We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Places we've Stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Marciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Marciano
Save
You added Agriturismo Marciano to your Saves list
st. della Befana 5, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Siena
London
Top Contributor
785 reviews 785 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
494 helpful votes 494 helpful votes
“One of the Best Places we've Stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I loved staying at this place. Our room was very luxurious. The most comfortable bed of our trip without a doubt. Beautifully decorated room and gorgeous farm house. Wi-fi was available in the common areas but not in the rooms which I found very relaxing.

Everyone we met was wonderful and friendly and we were given a tour of the cellars. Ronaldo's Vernacchia is famous and has won lots of awards so make sure you buy it from the Agritourismo as we couldn't find it anywhere else as it has sold out in all of the wine shops we went to. We got to try their cannaiolo which was very good.

Breakfast was truly amazing - one of the best I think we've ever had and all homemade. It's worth staying just for the breakfast!

Siena is very close, a 5 minute drive or 10 euro taxi journey away. Would definitely recommend and would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    32
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
236
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rainbow just as we arrived was a signal that this would be an extra-ordinary experience.
We were here for two nights, and wish it could have been a longer visit.
The rooms, meals, people, and even other guests were all above par and a wonderful, memorable experience. We even had a view of the dome & tower of Siena's Duomo off in the distance from our room. This is the perfect base from which to visit all those Tuscan hill towns. Absolutely beautiful, tranquil, and scenic beyond all belief--it was like being in an Italian dream. We are already hoping to make a return visit...and Siena has plenty to see as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our second trip to Agriturismo Marciano, and we were not disappointed. I'd highly recommend eating at Marciano (make sure to request this in advance). The breakfasts and dinners are cooked in their kitchen and are amazing... some of the best food we had in all of Tuscany. And our per night cost was by far the cheapest of our entire Italian vacation.

Additionally, Siena is a perfect home base within Tuscany to stay for a few nights and explore the other towns nearby. If you rent a car (which I'd recommend... Parking is free at Marciano.) you can venture out to Orvieto, Montalcino, Montepulciano or any of the other dozens of small towns within a 1-2 hours drive.

Remember that this is a quiet, rural place outside of Siena by about 10 minutes driving. Don't expect it to be in the middle of the happening night life. Go here to relax, absorb the beautiful scenery and enjoy the food and wine.

Room Tip: There are only 5-6 rooms all of which are about the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Highly recommend the Agriturismo Marciano. Great location, friendly owners and staff. The group dinner was outstanding and the wine superb! Would stay again without hesitation. Close to Sienna and other hill towns but remote enough to be relaxed and authentic

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

A couple months ago my husband planned my surprise birthday in Marciano... It was a dream birthday and couldn't ask for more! Besides having part of my family coming as a surprise too, they accomodated all my family as well. We tried to have dinner almost every night at the hotel because they cooked VEGAN food for us (you have to arrange dinner details the day before) and was the most tasty dinner we had by far! They cook everything fresh from their farm, the wines are theirs, the cats were amazing and the rooms are beautiful! The location is great (you do need a car) and the view from the rooms is gorgeous! We felt as if we were in our own home in the center of Siena. It was like living in a romantic movie or in a beautiful postcard... I would looooove to go back! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhldorf am Inn, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

One of the great advantages of Agriturismo Marciano is its site close to the town walls of ancient Siena and at the same time just far enough to be absolutely quiet. It is only a short distance away from the autostrada that takes You for trips to San Gimminano, the Crete and Val d Orcia, but far enough, that You dont hear the cars at all. The in tuscany style nicely furnished rooms are very tidy. And Nadja and Valentina do their very best to make everybody happy. For instance the breakfast at the long rural table is fantastic!!
Renato, the owner, needs two cups of cappuccino in the morning to show, that he is a very friendly guy. His wines are excellent, specially his red Cammaiollo and his white San Gimmiano. Make a short walk through his olive trees, taste a glas of Cammaiollo in their shadow and try the oil afterwards and You know Tuscany!

Room Tip: all about the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I along with two close friends recently stayed at Agriturismo Marciano. It exceeded all of our expectations in every way! We loved the location which was very convenient for taking day trips around Tuscany. Our room was beautifully decorated, roomy, comfortable, very clean with ensuite and had a breath taking view of the surroundingTuscan hillsides. Owners Nadia, Renato and Christian were fabulous hosts along with their niece Irene. We awoke every morning to a mouth watering assortment of hand crafted pasteries, fruit, yogurt and other traditional tuscan breakfast items. We had two dinners during our stay at the agriturismo. Both dinners consisted of multiple courses expertly prepared and complex in flavor paired with their wines. Renato gave us a very indepth wine and olive oil tour. We took an organic cooking course taught by Nadia which explored Tuscan cooking at it's best. The staff were very helpful in giving us suggestions for day tripping and wine tasting. I simply cannot say enough good about our week at the Agriturismo. We hope to visit again and again!!!

Room Tip: The rooms had fabulous views and all were very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Marciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Marciano

Address: st. della Befana 5, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Marciano Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Marciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.