We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful residence but neglected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca to your Saves list
Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Via Giovanni Dupre 126 | Via Casato di Sopra 33, 53100, Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 111 Siena B&B and Inns
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful residence but neglected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The receptionist was very kind and willing to give information. Unfortunately there was no-one to bring our luggage up to our room (as the hotel advertises!). The cleaning personnel didn't clean our room, they only made the beds. The shared areas are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theWanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a great location and the staff were very friendly - it is an easy walk from the main square and in the old town of Siena so the perfect location. The room we had was in need of a bit of renovation however clean and with all the essentials. Breakfast is brought to the room and also adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Good location - we were on the 3rd floor but could drive up to the back entrance so didn't need to carry our bags up stairs. Check in was quick and easy. Room had a nice outlook and amazing frescoes on the ceiling! Didn't have air con though, but did have a fridge! The little garden was nice to sit in for a glass of wine and some buffalo mozzarella! Easy to walk everywhere. With breakfast included and delivered to the door this was good value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is in an incredible location on a beautiful little street. The building itself is so fantastically quirky, you just have to go and explore it! The staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the third floor. It's true that it's a little exerting to get up to the third floor, but think of it as an adventure- you're in Italy! There is a little garden with a fountain off the second floor. You can go out and sit with a glass of wine- heavenly!

A couple of cons- The bathroom was small and poorly arranged- even for Europe. But it served the purpose. We felt the cleanliness of the place was a little lacking. The hall outside our room smelled like a wet ash tray, but the room itself was okay. We reported the smell to the front desk and she blamed it on other guests. She must not have looked into it though, because the smell stuck around.

All in all I would stay here again just for the location and price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tre653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This 14th century building is very atmospheric and beautifully decorated. The location is wonderful: very central and adjoining a little garden which is well-kept and adds to the timeless feel of the place. Some of the furniture is a little wonky, but the the things that matter work well: I had a blissfully comfy bed and a hot and powerful shower and the room was scrupulously clean.
Service is young, quirky and very helpful, with good communication prior to my stay and every effort made to meet my needs when I arrived. Breakfast is basic continental but varied and perfectly acceptable and is delivered to your room at a time of your choosing - wonderful!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a double bed, ask for one of the rooms with two singles (mine was number 8) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKerryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

From arrival all I could think about is when can I leave. The place stinks of damp. The rooms are horrible. The mini bar is empty, not even water.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siena hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Il Casato has a very nice advantage: the location. Is superb, located only 150 meters from a very large parking area and 100 meters from Piazza Il Campo, the main one in Siena. The rooms are large and due to the location, our room had very a nice view of Siena (see pictures taken from the room).

But Il Casato has several other disadvantages which made our staying there, so frustrating.

1st) Endless stairs. Our room was assigned in the 3rd floor. They have an entrance in the 3rd floor, but as we arrived late, so we only could enter by the door in the ground floor. You cannot imagine how horrendous was to climb 3 levels of stairs carrying up heavy luggages to get to our room. Bear in your mind you will need to do it every time to leave and go back to your room.

2nd) The decoration of the rooms is poor and nasty in a clear contrast to some shared areas. Furniture is blotched, the ceiling is plenty of points of humidity, footer and decoration pieces broken.

3rd) The bathroom was ridiculously small and the bath facilities badly distributed. The bath area was not enough to hunker down. No place to put soap, shampoo or hooks for the towels. Terrible.

4th) Hot water was not enough for 3 showers, and in the last one, the water was cold.

5th) I asked to install a baby cot in the room, but was simply ignored. They gave us a quadruple room, but was not the same thing as a baby, due to security reasons, cannot sleep in a bed. We need to improvise a bed in the floor using blankets of the other beds, but was frustrating.

6th) The heater was not in charge, or wasn’t working well to warm the whole room (which was big), so we didn’t have a good night sleep because it was really cold.

7th) Terrible mattress. The mattress of our bed had a hump in the middle like a soft camel-back. So I was projected to out of the bed.

8th) Towells, sheets and blankets of low quality.

9th) The breakfast is served in a tray in the room. But it also didn’t reach our expectations. They said the breakfast would be served at 10am, and left for a while. They served the breakfast a little bit sooner, and when I returned the coffee was cold, the breads and juice were not properly tasting… I asked to serve another breakfast but was not possible.

So summarizing my experience in this place in a few words: if I could, go back in time, I would never stay here again. I would look for some better hotel, even out of the Siena walls, would drive to the parcheggio everytime to visit the city, paying less for park (because this is charged per hour and Il Casato does not have garage) and I would walk the same distance to go up and down as I did have, staying in Il Casato. The view and the atmosphere do not value the low quality of the staying.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DungaVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#12 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#14 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#21 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Address: Via Giovanni Dupre 126 | Via Casato di Sopra 33, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il casato b & b is in the heart of siena close to the famous piazza del campo and the magnificent gothic cathedral which dominates the most' old city. All rooms are furnished with care and private bathroom, mini bar, safe casset, telephone ,cable tv, wifi.Into the palace there is a romantic garden overlooked by almost all rooms, some with private terrace.Is a great place to spend your free time in siena, to studies, to job, to discover the history or just go for walks through the narrow streets of the city. You can forget the car because we are two steps from aroundchildren are welcome.And if travel with dogs or cats you will find always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Venere, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casato Residenza d` Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing