We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Save Saved
You added Aia Mattonata Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Aia Mattonata Relais
Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Siena
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were here for three nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. As everyone has already commented Mario and Elizabetta are the most perfect hosts and you will want for nothing. We would also endorse the earlier comment that you arrive as guests and leave as friends. Everything from Mario's enthusistic descriptions of places to visit and the routes to take to Elizabetta's friendly, almost infectious, effusiveness in ensuring that everything was OK. The weather during our stay did not allow us to make full use of the facilities but I can only imagine that being able to come back from a day visiting the fantastic Tuscan countryside and sitting around the pool with it's own stunning views over Siena, would just add to the enjoyment. Yes, you need a car to get into Siena but Mario just arranges your taxi for you! We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback and wonderful comment about Aia Mattonata.
We are delighted to know that you had enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Siena, perhaps in summer when the swimming pool is opened.
Warmest regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
255
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is difficult to add anything new to what has been already said about AIA Mattonata (AM), Mario, Elisabetta and their staff (I can add that Natalina makes a great coffee). I haven’t been touring Italy in a while (I am an Italian living in US, since 1994 and before in Belgium since 1989) and it was the first time for my lady. I searched the internet and AM kept coming on top of the list in almost all searches. Great place for a quite escape. Superbly located to visit Tuscany and its beauties. Frankly speaking, visiting AM and touring Tuscany makes you wonder why we are not going back to restore all these incredible country houses instead of continuing building new and horrible ones. Maybe the State should consider incentivizing this type of historical preservation effort (what am I saying, it is Italy for crying out loud, too logic!). I read one comment that mentions that Tuscany (or Italy I don’t remember) is one of the most beautiful place in Europe. I have travelled the world for the last 27 years and there is no place like Italy (maybe Spain) and definitely Tuscany, but unfortunately there are too many Italians. Back to AM. Great position to visit practically all Tuscany; great restructuring of the original house, the new and the old mingle seamlessly and with taste, charming, quite, 5 rooms and no kids (no infrastructure for them), breathtaking view. If you don’t have a guide Mario can suggest you different and interesting itineraries and restaurants for all kind of foods and money. Mario and Elisabetta are always invisibly present. We stayed 5 nights and it was a blink. Mario and Elisabetta are not just host but they are incredible friends that share one beautiful place.
Grazie ed a presto, Giovanni & Simone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Carissimi Giovanni e Simone,
vi ringraziamo tantissimo per la vostra recensione e lo facciamo in Italiano con la speranza di farvi tornare un po’ di nostalgia e quindi di rivedervi presto a Siena! E’ stato un piacere avervi nostri ospiti e tutto il team vi é grato per le belle parole, in particolar modo la nostra cuoca Natalina.
Quando leggiamo che siamo degli amici per i nostri clienti piuttosto che dei proprietari capiamo di aver lavorato bene, di avervi trasferito la passione per questa bellissima terra e che anche noi abbiamo tanti amici in giro per il mondo!
Grazie e a presto!
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As many other reviewers have said, hosts/owners Elisabetta and Mario are wonderful people who helped make our time in Siena the best part of our recent trip to Italy, whether it was the delightful conversations about shared taste in music, recommendations on places to see (and to avoid), or introducing us to their lovable dog Runa, they made us feel at home. They do everything right, and deserve the accolades heaped upon them. The rooms are charming and incredibly clean, the breakfasts are delicious, and the view of the green rolling hills and Siena in the near distance is breathtaking. It was hard to leave, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your feedback . We are so pleased that you liked the room, breakfast, the view and our lovable Runa!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata.
Warmest regards,
Elisabetta e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a week at Aia Mattonata in March for our honeymoon and loved everything about it and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful hosts! Mario gave us the best directions and recommendations. Every morning at breakfast he came by to provide us a suggested itinerary for the day with books and maps - because of him we didn't have to do any research. We didn't mention anything about it being our honeymoon prior to our stay, yet when they found out they upgraded us to the upstairs suite - what an amazing view - and even gave us a sweet parting gift that will always remind of us of our fantastic honeymoon in Tuscany. We loved this place so much we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay at Aia Mattonata .
We are glad to know that you will always have a nice reminder of Siena.
Of course....we very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit at Aia Mattonata!
Warm regards
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel in the hills a short distance from Siena. Although quite close to the city, the ambience is quiet, tranquil. Rooms are clean, comfortable. I could not wish for kinder, more gracious hosts than Mario and his wife Elizabetta. We began as guests and ended our stay feeling like friends, or perhaps even family. The breakfasts are sumptuous and delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We delighted that you spent memorable days with us and that you felt like friends or perhaps even family!
Thank you for this compliment. We have passed your kind words about breakfast and the rooms to Natalina, Roberta e Silvia.
Warmest regards
Mario & Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful hosts and really made our stay. The advice they gave us was invaluable particularly the drives Mario suggested. We travelled through such magnificent scenery, exactly what one would hope to see in Tuscany.

The property is lovely and we met other interesting travellers there whilst having drinks at the end of our days touring the countryside. You do need a car to stay here as it is out of the city and the best restaurants are in Siena. Taxis are not a problem.

It is in a tranquil location, rooms are very clean and well furnished and the bedding is very comfortable. Breakfasts were the best we had in Italy. We would stay here again and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I travelled with my girlfriend (both of us 28 years old), we managed to receive a 3 night reservation by absolute chance (I think there was a cancellation). Our entire 2 week Italy trip was based around these 4 days since I heard and read such incredible reviews.

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect, the rooms are individually decorated in a very warm homey, clean, spacious feel type of way with nice size bathrooms. The open kitchen serves wonderful treats/drinks (including wonderful boutique beers) and the breakfasts were fantastic.
The views are breathtaking and the property's location is at a perfect distance between Sienna and incredible Tuscan attractions and surroundings. Even though it was full during our stay, at times we really felt like the place was ours!

Most importantly Mario and Elisabetta were probably the best hosts I have ever encountered (not only for a B&B/hotel…) and definitely the most valuable assets on site! They were so genuinely helpful in planning our every move and desire while always giving us the space we needed to achieve a relaxed holiday… they even planned for us a full day countryside trip which was superb! Well done!

The only inconvenience was that the pool was closed as it wasn’t swimming season, but that isn’t a criticism it is just another reason to visit again during summertime.

I have been telling everyone I know about our fantastic time at Aia Mattonata. Great great great value for money and was by far one of the highlights of our trip around Italy. I highly recommend staying there (that is if you can find a booking :) ).

From the marvelous hosts, luscious green hill surroundings, great location and attractions, dog(!), quality food, cleanliness, tranquility - - - we will be back for sure!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aia Mattonata Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.