We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and room sevice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Save Saved
You added Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Via Giovani Dupre 126 | Via Casato di Sopra 33, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 102 Siena B&B and Inns
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and room sevice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This 14th century building is very atmospheric and beautifully decorated. The location is wonderful: very central and adjoining a little garden which is well-kept and adds to the timeless feel of the place. Some of the furniture is a little wonky, but the the things that matter work well: I had a blissfully comfy bed and a hot and powerful shower and the room was scrupulously clean.
Service is young, quirky and very helpful, with good communication prior to my stay and every effort made to meet my needs when I arrived. Breakfast is basic continental but varied and perfectly acceptable and is delivered to your room at a time of your choosing - wonderful!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a double bed, ask for one of the rooms with two singles (mine was number 8) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
27
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

From arrival all I could think about is when can I leave. The place stinks of damp. The rooms are horrible. The mini bar is empty, not even water.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Il Casato has a very nice advantage: the location. Is superb, located only 150 meters from a very large parking area and 100 meters from Piazza Il Campo, the main one in Siena. The rooms are large and due to the location, our room had very a nice view of Siena (see pictures taken from the room).

But Il Casato has several other disadvantages which made our staying there, so frustrating.

1st) Endless stairs. Our room was assigned in the 3rd floor. They have an entrance in the 3rd floor, but as we arrived late, so we only could enter by the door in the ground floor. You cannot imagine how horrendous was to climb 3 levels of stairs carrying up heavy luggages to get to our room. Bear in your mind you will need to do it every time to leave and go back to your room.

2nd) The decoration of the rooms is poor and nasty in a clear contrast to some shared areas. Furniture is blotched, the ceiling is plenty of points of humidity, footer and decoration pieces broken.

3rd) The bathroom was ridiculously small and the bath facilities badly distributed. The bath area was not enough to hunker down. No place to put soap, shampoo or hooks for the towels. Terrible.

4th) Hot water was not enough for 3 showers, and in the last one, the water was cold.

5th) I asked to install a baby cot in the room, but was simply ignored. They gave us a quadruple room, but was not the same thing as a baby, due to security reasons, cannot sleep in a bed. We need to improvise a bed in the floor using blankets of the other beds, but was frustrating.

6th) The heater was not in charge, or wasn’t working well to warm the whole room (which was big), so we didn’t have a good night sleep because it was really cold.

7th) Terrible mattress. The mattress of our bed had a hump in the middle like a soft camel-back. So I was projected to out of the bed.

8th) Towells, sheets and blankets of low quality.

9th) The breakfast is served in a tray in the room. But it also didn’t reach our expectations. They said the breakfast would be served at 10am, and left for a while. They served the breakfast a little bit sooner, and when I returned the coffee was cold, the breads and juice were not properly tasting… I asked to serve another breakfast but was not possible.

So summarizing my experience in this place in a few words: if I could, go back in time, I would never stay here again. I would look for some better hotel, even out of the Siena walls, would drive to the parcheggio everytime to visit the city, paying less for park (because this is charged per hour and Il Casato does not have garage) and I would walk the same distance to go up and down as I did have, staying in Il Casato. The view and the atmosphere do not value the low quality of the staying.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Old building, well maintained, friendly staff. Lots of steps to 4th floor, but you can exit to street level via the back entrance - just one more flight up. Good breakfast brought to room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stay just one night in February (low season) and everything was great.

Room: They gave us a suite instead of a double-bed room because it was low season and the hotel was empty. The room was great, very big and with a kitchen. However the bathroom was little bit small and old.

Service: The staff was really polite. There isn't a breakfast hall and for this reason they serve breakfast in the bedroom...and it's good, you order what you want from a menu.
There isn't parking lot and it's forbidden to enter in the city center with the car. But you can enter just to leave the luggage and the staff will set everything with the local police.

Location: In the historical center, close to everything.

Price: Pretty good considering the quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

PROS:
- Ladies at the reception were very friendly and always willing to help.
- Breakfast is taken to the room (see picture).
- Very well located, very close to Piazza del Campo (Palio).
- Ricky (man who takes breakfast and cleans the rooms) is very kind and helpful.

CONS:
- During winter the owner saves money by turning off the heating during certain hours, it is a problem if you're staying in certain big rooms, it will be very cold...
- If you're an elder or have problems to walk you'll have a hard time with the stairs, unless you have a room at the top floor, where there is another entrance and you would avoid the stairs.
- Rooms and bathrooms are a little old, some rooms are not in very good conditions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I agree with all the good reviews posted so far. We stayed there during the recent snow and had two rooms. Room 3 on the top floor had a beautiful fresco but very high ceiling so it was a bit cold, but there was a heater provided. Room 11 on the 1st floor was a cosy double with a sitting room/kitchen where we had breakfast. (Tea, Coffee, orange juice, lovely brioche, melba toasts and jams and yogurts)
We had booked a quad but when they saw we were all adults they kindly offered us a choice of doubles.
In the winter they seem to use the entrance on Via Dupre (front entrance) instead of Via Casato di Sopra (back entrance)
This was real value for money at this time of year and we found the building a facinating place to stay and would return.

Room Tip: If you book a quad on a booking website it seems to be geared towards 2 adults and two children rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca

Address: Via Giovani Dupre 126 | Via Casato di Sopra 33, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
il casato b & b is in the heart of siena close to the famous piazza del campo and the magnificent gothic cathedral which dominates the most' old city. all rooms are furnished with care and private bathroom, mini bar, safe casset, telephone ,cable tv, wifi.into the palace there is a romantic garden overlooked by almost all rooms, some with private terrace.is a great place to spend your free time in siena, to studies, to job, to discover the history or just go for walks through the narrow streets of the city. you can forget the car because we are two steps from aroundchildren are welcome.and if travel with dogs or cats you will find always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casato Residenza d` Epoca Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.