We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante San Desiderio

Ristorante San Desiderio
Piazza L Bonelli, 2, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577 286091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 413 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was recommended to dine here by my hotel, Palazzo di Valli in Siena. We followed the map given from the hotel and found this restaurant. We had pici, pork dish, wine and the food were great! We also found the waiters very friendly and helpful when asked for recommendations. Ambience is nice and I would recommend it to the couples, who'd like to have a nice romantic meal in Siena!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    160
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Is a true "religious" experience !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Believe il Padrino , after been here you will thank God who created Siena , this restaurant and their good food . Is a religious experience because this spot is inside a ex-church which is from the 9th century , well , so far the oldest restaurant I 've ever tried !
The food was really good , my Asian GF was really happy and also my Italian friends . I just remember my wonderful "Pici e cacio" and one tier is dropping under my eyes . The service was perfect , the wine list not too big but very accurate and this is the place I love to recommend to all the foreigners who will love to see my country at its best .Personally I will come back to visit them , you can be sure !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband found this restaurant by chance our last night in Siena. He made dinner reservations to surprise our two daughters and myself. Not only were we surprised, but we LOVED the restaurant on sight! It was warm and inviting and the staff was superb! My youngest daughter has celiac disease and the waiter helped her choose items from the menu. My favorite was the Tuscan soup - definitely a winner! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in Siena. If I ever get back, I will be visiting Ristorante San Desiderio again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We ate here twice during our recent stay in Siena. The food is delicious and the service very attentive. There's a good sense of energy without the restaurant being noisy. The design is very comfortable and the wine list well selected. Very good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

By far my favorite restaurant in Italy! Really good food and nice staff! Wonderful experience and true italian food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante San Desiderio also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante San Desiderio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante San Desiderio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.