We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Fori Porta

Trattoria Fori Porta
Via Claudio Tolomei, 1 | angolo Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini, 53100 Siena, Italy
+39 0577 222100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 442 Restaurants in Siena
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Harpswell, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is an excellent, family-operated restaurant just outside the center of the city of Siena. The food was delicious and the service was warm and personable. Trattoria Fori Porta was recommended to us by Lorenzo at Hotel Palazzo di Valli, just across the street, where we were staying. On our walk back from the city center, we stopped at the restaurant about an hour before serving time and asked about perhaps having some wine at their outdoor table. The gentleman at the restaurant desk suggested we take a bottle of house wine with us, enjoy it on our hotel terrace, and pay for it when we returned for dinner. His kind offer and genuine warmth have become one of the stories we now tell regularly about our wonderful trip! Our daughter-in-law server took time to tell us of Siena's rich history and the Contrade. She and her family fly the Porcupine banner! Considering the food, people, and conversation, Trattoria Fori Porta provided us with many great memories!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    59
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

this restaurant was recommended by the wonderful Hotel Palazzo di Valli where we stayed for two nights in October. Started with a bottle of the house red wine which was amazing. then small bite of duck appetizer. i had their pasta carbonara which i make at home. this was the best i ever had. my husband had a wonderful mushroom pasta as mushrooms were in full harvest. it was also great. the real delight was the dessert. puff pastry with chestnut filling, topped with dark chocolate sauce and toasted hazelnuts. the service was outstanding and the food soo fresh and good. as we left the owner gave my husband a bottle of the house red. i highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Toscana, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely "pici" meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This restaurant is by far the best we have experienced in Siena so far. It's a bit of a walk out of the centre but worth every minute, and it's also nice to experience somewhere more quiet and less touristy. The service was impeccable - the waitress was friendly, attentive, and considering she was the only one there, extremely hardworking, and brought all our courses promptly, including an unsolicited and delicious amouse-bouche before the starter. The starters were out of this world - I ordered the figs wrapped in bacon and goat's cheese which was unbelievably delicious and my boyfriend ordered the puff pastry with ricotta and spinach, which was equally so. Afterwards we chose pici with cheese sauce, which was gorgeous and of a perfect size, and the duck, which in terms of portion vs. price was unbelievably generous and in terms of flavour was absolutely perfect. We just about managed to squeeze in dessert which was worth the ensuing stomach ache - chocolate fondant for me and chocolate profiteroles for my boyfriend. Although we were the last customers in the restaurant by a good half an hour we were never made to feel rushed and the waitress waited for us to ask for the bill rather than just giving it to us. Absolutely impeccable in every respect, we only wish we were here for longer so we could go back! Definitely recommend, especially to couples as it has a lovely romantic atmosphere. Love!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So good, so friendly, so accommodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First of course the food was out of this world. Please try the white bean with truffle purée for your appetizer. My husband and I had been wine tasting during the day and brought our own wine. Stefan the owner said we were making a mistake not having his house wine. He bought a bottle to us to taste, he was right. So we drank his bottle. At the end of the meal, when we asked for our check he had given us his wine as a gift. We love this restaurant and will be back. You should not miss this special place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate here two night. The first night was off the chart good. The second night was not as good. We asked the waitress what was good and went with her recommendation. The second night her recommendations were not as good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fori Porta also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria Fori Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Fori Porta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.