We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gallo Nero

Gallo Nero
via del Porrione, 65/67, Siena, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Gallo Nero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 442 Restaurants in Siena
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner in Gallo Nero on three nights as arranged by the travel agent.
In general the food was poor, unappealing and cold... I cannot possibly understand the good reviews of this establishment. The customer service was a joke... And they played the game of not understanding our basic Italian in order to take advantage of us. We have travelled all around Italy and never had problems making ourselves understood! Our mother tongue is Spanish ....
Just as an example they charged for a jug of wine per person, despite the fact that just two in a table of four people had ordered it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    205
    84
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food and not to pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is a good example of an old historic place that has a very cozy ambiance and the food is good, our attendant was not so good, for us was a bit on the rude side.The place as I said is very well kept with vaulted ceilings and very tuscan.Also well located near everything but just not in the middle of the action.
A good experience even with not so good attendant

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True and honest restaurant in the heart of Sienna.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to this restaurant because it came recommended by my hotel, and I was very happy to have found it. The place was packed at around 8.30 pm, it was by pure luck that we managed to get a table for 3 without a reservation. Last night the restaurant was having a middle-age-inspired special menu: the staff was wearing medieval costumes and there were even 2 performers who would come out from time to time with various instruments - singing, playing and acting. Normally I don't love these kind of things, but this was very nicely done, I have to say. The food was awesome. We all tried different things; the special medieval menu (25 euros, 3 courses, wine, and dessert), the touristic menu (11.50 euros, also 3 courses, fully vegetarian), and a one off second course: tagliata (16 euros). Great traditional dishes, nicely executed, and very good value for the price. The staff was kind and attentive, the atmosphere was amazing. Totally recommended, and I'm a picky Italian :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Many gluten free options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Would have eaten here more than once if there were not GF options, probably not. The portions were on the small side but were quite tasty. The food was typical of the city, the atmosphere was great. My kids loved the candles at the table and the servers in costume. It was good, not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"authentic" Siena cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

lovely setting with impressive vaulted ceiling. the food is traditional Siena dishes - this does mean its a bit more medieval than modern but the food is very good. also has a deli for takeaway during the day. close to the middle of town/square and good wine. No outdoor seating though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Nero also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
 

Been to Gallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallo Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.