We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic choise at Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di San Giuseppe

La Taverna di San Giuseppe
Via Giovanni Dupre 132, 53100 Siena, Italy
+39 0577 42286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 446 restaurants in Siena
Price range: $36 - $71
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic choise at Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant , ask for the gnochetelli with Tartufo, they are incredible. A must in Siena, great atmosphere,great service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    2,049
    406
    103
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good place for excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Short walk from the piazza del Campo, but popular with locals as well as tourists. Excellent food and house wine, nice atmosphere. Not over priced. Would definitely revisit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York, United States
1 review
“Our best dinner in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

On a recent trip to Italy we found our way to Siena and where pointed to this resturant. The ambiance was fantastic and the sevice and food even better! The Ricotta and soinach with the fresh truffles is a must!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Siena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I first ate at Taverna San Giuseppe in Siena in 1999 or 2000, when it had just been open a few years. I used to go to Siena often for work (tough gig, right?) and went there for dinner every time I went. I have since travelled back to this magnificent city many times as a visitor, and in large part that is to be able to dine at this wonderful restaurant.
The place was hoping, which makes me happy that the owners, Marco and Loriella have been rewarded for their vision. We had a typically wonderful meal, home-style Sienese cuisine with a few small appreciable twists of individual interpretations. A couple of the waiters were the same ones that had been there for nearly 15 years, and everyone remembered me and gave excellent service, but not overly solicitous Professional, competent, and friendly. They treated everyone the same. Busy but fun. No one in the place seemed to be unhappy and everyone seemed to be enjoying their meal as much as we did. Make it a ppoint to ask if you can go see their cellar (cantina), an incredible tuffa chamber over a thousand years old, complete with a cross carved ito the walls. Between the walls is a selection of wine and cheese that would make you wish you were locked up in there for a week!
A wonderful place, that never disappoints. Siena is full of great places to dine, but this one is special to me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best food and service in Italy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

More than 3 weeks in Italy, and this was truly a gem, and by far the best food, at the best price. We went twice, because once was just not enough.
The servers were amazing...the 2nd night we came, 2 of the waiters had Canada pins on to welcome us back!!
Tuscan cuisine at its finest. Veal spleen/ tuscan pate on polenta does not sound good...but we ordered it twice!!! And wild boar sauces, and wonderful risottos....
The staff were over the top in service...delivering a complimentary appetizer because they thought we might enjoy it!! The next night, while eating a delightful pasta with morel mushrooms, the waiter came out with a huge frying pan of morel mushrooms, and spooned more on to my plate. Because he saw how much I was enjoying the morels!! That is attention to the customer.
I am totally in love with this restaurant!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di San Giuseppe also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena

Been to La Taverna di San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di San Giuseppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.