We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay in Beautiful Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Mercato B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Mercato B&B to your Saves list
Al Mercato B&B
Via Giovanni Dupre' 11, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 108 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Beautiful Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A friend had stayed here and recommended Al Mercato for its cleanliness and location. We had a bit of trouble finding the bus stop from the train station, though once you know how to get there it is easy (an elevator tucked in a corner to take you down to a lower level). We actually walked further to find the bus stop than we would have to get to our hotel, only to find that the local bus stop was only about 100 feet away from the train station, oh well. Once we got on the local bus, it was quite easy to find the Al Mercato, it is a bit of a walk but not hard. The reception is across the street now which, we were not aware of but quickly figured it out. Anise at reception is delightful and helpful making the check-in smooth while also providing us with a comprehensive list of all the must see places. She was very friendly and helpful and took time to answer our questions and show us around the room.

Our room was a nice size with a private bathroom across the hall (we booked the room knowing this and thought that it was worth a try). The bathroom was very clean, nice, roomy and was “ours” alone. The ceiling in our room was apparently from the 12th century, hard to get your head around something could be that old. The room was very clean and had air conditioning. Our room looked out on a small piazza that had a market on weekends and a couple of restaurants. While we were there they were preparing to host a party in our piazza the following weekend to celebrate the neighborhoods victory in the horse races early in the summer. That was cool but they hammered and sawed up until about midnight, which was very loud in our room.

Breakfast was included in the 80 Euro room cost and was very nice, as were most of the B&B’s we went to in Italy and Austria.

We tried the restaurant that was connected to the Al Mercato, “La Finestra” and we were a little disappointed in the service and small portions. We enjoyed other meals in Siena better, though we ate at one highly rated restaurant, “Zest Ristorante, Winebar and Café” and were unhappy with the food and service. La Finestra had more Tuscan fare and was better than Zest for us.

We definitely recommend Al Mercato and would very happily stay here again though we would not take the same room as we would prefer an attached bathroom. We tried it and it is not our cup of tea, so to speak. Though we were told they are looking at doing a reno to get an attached bathroom for our room as well. We were checking out early and we couldn’t find anyone to pay at reception or the restaurant, so we left a note and headed for the bus to Florence (which is closer and easier to get to than the train). Anise emailed us later in the day and we made our payment via email and everything was completed quickly and easily. Anise was an exceptional hostess.

Previous Hotel – Antica Bifore, Lucca Italy
Next Hotel – Hotel Ester, Florence Italy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
57
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kavala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent location at the center of Sienna, right in the heart of things. Clean room, however no bathroom. We had to walk across the hall to access it, which is the reason why my scoring is so low. Decent breakfast. Also, we though it was quite pricey for what it offered (70 euro per night).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Italy. I used Trip Advisor extensively to select small family run B&Bs for our trip.

We stayed for 3 nights at Al Mercato in Siena - near Florence, in Tuscany, and would definitely recommend it to others. It is ideally located, just off the main square with a view over the market square. They have great room options and a super restaurant right next door.

The room was spacious, air conditioned with great windows and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a super shower - even for tall visitors to Italy. The breakfast was just outside our door, served by a lovely young student and family member. We really enjoyed the chance to get to know a 'local' and hear about real life in Siena, Italy!

We would highly recommend this B&B for couples or families travelling to the old world of Siena in Tuscany, Italy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the market square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeek, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Al Mercato B&B is a wonderful little place, a stone's throw away from the Campo. Very clean, nice rooms, modern, fully functioning bathrooms, modest breakfast (the Italian way!)
The bonus is the restaurant "La Finestra", at the bottom of the building on the Mercato-side, run by the same family. It serves excellent food, and the guests of the B&B get a discount.
We have stayed at Al Mercato several times, and had many a delicious meal at La Finestra. For us there is no better place to be in Siena.
Ellen & Jan Nas
Groesbeek, The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

If you have never been to Sienna- and you are driving a car - be warned this hotel is NOT easy to locate and very difficult to drive to if you want to drop off your luggage. I highly recommend you get exact details of the location before arriving. On the hotels website it deceptively states "The historic centre is close to traffic and therefore we will take care of your car by assigning you a parking space and park and ride service, all included in the price."
However you will be told you can park in a parking lot for 1.60 euros per hour that is a bit of a walk away. Or you can park outside the city walls for 1.00 euros per hour, again a bit of a walk.
The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, a/c and internet. Breakfast was very basic, nothing special. The price of room was fair and very close to the campo. I would stay here agian but would plan better for the driving/parking situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Went to Siena for the day & had a delicious lunch for 7. We were a little late but they were extremely accommodating. Food wine was enjoyed by all. The cheese plater with different jellies is out of this world. 2 years in a row & they should get 6 stars ! I can't wait to book the b&b for 2 days when they do the Palio !!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed at "B&B Al Mercato" just one night. It's very comfortable, clean and familiar, just few steps away from Piazza del Campo (about 20m).
The owners manage also a restaurant, which is besides the B&B. I enjoyed a typical Tuscan dinner, also thanks to the kindness of Eugenio and Ledda (the son of the owners and his girlfriend). Well-recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Mercato B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mercato B&B

Address: Via Giovanni Dupre' 11, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mercato B&B is located in the historic center of Siena, just a few steps from Piazza del Campo and the Duomo, in an ancient palace of the XIIth century. The couple Fabio and Carla have personally followed the recent restoration of the residence, executed with the total respect of the original structural features of the ancient palace. In our rooms, equipped with private bathroom with shower, you will also find the air conditioning and the free Wi-Fi. The windows open onto the picturesque Piazza del Mercato with a beautiful view of the Palazzo Pubblico and the Torre del Mangia. Buffet breakfast is served every morning in the dedicated room and it is both italian and continental style. At our restaurant "La Finestra" in the Piazza del Mercato, you will find a typical Sienese menu at a special price. Possibility of half or full board. Free parking available 2 km from the B&B (bus ticket offered), or private garage (18 euro) PRIOR RESERVATION 100 meters from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Al Mercato B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Mercato B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.