We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tattooed rude waiter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grotta di Santa Caterina

Grotta di Santa Caterina
Via della Galluzza 26, 53100 Siena, Italy
0577282208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $25 - $64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tattooed rude waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The food wasn't bad but we wouldn't go back. Waiting for the bill took about half an hour and the arrogant waiter with a distinctive tattoo shouldn't be waiting on anyone anymore

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    189
    43
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Can't blame the chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice, one day for lunch and one day for dinner. The lunch experience was superb, beautiful food and wine and good service. This inspired us to go there for dinner one night also. Unfortunately that turned out to be a disappointment. The food was still good, but the waiters couldn't keep up. This is a shame for a restaurant with such a good potential. One of our travel guides mentioned that this is a establishment frequently wisited by local guests. It seems like they haven't noticed that some non Italian speaking guests also drop in occasionally.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Grotta di Santa Caterina di Bagoga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've read some of the reviews for Bagoga and I'm little puzzled at the poor reviews. The restaurant came recommended by the B&B we were staying at and I would have to agree that Bagoga is one of the better restaurants in Siena. Our food was excellent and though I'm no expert on wines I felt that the table wine I ordered was excellent for the price (3.5 euros). I would definitely recommend making a reservation for the evening early in the day. We had a reservation for the terrace outside the main dining room and we loved it because it was so quiet. However, later in the evening a fairly large group came in and just about filled up the main restaurant indoor area and the level of service seemed to slow down once the big group arrived. All things considered, I can still highly recommend Bagoga.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average food quality and practically no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We visited the Grotta after a long hot day of sightseeing. We had freshened up and had checked the reviews about this place on trip advisor. We got a seat on the terrace which was great. The trouble came with the waiter. This extrovert human being took our orders and kept bringing alternative dishes without prior asking as our choice apparently was not available. This began with the antipasti and ended with the wine so that we ended up with a completely different menue. Getting the waiters attention was practically impossible so that I ended up doing the walking talking directly to the owner on the restaurant inside. Conclusion: Siena has a lot of choice: treat yourself to good food and good service and do not go to this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wonderful food, wine and service. I love their pheasant dish. It is unique and outstanding. One of my favorite places in Tuscany.
Do not miss going here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotta di Santa Caterina also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Grotta di Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotta di Santa Caterina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.