We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That was a really fine meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Di Cecco

Taverna Di Cecco
Via Cecco Angliolieri, 19, 53100 Siena, Italy
+39 (0) 577288518
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“That was a really fine meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This small, family-run place is located on a quiet side-street just off the main drag in central Siena. I can only report that everything I tried there was simply first-rate, including the best bruschetta I recall, an excellent meat-filled pasta dish, and a serving of veal marsala that was almost too much to finish; all accompanied by an inexpensive half-bottles of very good chianti classico. Service was friendly-casual and the overall experience the perfect way to conclude a day in this lovely town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    104
    27
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled across this restaurants while exploring Siena. Best meal in Siena!! We wanted to get away from the main stream area and found La Taverna Di Cecco and we got way more than expected the best antipasti, first and second courses and the best Tiramusa I have ever had. The two guys waiting tables we're great. I can't say enough about this place worth it to dine here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible find with Grandma's recipes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We found this restaurant by accident while looking for another one. A local shop owner suggested that we go to this one. We were very pleased as all the dishes were "grandma's recipes" who could still be seen in the back of the restaurant working in the kitchen. We were given a free surprise appetizer of crostinis to start our meal. We ordered Veal Marsala, Tortellini with cream sauce, Barley soup and Osso Bucco. Wow! What a meal! ...and this was lunch!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been there loads of times And it surprises me every time. 100% my favourite!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"Simply the Best" in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a Dutch woman working in a small jewelry shop. She assured us that it had the best food in Siena and all the locals eat there. She did not stir us wrong. We were amazed at the flavors, what an experience. We had dinner there twice. It was so good we had to go back. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the waiters are friendly and very helpful with explaining the dishes. We even had the waiter recommend a wine with dinner and it was exceptional. The prices are reasonable, food excellent, staff friendly, atmosphere pleasant - what more could you ask for in a restaurant. We tried something different each night. We had our two daughters with us and they were very impressed with the food. This restaurant offers a true taste of Italy. Everything is fresh and home made. We went to Florence from Siena and all of us agreed we missed the Siena restaurant. It was, "Simply the Best".

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Di Cecco also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Taverna Di Cecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Di Cecco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.