We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange that this got so high in the list” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Guidoriccio

Ristorante Guidoriccio
Via giovanni dupre', 2 | A 7 Metri Da Piazza Del Campo, 53100 Siena, Italy
+39 0577 44350
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 413 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Winery
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Strange that this got so high in the list”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Came here last week based on the comments on TA. it did not live up to the expectations.

The owner is a very friendly guy, which is probably the reason for its high notation. The food was very average, at first we got a free apetizer made of old bread and a bit of oil, it had a gooey feeling and was not really good. I had papardelle with boar stew, which was very dry and not so flavoursome. Afterwards, a friend had turkey, which was very average and could easily have been a ready-made sauce that was heated. I had carpaccio, which unfortunately was full of selery and lemon juice, I could not taste the meat and it was a big let-down.
The food was below average, and pricey for what it was.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    135
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“what a place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice restaurant in a cave. There, you can feel the past. A closed corridor leads to a secret passage under the piazza. It is now used as a wine cellar. We went there only once but the 4 of us found the food excellent and service even better. We got there around 10h30 at night, thinking they were about to close but they accepted us and we weren't rush at all. Our waiter even refused the extra tip that we wanted to leave. He said it was included so we didn't have to leave more! I believe it is the first time something like that happened to me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good--but could be great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After reading all of the positive reviews for this restaurant, my wife and I decided to make the trek down to Il Campo and check it out. I fully agree that the restaurant has a warm and welcoming character, but overall I found the experience did not live up to its potential. The food was good, wine was good, but nothing spectacular. When we opted to forgo any starters, our waitress (the presumed co-owner of the establishment) "offered" us a delicious sweet potato puree--we thought this was simply a nice gesture on her part, but in the end we were charged 6 euros even though we did not ask or even want the dish! We also waited a good long while for our bill, eventually opting to go up and ask our waitress ourselves, who was simply reading at the front. Yes this is Europe and yes this is Italy so we know that there is no rush to get a check or to leave, but Siena is wonderful and we really wanted to move on with our evening. Overall then, a very nice place with unfortunate (and avoidable) shortfalls.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
“An authentic restaurant - the best we experienced in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a small underground restaurant near Il Campo piazza in Siena. The food was superb, the owner/chef was gracious, and the setting quaint and inviting. It was the very best meal we had in our 2 1/2 weeks in Italy. I would go back and I would recommend it to anyone looking for delicious food and a wonderful experience. Thanks!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, affordable food near Il Campo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We enjoyed this "underground" restaurant with brick vaults overhead. It was cool and comfortable, and the food was delicious. The crostini with vegetables was especially nice as it came with three different toppings. Delightful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Guidoriccio also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
 

Been to Ristorante Guidoriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Guidoriccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.