We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ... Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte
Via Stalloreggi, 51, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 108 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect ... Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Tastefully decorated room in a small b & b... Good location near center. We had a triple room and it was good sized and quiet. We were greeted by a friendly and welcoming person. We parked outside the walls and walked up through the gate. GPS does not help much ., you must go by both d fashioned map and GPS and hoes for the best. Great location, however and a very quiet room made for a restful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having spent the week down in Marina di Grosseto for a sailing championship (great spot for family holiday), we didn't know what to expect in our move to a city with culture on Saturday afternoon.

Parking - enter from Porta San Marco, remember you can either park in a garage - we chose Parking Duomo for a couple of hours to get our bearings, or the blue lined areas for tourists on edge of the city. The guesthouse advised that Sunday is free parking so we simply had to move the car up past Hotel Athena where there was plenty of parking and pay till 20:00. There is free parking further down the road which you enter Siena from but was longer walk than we wanted.

As for guesthouse, many other have written about it. excellent and go to the Restaurant across the road. Make life easy!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. I only lower it one star because the street was pretty noisy and I was awoken a few times by people talking loudly in the street... I don't know if it would always be like this, or if this was due to the annual Palio festival (which was really cool!).
Breakfast was wonderful, with homemade paninis with ham and cheese (so nice to have a break from all the other sweet breakfasts we got, although that was also available) and this was actually the best hotel cappuccino during our 2 weeks in Italy.
Egisto can help you book an (average) wine tour for a pretty good price, that includes the bus ride and a relatively small group (our group was 8 people) with wine tasting, though there's not actually a vineyard tour (at least not in the Chianti & San Gimignano route that we chose).
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The B&B is charming, well decorated and very clean. The location is great as it is steps away from the main sites of Siena, and it is just adorable to stay inside the walls. The steps to the rooms are not steep, so no need to worry about that. And the best thing in this hostel is the friendly family that runs it. They make you breakfast in the morning and it was probably the best breakfast we had in Italy. Nothing fancy, actually very simple but great nonetheless. Better than the ones from nice hotels we stayed in. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Due Porte 3 times in the last 3 years after stumbling upon in by accident, that is after driving to Sienna without booking somewhere to stay and finding it more difficult than we thought! The couple who run the place are very hospitable and the rooms are lovely much nicer than a lot of hotels which have soulless corporate interiors (I don't know what the hotels are like in Sienna as they were all full). Each room is full of period features and furniture with nice ensuite bathrooms. The breakfast is continental but they did have toasted ham and cheese sandwiches with lovely cappuccinos. The fact that we have chosen to stay there ever since says it all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Staying in the inner old part of Sienna is a must for anyone who visits this magical medievil italian city. Stayed here with my mother for a couple of nights in June 2011 and we were not disappointed. We arrived on a Sat. afternoon (took the efficient trian), hailed a cab and had one of the most unforgettable car rides ever (up the meandering streets to the lovely hotel). Room was quaint, clean and neat and the building is approx. 900 years old - what a treat! Breakfast for Italian standards was also pretty good (they served eggs). Also, very close walk to the centre of the duomo arena. All in all, I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

GREAT location in city center not too far from car park, spotless rooms can be a bit noisy for early-to-bed types but it quiets down, nice baths, lovely rooms, nice little living area and kitchen available for snacks (bring your own). super super breakfast, really so much better than most italian hill country b&bs. very homey and friendly atmosphere.
couple very sweet but almost no english and a bit of weak french. theyaren't on site much.
we would all stay here again

Room Tip: the cafe-pizza place on the same side of the street towards the campo, last till the corner but one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte

Address: Via Stalloreggi, 51, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B are found in the part more ancient than Siena to little steps from the Duomo and from the Santa Maria della Scala, nearest the Piazza del Campo and therefore in center. The testimonies of documents indicate that this building existed already as house tower in the twelfth century and on the facade the signs of the several modifications are obvious that have transformed it. With the restructure jobs it has been attempted to integrate the fascination of ancient with the comforts of a our time being left intentionally intimate atmosphere. Il B & B si trova nella parte più antica di Siena a pochi passi dal Duomo e dal Santa Maria della Scala, vicinissimo alla Piazza del Campo e quindi in posizione centrale.Le testimonianze dei documenti indicano che questo edificio esisteva già come casa torre nel dodicesimo secolo e sulla facciata sono evidenti i segni delle varie modifiche che l’hanno trasformato.Con i lavori di ristrutturazione si è cercato di integrare il fascino dell’antico con le comodità del nostro tempo lasciando volutamente un ambiente intimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.