We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of a 2 week European trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Marciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Marciano
Save
You added Agriturismo Marciano to your Saves list
st. della Befana 5, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best meal of a 2 week European trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

It is hard to find words to describe this special place outside the walls of Siena but Agriturismo just seems to undersell what this place is about. It is a short bike ride from this Vineyard/Bed and Breakfast/Agriturismo/The Most Awesome Restaraunt into Siena but when you are here you feel like you have the Tuscany Wine Country to yourself. Christian and his staff are warm and welcoming hosts and hostesses who are extremely passionate about making terrific organic wine, growing sustainable vegetables, running a very quaint bed and breakfast, and cooking the best meals in all of Italy. I would strongly suggest that when you stay here, you book the dinner well in advance as you will not be disappointed.....six courses all freshly prepared from vegetables grown in their garden and the meat dishes from cows and pigs that were raised over the hill from the Agriturismo...the food was paired with wine produced by Christian's vineyards and another local producer or two. After returning home, all 4 members of my family, two teens included, unanimously agreed that the dinner (prepared by Valentina) was by far the best that we had during our trek through Paris, the French Riviera, Barcelona and Italy. We also agreed that the breakfast (prepared by Maggie) was also the best breakfast that we had on our trip! We will be back to stay for a few days when we return to this great region of Italy. Thanks to Christian, Valentina and Maggie for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    32
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
236
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is darling designed and executed by people who appreciate quality, but are not stuffy. It was redone in 2000 and the rooms are authentic with stone floors and ceilings. The food was over the top and I am the mother of two chefs. For breakfast, there were always fresh baked cakes, breads, etc. along with yogurt, cereals, etc. The one dinner we ate there was a five course wine tasting meal with homemade pasta with pesto, fresh mozzarella with tomatoes from the garden, cheeses and so much more. With each course, a wine from the vineyard was chosen and there were more bottles on the table than anyone could possibly drink (even the hardcore drinkers). I had no room for dessert, but had to eat the delightfully light chocolate cake. My husband and I are vegetarians and they had no problem accommodating us. Fabulous place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here two nights during a study tour to Tuscany looking at agritourism. This place was a perfect example of what I envisaged an Italian agritourismo was all about. The farm is located on the City walls so not far from the centre of Siena. However, really peaceful, beautifully kept gardens, the rooms were spacious and cool despite not having air conditioning. The owners are very very friendly and hands on and do everything to make your stay exceptional. The breakfast was the best I had in 10 different places I stayed. Home made bread, tomatoes and cucumber from the garden, home made cakes, fruit salad from the garden. This is a reason to come if nothing else. The highlight was a meal on one of the nights at a big table with guests from Canada and the USA, all courses served with a brilliant explanation from the farmer about where the produce was sourced (usually the farm), how it was cooked etc. Just delicious. The pesto pasta was the best I have ever tasted. I would love to return here one day, just a really special experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a really lovely place, with amazing food and warm and gracious hosts who cannot do enough for you. A short cycle or 5 min drive to Siena and very well situated to visit the rest of Tuscany.

Our host gave us detailed recommendations for eating and sightseeing, all of which were excellent. Siena is a gorgeous town - busy and crowded during the day but takes on a completely different feeling at night when some of the crowds depart.

Agriturismo Marciano is not the place to go if you want to party or be at the very heart of things, but it is very tranquil and relaxing and our dinner was one of the best meals we had in Tuscany. The breakfasts are also delicious. Very happy to recommend overall!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

perfect, great people, interesting location, available kitchen, knock out wine....do it.

Room Tip: getting there is a little challenging, but if you want both secluded and accessable to Siena, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for 3 nights in the very middle of our 2 week tour of Italy. It was the perfect place to experience the Tuscan region. The setting was so tranquil. Some of my best pictures of the trip were taken from our bedroom window here. The food was FABULOUS. Nadia's dinners are wonderful and are worth splurging on at least once while you're there. We met great people here and made some wonderful memories. Nadia and Christian are both the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed June 2012 for 3 nights, EUR 95/night

How happy we are to have discovered this fabulous agriturismo tucked up in the hills above Sienna. We felt immediately at home and Christian couldn't have been a more helpful and welcoming host. Rooms are nicely appointed - ours had a view across the valley with the sun rising faithfully every morning right at our window. You absolutely can't come here and miss dinner - which to our surprise, other guests seemed to. We had a four course menu with 5 wines to match for an incredible EUR 37/person - easily one of the best meals we've had in Italy. All the produce (and indeed the wine) is produced in house and was just scrumptious. Christian helped us book a Chianti wine tasting for us at very short notice on a Sunday and was a terrific source of local information. We will no doubt soon be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Marciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Marciano

Address: st. della Befana 5, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Marciano Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Marciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.