restaurants. My sister was sick during our stay and Elizabetta spent many hours arranging a doctor, assisting with interpreting and running us to a pharmacy. This place deserves every award it gets - spoil yourself - just do it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear TabathaBrisbane,
It was our great pleasure looking after you during your stay in Siena.
The headline of your review says everything and we are thankful for the wonderful description of Aia Mattonata.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit.
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
326
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans, la
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

spent 3 great nights in siena at aia mattonata as our home base for the Tuscany region in mid may 2013. Mario and Elizabetta are the best host possible. they are always willing and helpful on giving suggestions for resturants , sights etc. location is great..just outside of siena and great central location for all the Tuscan hill towns like cortana, pisa, lucca, vulterra ....breakfast was a treat every morning ....oh and that view each day can not be duplicated very clean house , gardens are so well kept . memories that can never be forgotten and will be our home on a return visit to tuscany..and just to let everyone know they made us into fans of the gariffe and the goose for the palio

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear nolaed,
thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we are grateful for your kind words about us. We are glad to hear that you loved Tuscany and that you will always have good memories of your trip in Italy. Please don’t forget that you do have “home and friends” in Siena always ready to welcome you!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aia Mattonata Relais for 2 nights in early May. I can't say enough wonderful things about the farmhouse or Elisabetta & Mario. They have done such a wonderful job creating the perfect "home" for their guests. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast was wonderful. The service was exceptional!! I think my favorite part was just sitting on the terrace enjoying the weather, the view, and their sweet dog, Runa. Thank you Elisabetta and Mario for making our stay so nice. We can't wait to come back, but for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear berg281,
thank you for your positive feedback.
It's so wonderful to hear that you consider Aia Mattonata the perfect ' home' for our guests. Thank you!
It's really our great pleasure in taking care of you and we are very glad when we hear that you would like to come to Siena again.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in May. We only wish we had booked a longer stay. The setting is breathtaking with a view of the Tuscan hills and Siena on the horizon. Our hosts, Mario and Elisabetta, are gracious and charming. When we arrived after a tiring train ride from Cinque Terre Mario offered to drive us to Siena rather than having us wait for a cab. Arrangements were also made to do our laundry on short notice. I also must add that the breakfast was exceptional. This is the place to stay in Siena. We will defintely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Rober M,
thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the location, the view and our services.
We have passed your kind words about our breakfast to all the staff and to Natalina!
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Betta and Mario, the most gracious hosts ! They made our stay so comfortable and easy. They were always available to help arrange things, a restaurant reservation, our wine tour...whatever our request, they were there to accommodate. We even called one evening while lost somewhere in Siena, and Mario helped us find a restaurant late at night. The rooms were lovely..quaint, comfortable and very clean. The location is perfect and near to San Gimignano as well as the other "must see" locations in Tucsany. Breakfast was delightful and Betta was always around to chat and see to it that we had everything we needed. We would not stay anywhere else than with Betta and Mario while in Siena

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear leplap,
thank you for your review which means a lot to us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you so much for the beautiful words. For Betta is a great pleasure of starting the day chatting with our guests during breakfast!
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit in Siena.
Kind regards,
Mario & Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have traveled our fair share and stayed in various types of accomodation over the years but until now I have never felt compelled to write a review. The B&B Aia Mattonata Relais is a tranquil and relaxing oasis in the Tuscan countryside. From the warm welcome to the attention provided to us, there is nothing else more that could be asked for. Despite the rainy conditions we encountered, which prevented us from enjoying the lovely patio and gardens to their fullest, the experience was top notch. A lovely breakfast was set out each day on the enclosed patio. As with other reviewers, Mario and Elisabetta were extremely helpful with places to go and see and with restaurant recommendations. Along with that information we also received helpful local information and history lessons from them. Siena is certainly a destination rich in tradition and history. When the Palio is run this summer, we will be cheering for the Giraffes!! Thank you Mario and Elisabetta...we will be back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear eg00040,
we are very glad to know that your first review on Tripadvisor is about Aia Mattonata!
Thanks a lot for your kind words following your stay with us.
It's always a great pleasure to have the possibility of sharing the tradition and the history of Siena with our guests.
And of course....hurrah for the Giraffa!!!!
Warmest regards,
Mario & Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My sisters and I had the pleasure of staying at the Aia Mottanata Relais in April. The entire experience was 5 stars. Elisebetta and Mario are the best hosts anyone could ask for. All you had to do was mention to Mario where you want to go, and he had maps and restaurants all picked out for you in the morning...Fantastic!! The breakfast was terrific and the view was amazing. Elisebetta is so charming and sweet that we wanted her to be the 4th sister. Runa the dog was so much fun to play with. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was large with all the amenities you would need. I can't say enough about Aia Mottanata Relias. Don't think twice about staying there..perfect in every way.

Room Tip: We had the 2 room suite. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear RealtyExpert,
thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback on Aia Mattonata following your recent stay.
We are delighted to hear that you liked the location, found the service excellent, the breakfast terrific and our rooms comfortable.
Elisabetta would like to be your fourth sister, so she could spend more time chatting with you !!!!
Warmest regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aia Mattonata Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.