We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aia Mattonata Relais to your Saves list
Aia Mattonata Relais
Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel in the hills a short distance from Siena. Although quite close to the city, the ambience is quiet, tranquil. Rooms are clean, comfortable. I could not wish for kinder, more gracious hosts than Mario and his wife Elizabetta. We began as guests and ended our stay feeling like friends, or perhaps even family. The breakfasts are sumptuous and delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words following your stay at Aia Mattonata.
We delighted that you spent memorable days with us and that you felt like friends or perhaps even family!
Thank you for this compliment. We have passed your kind words about breakfast and the rooms to Natalina, Roberta e Silvia.
Warmest regards
Mario & Elisabetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
326
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mario and Elisabetta are wonderful hosts and really made our stay. The advice they gave us was invaluable particularly the drives Mario suggested. We travelled through such magnificent scenery, exactly what one would hope to see in Tuscany.

The property is lovely and we met other interesting travellers there whilst having drinks at the end of our days touring the countryside. You do need a car to stay here as it is out of the city and the best restaurants are in Siena. Taxis are not a problem.

It is in a tranquil location, rooms are very clean and well furnished and the bedding is very comfortable. Breakfasts were the best we had in Italy. We would stay here again and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I travelled with my girlfriend (both of us 28 years old), we managed to receive a 3 night reservation by absolute chance (I think there was a cancellation). Our entire 2 week Italy trip was based around these 4 days since I heard and read such incredible reviews.

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect, the rooms are individually decorated in a very warm homey, clean, spacious feel type of way with nice size bathrooms. The open kitchen serves wonderful treats/drinks (including wonderful boutique beers) and the breakfasts were fantastic.
The views are breathtaking and the property's location is at a perfect distance between Sienna and incredible Tuscan attractions and surroundings. Even though it was full during our stay, at times we really felt like the place was ours!

Most importantly Mario and Elisabetta were probably the best hosts I have ever encountered (not only for a B&B/hotel…) and definitely the most valuable assets on site! They were so genuinely helpful in planning our every move and desire while always giving us the space we needed to achieve a relaxed holiday… they even planned for us a full day countryside trip which was superb! Well done!

The only inconvenience was that the pool was closed as it wasn’t swimming season, but that isn’t a criticism it is just another reason to visit again during summertime.

I have been telling everyone I know about our fantastic time at Aia Mattonata. Great great great value for money and was by far one of the highlights of our trip around Italy. I highly recommend staying there (that is if you can find a booking :) ).

From the marvelous hosts, luscious green hill surroundings, great location and attractions, dog(!), quality food, cleanliness, tranquility - - - we will be back for sure!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent 3 nights in late September, celebrating our Wedding Anniversary, on a trip through Toscana. We selected A-M from Trip Advisor & were delighted with our choice!
The location is excellent, just 10 mins from Sienna, on a quiet lane, with excellent views from various parts of the Villa. Met some great guests & shared experiences @ Breakfasts, which were ample & varied.
Elisabetta & Mario are excellent hosts & their warmth was sincere. Mario, (A passionate Juventus fan), provided itineraries for parking close to Sienna & Florence, which enabled us to walk into the Cities without any problems.
Mario's advice on the Restaurant in Sienna was "Spot-On" as we enjoyed a late lunch for a change & then chilled out in the Villa one evening with a bottle of Chianti Classico!
Will come back next time around & try the swimming pool!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
TO ALL OUR GUESTS, ALL OVER THE WORLD
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your beautiful reviews on Tripadvisor.
Your appreciation and your friendship permitted us to be very successful.
We remember all of you and we hope you have taken fond memories of Aia Mattonata with you.
We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2013.
We look forward to seeing you in Siena again.
Elisabetta & Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a week here from late October into early November and felt right at home! Mario and Elisabetta are the perfect hosts, and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had not pre-booked any day trips but once here asked about a wine tour and was it too late to arrange a cooking class? No, Mario organised them both without a moments hesitation. The private cooking class was without doubt the highlight of our time in Italy. As other reviewers have said, Mario is helpful with suggestions for places to visit, had excellent recommendations for places to eat and often drove us into Siena so that we only had to catch a taxi home after dinner.
The rooms were clean, had a large bed and beautiful bed linen. Our 'morning wakeup' was the smell of freshly baked bread wafting up the stairs which Natalina baked.
A truly wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

There's not much I can add to all of the other positive reviews on TA... but I always find something to say...

There is no question that there is real 'value' in Aia Mattonata's rooms, the comfortable (and large) beds, the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, the wonderful breakfasts, the friendly staff, etc etc... but if you simply evaluate a B&B on these, you are missing the real value of this B&B... which comes in the form of Elizabeta and Mario... there isn't anything they won't do to ensure that you have a wonderful and fantastic stay in Tuscany.... we know... we took full advantage of them!

Mario is an 'expert' when it comes to mapping out the most picturesque drives to take, what to see and do, and where to stop for lunch (or dinner) in almost any small town you want to name... and wine tasting, well, he can easily arrange that for you as well.... and Elizabeta found a kindred soul in my wife... unfortunately (for me) Elizabeta told my wife where to find the most interesting shops in Siena and other places.... and both Elizabeta and Mario seem to know the 'right' people so restaurant reservations were never a problem.

An example, during our week in Tuscany we were thinking about visiting Florence for a day... but we'd been there before so we decided we'd try a cooking school... but which one? We knew of a couple and asked Mario... he looked into them for us and they were both about a 45 minute drive away, would run about 3 hours with a group of anywhere between 6-12 people... on the other hand, he knew a chef who had a cooking school about 5-10 minutes away - would we be interested in that? Yes... so he checked, and we were in luck, he was available so we reserved... on the day, Mario drove us over... we arrived just after 11... and we discovered it would be just us and the chef... and we chopped, mixed, pureed, sliced, boiled, simmered, grilled etc etc (oh, and ate!) until just after 4 when Mario picked us up... we had an absolutely fantastic time... this wouldn't have happened without Mario...

So, if you are looking for an outstanding base in Tuscany... look no further... stay with Mario and Elizabeta at Aia Mattonata... and don't be shy... ask them for ideas and suggestions to make the most of your time. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the moment my sister and I arrived we felt like we had come 'home'. Growing up in an Italian family we were greeted with a warm and friendly embrace from Elizabeta and Mario. They got us setted in our room and helped us strategize on how to see all the different cities we wanted to visit. In less than an hour after we arrived, Mario was driving us to Siena and highlighted the places we should see. He also made our dinner reservation that night at an incredible restaurant. The next two days Mario and Elizabeta arranged a private tour guide for us, (Corrado /Tourstuscany) and checked in everyday to make sure we were happy. Because my sister and I are dog lovers, Runa, the family German Shepard gave us lots of love and attention so we could get our 'doggie-fix' while we were away. Truly, Mario and Elizabeta make you feel like you are home. We will definetly be back and tell all our friends about Mattonata. Thank you so much Eliabeta and Mario. See you soon!!! Annemarie & Adele

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo,1 | Loc. Doglia, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aia Mattonata Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.